SMD Nixie Clock

In this lab, students construct a six-digit desktop digital clock driven by an 8-bit ATmega328P microcontroller and vintage IN-14 cold-cathode Nixie display tubes. Students solder surface-mount integrated circuits—including 32-channel high-voltage shift registers, a temperature-compensated DS3231 real-time clock, and a TQFP microcontroller—alongside discrete through-hole components on a custom printed circuit board. They safely interface low-voltage 5 V digital logic with an adjustable ~160 V to 170 V DC high-tension rail powered by a DC-DC boost converter module to switch gas-discharge cathodes directly without multiplexing. Through board assembly, flashing AVR firmware over an in-system programming header, and system bring-up, students gain hands-on experience in mixed-voltage hardware design, surface-mount assembly, I2C bus communication, and power regulation.

Nixie tube cold-cathode display embedded systems microcontroller ATmega328P AVR programming in-system programming surface mount technology SMD soldering real-time clock DS3231 I2C bus high-voltage driver shift register DC-DC boost converter PCB assembly

Uploaded by demo on 2026-07-09 · ready · Electronics · Original source ↗

Files: directions.md · PCB.zip · nixie-clock-code.zip

Readiness checks

  • complete 2026-09-03 00:02 🛡 Cybersecurity: Could not check · 1 finding 26 searches · 9 pages
    view · PDF
  • complete 2026-07-09 02:45 🛡 Cybersecurity: not checked 25 searches · 0 pages
    view · PDF

Latest report — 2026-09-03 00:02

Readiness: SMD Nixie Clock

Verdict: Ready with caveats · 2026-09-02 · est. parts cost $190–$260 (excludes PCB fabrication and the enclosure) Cybersecurity — software & network: Could not check

Every part on this board that has a manufacturer part number is Active and in stock at an authorized distributor, and both blocking problems from the 2026-07-09 report have cleared: the 78L05 regulator line is no longer obsolete (the snapshot's LM78L05ACZ/NOPB is Active with 17,228 in stock) and the P2 power header is no longer out of stock (68000-103HLF, 41,026 in stock). The verdict is unchanged at Ready with caveats, but for different reasons than in July: those were sourcing failures, and this run's caveats are verification gaps. Six vintage IN-14 tubes remain secondary-market only and still dominate the bill of materials at $105–$150; the crystal the snapshot names as its example is a surface-mount part that will not fit the board's through-hole footprint, so that line needs a decision before anyone orders; and three ratings on the high-voltage side (resistor working voltage, jumper-wire insulation, the HV5622 supply rail) are asserted by the snapshot but were not confirmed by this run's evidence.

Action required

Part Problem Recommended action
Y1: ABLS-16.000MHZ-B4-T New since the previous report. DigiKey's parametrics list this crystal as Surface Mount (HC-49/US, 11.40 mm × 4.70 mm); the board footprint is a through-hole HC-49/U vertical pattern with 4.88 mm pin pitch. Footprint mismatch. Decide first whether Y1 is populated at all — the snapshot records that the firmware pins F_CPU=1000000UL (the 1 MHz internal RC). If it is populated, order a through-hole HC-49/U crystal and match its load capacitance to C2/C3; no through-hole part was checked this run (all 23 DigiKey alternates are also SMD).
U1: DS3231SN# Priced $18.77 at DigiKey, up 7.3% since 2026-07-09, and the single most expensive line apart from the tubes. Buy the identical part at Mouser, $17.46 (3,119 in stock per the ECIA inventory check) or take the reel variant DS3231SN#T&R at $17.69.
U2, U3: HV5622PG-G DigiKey holds 90 units and each clock needs two — thin for a class order, as flagged in July (96 then). Spread the order across authorized distributors: Spirit Electronics 960, Mouser 487 @ $9.04, Newark 89 @ $8.63. Do not fall back to HV5522PG-G — it is out of stock at every distributor checked.
N1–N3, N5–N7: IN-14 tubes Out of production since the Soviet era; secondary market only. Unchanged from July. Buy tested or NOS lots — six with bases, $120 or seven new, $118 — and order spares.

Cybersecurity — software & network

Could not check — Nothing in the project was checkable - the firmware and both vendored libraries are unpinned AVR C source with no advisory database, and the IDE has no endoflife.date entry - while the single recorded item is a build-trust note on a device with no network interface.

Component Version How known Support status
NixieCode firmware (njeff/nixie-clock) not determined not determined (The repository root, NixieCode/ and NixieCode/NixieCode/ were listed this run and contain no manifest, tag file or version string; the fetched NixieCode.cproj records only project settings (avrdevice ATmega328P, F_CPU=1000000UL, ToolchainName com.Atmel.AVRGCC8.C).) —
AVR-GCC toolchain (com.Atmel.AVRGCC8.C) not determined unpinned (NixieCode.cproj names the toolchain (ToolchainName com.Atmel.AVRGCC8.C, ToolchainFlavour Native) and links only libm, but pins no compiler version - the build uses whatever version the installed IDE ships.) —
Atmel Studio / Microchip Studio (IDE) not determined not determined (The snapshot names Atmel Studio 6.2 / 7.0 without saying which; the fetched NixieCode.cproj carries ProjectVersion 6.1, which is the project-file schema version, not an IDE version.) —
millis (Zak Kemble AVR millis library, vendored) not determined not determined (Vendored as loose millis.c / millis.h in NixieCode/NixieCode (repository listing this run) with no tag or release; the upstream repository github.com/zkemble/millis was listed this run and has no manifest either.) —
ds_rtc_lib (akafugu DS3231 RTC / TWI driver, vendored) not determined not determined (Vendored as loose rtc.c, rtc.h, twi.c, twi-lowlevel.c in NixieCode/NixieCode (repository listing this run); the upstream repository github.com/akafugu/ds_rtc_lib was listed this run and has no manifest.) —
avrdude (ISP flashing utility) not determined not determined (Invoked by program_328p.bat, which the repository listing of NixieCode/NixieCode/Debug shows is committed alongside the firmware; no version is pinned and the utility is installed locally by the student.) —
Component Finding Severity Fix available?
NixieCode firmware (njeff/nixie-clock) The repository ships a prebuilt firmware binary (NixieCode.hex, NixieCode.elf) next to the flashing script program_328p.bat, and the snapshot's flashing command writes that committed .hex to the chip, so students program a binary that nothing ties back to the C source in the same repository. posture Mitigation only - rebuild NixieCode.hex from the included source in the IDE and flash the locally built file rather than the committed binary.

What this means for your lab

This clock has no network hardware at all - no Wi-Fi, Ethernet or Bluetooth, no listening ports and no accounts or passwords - so there is nothing here for someone else on the school network to reach, and no networking precautions are needed. The software question is instead one of trust in what gets programmed onto the chip: the project's repository contains a ready-made firmware file and the supplied flashing script writes that file straight to the microcontroller, so the safest habit is to open the included source in the IDE, build it yourself, and flash your own build. Be aware that none of this software could actually be checked for known vulnerabilities: firmware written in C for AVR chips, and the two helper libraries copied into the project, are not tracked in any security database, and the copies carry no version numbers. That is an unknown rather than a clean bill of health - though with no network connection, the practical risk to a classroom is very low.

Not checked

  • NixieCode firmware (AVR C source): Embedded AVR C project in no package registry; OSV has no ecosystem covering it, so no vulnerability check was possible. Absence of advisories here is not evidence of safety.
  • millis and ds_rtc_lib (vendored C libraries): Copied into the project as loose source files with no tag, release or manifest - there is no version to check, and no advisory database covers these libraries.
  • avr-gcc / avr-libc toolchain: The project pins no compiler version and there is no advisory database or endoflife.date entry for the AVR toolchain.
  • Atmel Studio / Microchip Studio (IDE): No advisory database tracks the IDE, and the support lookup this run found no endoflife.date product for it, so its support state is unknown.
  • avrdude: Version not stated anywhere in the project; a locally installed utility, so nothing concrete could be looked up.
  • microchip-studio 7.0: support status: endoflife.date has no such product

Parts

Active Integrated Circuits and Regulators

Part Spec/Package Status Stock Price Source Drift
IC1: ATMEGA328P-AU 32-TQFP (7×7), 1.8–5.5 V Active 29,655 $2.66 DigiKey Price flat; stock 10,288 → 29,655
U1: DS3231SN# 16-SOIC (0.295", 7.50 mm), 2.3–5.5 V Active 2,992 $18.77 DigiKey (Mouser $17.46) $17.49 → $18.77 (+7.3%); stock 3,220 → 2,992
U2, U3: HV5622PG-G (×2) 44-PQFP (10×10) Active 90 (≈1,600 across 6 distributors) $8.81 DigiKey Price flat; DigiKey stock 96 → 90
U4: LM78L05ACZ/NOPB TO-92-3, Vin ≤ 35 V, 5 V/100 mA Active 17,228 $0.67 DigiKey July checked MC78L05ABPX (Obsolete, 0 stock) — problem resolved

Cold-Cathode Display Tubes and Indicator Lamps

Part Spec/Package Status Stock Price Source Drift
N1–N3, N5–N7: IN-14 (×6) Soviet side-view Nixie, ~170 V strike Hard to obtain (vintage, secondary market) Multiple lots listed $120.00 / six with bases eBay (also Etsy $118/seven new, gra-afch $24.95/tube) ~$20/tube in July; flat
N4, N8: IN-3 (×2) 2-lead subminiature neon, 60–90 V firing Available (NOS) Lots of 2 to 200 $2.42 / two NOS Etsy (bulk: 100 pcs $20.00, eBay) $1.75/three in July; immaterial rise

Resistors

Part Spec/Package Status Stock Price Source Drift
R1, R4, R5, R6, R9, R10: 27 kΩ — CFR-25JR-52-27K Axial 2.40 × 6.30 mm, 0.25 W, ±5% Active 10,753 $0.10 DigiKey Different MPN in July at the same $0.10
R2, R7: 100 kΩ — CFR-25JR-52-100K Axial 2.40 × 6.30 mm, 0.25 W, ±5% Active 73,486 $0.10 DigiKey July priced the 120 kΩ variant at $0.10; board netlist value is 100 kΩ
R3, R8: 4.7 kΩ — CFR-25JR-52-4K7 Axial 2.40 × 6.30 mm, 0.25 W, ±5% Active 87,945 $0.10 DigiKey Flat at $0.10
R11: 10 kΩ — CFR-25JR-52-10K Axial 2.40 × 6.30 mm, 0.25 W, ±5% Active 93,327 $0.10 DigiKey Flat at $0.10

The 0.25 W rating meets the snapshot's requirement, but DigiKey's parameters for this series do not state a maximum working voltage, so the ≥ 200 V requirement for the six 27 kΩ and two 100 kΩ resistors sitting on the ~170 V HT rail is not verified — check the YAGEO datasheet before ordering.

Capacitors

Part Spec/Package Status Stock Price Source Drift
C1, C4, C5: 0.1 µF — K104K15X7RF53L2 Radial TH, 50 V X7R, lead spacing 2.50 mm Active 32,552 $0.27 DigiKey Price flat; stock 35,451 → 32,552
C2, C3: 22 pF — C315C220J5G5TA Radial TH, 50 V C0G/NP0, lead spacing 2.54 mm Active 1,546 $0.53 DigiKey July priced a different part (TDK, $0.37, 390 in stock) — new baseline, and the low-stock warning is gone

Frequency Reference & Battery

Part Spec/Package Status Stock Price Source Drift
Y1: ABLS-16.000MHZ-B4-T HC-49/US, Surface Mount per DigiKey — board needs through-hole HC-49/U, 4.88 mm pitch Available but footprint mismatch 13,646 $0.24 DigiKey New issue this run; July priced CTS ATS16B at $0.28 without flagging the footprint
BT1: BAT-HLD-001 (holder) PCB surface mount, 4.20 mm above board Active 22,164 $0.38 DigiKey Price flat; stock 14,260 → 22,164
BT1: CR2032 cell (3 V) 20 mm lithium coin cell not checked — — — —

Connectors, Switches, and Hardware

Part Spec/Package Status Stock Price Source Drift
CON1: PJ-102A TH right-angle barrel jack, 24 VDC / 2.5 A Active 43,403 $0.68 DigiKey July priced sibling PJ-102AH at $0.72 (now $0.77)
P1: 67997-206HLF 2×03 male pin header, 2.54 mm pitch and row spacing Active 77,481 $0.53 DigiKey July checked 67996-206HLF at $0.56 — different MPN
P2: 68000-103HLF 1×03 male pin header, 2.54 mm pitch Active 41,026 $0.34 DigiKey July's 67996-103HLF had zero stock — problem resolved
SW1–SW3: PTS645VL39-2 LFS (×3) TH right-angle, side-actuated 3.85 mm, 0.05 A @ 12 VDC Active 12,445 $0.42 DigiKey July used an unnamed SparkFun button at $0.60
Mounting hardware: 4× 4-40 screws + nuts #4-40 machine screws and nuts Available (commodity) High $1.57 / 12 nuts Home Depot (screws $1.98, Lowe's) "not checked" in July — checked now

Off-Board Hardware, External Modules, and Enclosure

Part Spec/Package Status Stock Price Source Drift
NCH6100HV boost module 12 V in, adjustable 85–235 V out Available Listed $11.29 eBay $11.58 → $11.29 (−2.5%)
Machined female socket pins (60) 2.54 mm round SIP receptacle strip Available High $1.29 / 40-pin strip Etsy (also $5.99 / 5 strips, eBay) ~$2.00 Pololu in July; comparable
12 V DC wall adapter (≥ 1 A, 2.1 mm) Centre-positive barrel plug Available High $6.99 Tinkersphere $6.49 → $6.99 (+8%)
Interconnect wires (3-way F-F Dupont) 22–26 AWG, snapshot wants ≥ 300 V insulation Available; insulation rating not verified High $1.89 / 3-pin elliottelectronicsupply.com Not priced in July
Custom enclosure materials Student-fabricated chassis not checked — — — Same as July

Substitutes

For part Substitute Differences Verified Judgment
U2, U3: HV5622PG-G HV5522PG-G — $6.96, DigiKey stock 0 (6-week factory lead) Same manufacturer, same 44-QFP / 44-PQFP (10×10) package, same "Voltage - Supply" 10.8–13.2 V; the snapshot explicitly allows an HV5522. Cheaper by $1.85, but every distributor checked shows zero stock and ECIA rates it Med lifecycle / Med supply-chain risk. Verified: package/case and supplier device package match, supply range matches (DigiKey parametrics on both parts). Not verified: pinout, output polarity, the 220 V output rating (no datasheet fetched). Not usable today — out of stock everywhere. Stay with HV5622PG-G.
U2, U3: HV5622PG-G HV5222PG-G ($7.34, 92), HV5122PG-G ($7.81, 34), HV5530PG-G ($9.08, stock not given) — DigiKey "Parametric Equivalent" suggestions All described "IC SR OPEN DRAIN 32BIT 44-PQFP", but the suggestion entries carry no parameters block, and the snapshot restricts substitution to HV5522/HV5622. Not verified: nothing — no package, supply or output-rating data in evidence. Not recommended without a datasheet comparison of logic levels and the 220 V output rating.
U1: DS3231SN# DS3231SN#T&R — $17.69, stock 6,359 Same manufacturer, same 16-SOIC (0.295", 7.50 mm) package, same 2.3–5.5 V supply; differs only in the "T&R" suffix, assumed to denote tape-and-reel packaging. $1.08 cheaper. Verified: package/case and supply range (DigiKey parametrics). Not verified: what the "T&R" suffix encodes (assumed packaging). Acceptable if reel-packaged parts are convenient to handle.
U4: LM78L05ACZ/NOPB L78L05ACZ (STMicroelectronics) — $0.27, stock 16,837, from DigiKey's suggested list for LM78L05ACZ/NOPB Described "IC REG LINEAR 5V 100MA TO92-3": same output, same current, same package family, $0.40 cheaper. The snapshot requires pin 1 VOUT / pin 2 GND / pin 3 VIN. Verified: 5 V output, 100 mA, TO-92 — from the DigiKey description line only. Not verified: pin order and maximum input voltage (no parameters block returned). Plausible cost saving at class scale; confirm the datasheet pinout before ordering — 78L05 pin assignment differs between vendors.
U4: LM78L05ACZ/NOPB MC78L05ACPG (onsemi) — $0.34, stock 10,051, same suggested list Described "IC REG LINEAR 5V 100MA TO92". Note the same list also contains MC79L05ABPRAG / MC79L05ABPRMG, which are negative −5 V regulators — not substitutes. Verified: 5 V output, 100 mA, TO-92 — description line only. Not verified: pin order, maximum input voltage. Plausible; the same datasheet-pinout check applies.
C2, C3: C315C220J5G5TA C315C220J5G5TA7303 — $0.11, stock not given Identical parametrics: 22 pF, ±5%, 50 V, C0G/NP0, radial through-hole, 2.54 mm lead spacing. Differs only in the "7303" suffix, assumed a packaging code. Verified: capacitance, dielectric, voltage rating, lead spacing (DigiKey parametrics on both). Not verified: what "7303" encodes; single-quantity availability. Acceptable if DigiKey shows stock when you order.
NCH6100HV module NCH8200HV — $16.99, Elecrow Successor module in the same family, within the snapshot's "any compact 12 V → 160–180 V, ≥ 20 mA module" latitude; $5.70 dearer. Not verified: input voltage, output range and output current — no product page could be fetched (the shopping result gives only a redirect link). Plausible, unverified. Only needed if the NCH6100HV listing disappears; confirm 12 V in and ≥ 20 mA at 170 V on the seller's page first.

Verify any substitute against its datasheet before ordering.

Other dependencies

  • PCB fabrication — the repository ships 8 RS-274X Gerbers plus an Excellon drill file (PCB/Gerber/); 2-layer FR4, 1.6 mm, 1 oz copper, board outline 148.08 mm × 37.08 mm, 0.2 mm clearance, 0.4 mm drill vias, lead-free HASL or ENIG recommended for the 0.8 mm pitch QFPs. No fabrication quote was obtained: not checked. (The July report quoted 101.60 mm × 38.10 mm; the snapshot's 148.08 mm × 37.08 mm is the outline to send a fab house.)
  • GitHub project repository — https://github.com/njeff/nixie-clock, the download source for the board files and design sources; its directory listings responded normally this run. Live.
  • OSHPark shared project — https://oshpark.com/shared_projects/nlSfLdLr; the fetch returned no readable text this run, so the shared board could not be confirmed. Not confirmed — order from the Gerbers if it will not open.
  • Instructables build log — https://www.instructables.com/id/SMD-Nixie-Clock/; the page downloaded but no readable text could be extracted (the site renders in JavaScript). Reachable, content not verified.
  • eBay listing URLs quoted in the lab documentation (the IN-14, IN-3 and NCH6100HV ebay.com/itm/... links) — not checked; they are dated marketplace listings, and the current sellers and prices in the Parts tables supersede them.
  • Custom enclosure — student-fabricated from wood, 3D print, CNC or laser-cut acrylic; no purchasable specification, so not checked.

Watch list

  • IN-14 tubes — out of production and secondary-market only; prices and lot sizes drift, and quality varies. Buy tested/NOS, order spares, and re-price before each cohort.
  • HV5622PG-G — DigiKey is down to 90 units (two per clock). The wider authorized channel holds roughly 1,600, but the one alternative the snapshot sanctions, HV5522PG-G, is currently at zero stock everywhere with Med lifecycle risk. Watch the two as a pair.
  • DS3231SN# — up 7.3% since July against a single manufacturer (ADI/Maxim); it is the costliest non-tube line, so compare Mouser and Newark pricing at order time.
  • High-voltage ratings not verified this run — the CFR-25 resistors' ≥ 200 V working voltage, the Dupont HT jumper's ≥ 300 V insulation, and the disagreement between the snapshot's stated +5 V VDD for the HV5622 and DigiKey's "Voltage - Supply 10.8–13.2 V". Resolve all three against datasheets before the next build; they are safety-relevant, not just sourcing detail.
  • Y1 crystal — the footprint decision above is unresolved, and no through-hole HC-49/U part has a price baseline yet.
Snapshot What the lab depended on when it was uploaded — the baseline the readiness checks research against.

This lab involves building a 6-digit electronic desktop Nixie clock featuring vintage Russian cold-cathode numerical display tubes (IN-14) and neon glow lamps (IN-3). The hardware platform consists of a custom two-layer PCB hosting an 8-bit Microchip/Atmel ATmega328P microcontroller running at 5 V logic, a Maxim DS3231 high-precision real-time clock (RTC) backed by a 3 V CR2032 lithium coin cell, and two cascaded Microchip/Supertex HV5622 32-channel high-voltage shift registers (providing 64 push-pull/open-drain outputs to drive tube cathodes directly without multiplexing). The clock operates from an external 12 V DC power supply via a 2.1 mm barrel jack, regulates the 12 V down to 5 V using an on-board LM78L05 linear regulator for logic circuitry, and passes the 12 V rail to an external high-voltage DC-DC boost converter module (NCH6100HV) that steps the voltage up to an adjustable ~160 V to 170 V DC high-tension rail ("HT") to bias the Nixie tube anodes.


Bill of Materials

Active Integrated Circuits and Regulators

  • IC1: ATmega328P 8-Bit Microcontroller

    • Identity: Microchip / Atmel ATMEGA328P-AU (Schematic label: ATMEGA328P-M)
    • Quantity: 1
    • Footprint: Housings_QFP:LQFP-32_7x7mm_Pitch0.8mm (32-pin TQFP / LQFP, 7 mm × 7 mm, 0.8 mm pin pitch)
    • Electrical constraints: Operating voltage 5.0 V DC (connected to +5 V and GND nets). Must function from 1.8 V to 5.5 V at clock frequencies up to 20 MHz.
    • Substitution latitude: Must be an ATmega328P in a 32-pin TQFP package (pinout-compatible with ATmega328P-AU). ATmega88 or ATmega168 are pin-compatible but lack the flash memory required for the compiled binary.
    • User control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: ATMEGA328P-AU
  • U1: DS3231 Extremely Accurate I2C-Integrated RTC / TCXO

    • Identity: Maxim Integrated / Analog Devices DS3231SN# (Schematic label: DS3231N)
    • Quantity: 1
    • Footprint: SMD_Packages:SO-16-L (16-pin SOIC Wide body, 300 mil / 7.5 mm width, 1.27 mm pitch)
    • Electrical constraints: Primary VCC powered from the +5 V rail. VBAT pin connects to a 3 V CR2032 lithium battery (BT1). Communicates via I2C at 5 V levels. Pin 3 (!INT/SQW) routes to MCU pin PB0.
    • Substitution latitude: Must be an exact DS3231 or DS3231S in a 16-pin SOIC wide package. The firmware communicates with the internal register map of the DS3231 over I2C and reads internal temperature registers; standard pinout RTCs (e.g., DS1307) are pin-incompatible and will not work.
    • User control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: DS3231SN#
  • U2, U3: HV5622 32-Channel High-Voltage Shift Register

    • Identity: Microchip Technology / Supertex HV5622PG-G
    • Quantity: 2
    • Footprint: Housings_QFP:LQFP-44_10x10mm_Pitch0.8mm (44-pin LQFP, 10 mm × 10 mm body, 0.8 mm pin pitch)
    • Electrical constraints: Logic supply VDD is +5 V DC. High-voltage outputs (HV1 to HV32) must withstand up to 220 V DC absolute maximum (operating on ~160 V to 170 V Nixie cathode switching).
    • Substitution latitude: Must be the HV5622PG-G (or compatible Supertex HV5522 / HV5622 in 44-lead PQFP/LQFP). The PCB layout routes 64 discrete high-voltage open-drain output channels directly to tube cathodes; no generic shift register can withstand the 160 V switching voltage.
    • User control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: HV5622PG-G
  • U4: LM78L05 5 V / 100 mA Positive Voltage Regulator

    • Identity: ON Semiconductor / Texas Instruments MC78L05ACZX or LM78L05ACZ/NOPB (Schematic label: 78L05)
    • Quantity: 1
    • Footprint: TO_SOT_Packages_THT:TO-92_Inline_Wide (TO-92 through-hole, wide inline pin spread)
    • Electrical constraints: Input voltage 12 V DC (from CON1 / Pin 1 of P2). Output voltage fixed 5.0 V DC (tolerances 4.75 V to 5.25 V), output current rating ≥ 100 mA.
    • Substitution latitude: Any standard 78L05 positive 5 V linear regulator in a TO-92 package with standard pinout (Pin 1: VOUT, Pin 2: GND, Pin 3: VIN) is acceptable.
    • User control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): LM78L05ACZ/NOPB

Cold-Cathode Display Tubes and Indicator Lamps

  • N1, N2, N3, N5, N6, N7: IN-14 Numerical Nixie Display Tubes

    • Identity: Vintage Soviet/Russian IN-14 (ИН-14) side-view cold-cathode neon display tube
    • Quantity: 6
    • Footprint: russian-nixies:russian-nixies-IN-14 (circular pin footprint on PCB bottom layer; mounted via socketed machine-tooled pins)
    • Electrical constraints: Anode strike/firing voltage ~170 V DC; sustaining voltage ~140 V to 150 V DC. Nominal cathode current 2 mA to 2.5 mA DC. Pinout includes numbers 0 through 9 and left/right decimal points.
    • Substitution latitude: Must be Russian IN-14 Nixie tubes to match the PCB footprint geometry, lead configuration, and physical envelope height/diameter.
    • User control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: retail shopping search: IN-14 nixie tube lot
  • N4, N8: IN-3 Subminiature Neon Glow Lamps

    • Identity: Vintage Soviet/Russian IN-3 (ИН-3) miniature neon indicator lamps (used as digit separator / colon indicators)
    • Quantity: 2
    • Footprint: russian-nixies:russian-nixies-IN-3 (2-pin wire terminal footprint on PCB top layer)
    • Electrical constraints: Firing voltage 60 V to 90 V DC; operating current ~0.5 mA to 1.0 mA DC. Anode connected via current-limiting resistor to HT (~160 V), cathode switched via shift register output. Polarized device (arrow at base points from anode to cathode).
    • Substitution latitude: Standard IN-3 neon indicator bulbs. Any subminiature radial neon bulb (e.g., NE-2 or A9A) with comparable firing voltage and lead spacing can mechanically substitute if polarity is observed.
    • User control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: retail shopping search: IN-3 neon indicator lamp

Resistors

  • R1, R4, R5, R6, R9, R10: IN-14 Anode Current-Limiting Resistors

    • Identity: 27 kΩ, 1/4 W (or 1/8 W) 5% carbon film or metal film through-hole resistor
    • Quantity: 6
    • Footprint: Resistors_ThroughHole:Resistor_Vertical_RM5mm (through-hole, 5.0 mm vertical lead spacing)
    • Electrical constraints: Sits directly on the HT rail (~160 V to 170 V DC) to the tube anodes. Power dissipation at 2.5 mA is approximately 0.17 W. Working voltage rating must be ≥ 200 V DC.
    • Substitution latitude: Any standard 27 kΩ through-hole resistor rated for ≥ 200 V and ≥ 0.25 W that fits 5 mm vertical mounting.
    • User control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): CFR-25JR-52-27K
  • R2, R7: IN-3 Neon Bulb Current-Limiting Resistors

    • Identity: 100 kΩ (schematic/PCB netlist value) or 120 kΩ (text description in directions.md), 1/4 W 5% through-hole resistor
    • Quantity: 2
    • Footprint: Resistors_ThroughHole:Resistor_Vertical_RM5mm (5.0 mm vertical lead spacing)
    • Electrical constraints: Current limiter on HT rail (~160 V DC) for IN-3 neon indicators. Max voltage ≥ 200 V DC.
    • Discrepancy: The KiCad schematic and board netlist specify 100 kΩ (100K). The assembly manual directions.md explicitly lists them as 120 kΩ. Both provide suitable current limiting for miniature neon lamps at 160 V DC; prefer the board netlist value of 100 kΩ (or 120 kΩ).
    • Substitution latitude: Standard 100 kΩ to 120 kΩ through-hole resistors rated ≥ 200 V and ≥ 0.25 W.
    • User control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): CFR-25JR-52-100K
  • R3, R8: I2C Bus Pull-Up Resistors

    • Identity: 4.7 kΩ, 1/8 W or 1/4 W 5% through-hole resistor
    • Quantity: 2
    • Footprint: Resistors_ThroughHole:Resistor_Vertical_RM5mm (5.0 mm vertical lead spacing)
    • Electrical constraints: Pulls up I2C bus lines SDA and SCL to the +5 V rail. Low power dissipation (< 10 mW).
    • Substitution latitude: Any 4.7 kΩ through-hole resistor fitting 5 mm vertical spacing. Values from 2.2 kΩ to 4.7 kΩ are acceptable for standard I2C operation.
    • User control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): CFR-25JR-52-4K7
  • R11: Microcontroller Hardware Reset Pull-Up Resistor

    • Identity: 10 kΩ, 1/8 W or 1/4 W 5% through-hole resistor
    • Quantity: 1
    • Footprint: Resistors_ThroughHole:Resistor_Vertical_RM5mm (5.0 mm vertical lead spacing)
    • Electrical constraints: Pulls up pin 29 (!RESET) of IC1 to the +5 V rail.
    • Substitution latitude: Any 10 kΩ (4.7 kΩ to 10 kΩ acceptable) through-hole resistor fitting 5 mm vertical spacing.
    • User control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): CFR-25JR-52-10K

Capacitors

  • C1, C4, C5: Logic Decoupling and Regulator Output Capacitors

    • Identity: 0.1 µF (100 nF), 50 V ceramic disc or multilayer ceramic capacitor
    • Quantity: 3
    • Footprint: Capacitors_ThroughHole:C_Disc_D3_P2.5 (radial through-hole disc, 3 mm diameter, 2.5 mm lead pitch)
    • Electrical constraints: Decoupling for MCU VCC (C1), DS3231 VCC (C4), and LM78L05 output (C5). All sit across +5 V and GND rails. Voltage rating ≥ 16 V DC (50 V recommended).
    • Substitution latitude: Any 0.1 µF ceramic radial through-hole capacitor with 2.5 mm lead pitch.
    • User control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): K104K15X7RF53L2
  • C2, C3: Crystal Oscillator Load Capacitors

    • Identity: 22 pF, 50 V C0G/NP0 ceramic disc capacitor
    • Quantity: 2
    • Footprint: Capacitors_ThroughHole:C_Disc_D3_P2.5 (radial through-hole disc, 3 mm diameter, 2.5 mm lead pitch)
    • Electrical constraints: Load capacitance for crystal Y1 connected between XTAL1/XTAL2 pins and GND. Low-drift dielectric (C0G/NP0) required.
    • Substitution latitude: Any 18 pF to 22 pF C0G ceramic through-hole capacitor with 2.5 mm pitch.
    • User control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): C315C220J5G5TA

Frequency Reference & Battery

  • Y1: Quartz Crystal Resonator

    • Identity: HC-49/U or HC-49/US through-hole quartz crystal resonator
    • Quantity: 1
    • Footprint: Crystals:Crystal_HC49-U_Vertical (HC-49 vertical through-hole, 4.88 mm pin pitch)
    • Electrical constraints: Connected to ATmega328P pins 7 and 8 (XTAL1/XTAL2). Note: The schematic specifies only "Crystal" without a rated frequency; the firmware build script defines F_CPU=1000000UL (1 MHz, compatible with factory internal RC fuses). If an external resonator is activated, standard 16.000 MHz (or 8.000 MHz) HC-49/S crystals with 18 pF load capacitance are typical for ATmega328P.
    • Substitution latitude: Standard HC-49/U or HC-49/US quartz crystal matching firmware clock fuses.
    • User control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): ABLS-16.000MHZ-B4-T
  • BT1: CR2032 Lithium Coin Cell Holder and Battery

    • Identity: Linx Technologies BAT-HLD-001 (Coin cell battery holder for CR2032) and 3 V CR2032 battery
    • Quantity: 1
    • Footprint: nixie:CR2032 (surface mount / through-hole hybrid coin cell retention clip)
    • Electrical constraints: 3.0 V nominal DC lithium primary battery connected to pin 14 (VBAT) of DS3231 RTC.
    • Substitution latitude: Must fit the nixie:CR2032 footprint geometry (Linx BAT-HLD-001 or equivalent 20 mm coin cell holder).
    • User control: Battery replacement only.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: BAT-HLD-001

Connectors, Switches, and Hardware

  • CON1: 2.1 mm DC Barrel Power Jack

    • Identity: 2.1 mm ID × 5.5 mm OD center-positive DC power receptacle, through-hole PCB mount
    • Quantity: 1
    • Footprint: Connect:BARREL_JACK (standard 3-pin PCB barrel jack footprint)
    • Electrical constraints: Rated for ≥ 12 V DC, ≥ 1.5 A. Pin 1 connects to +12V rail; pins 2 and 3 connect to GND.
    • Substitution latitude: Any standard PCB-mount 2.1 mm × 5.5 mm DC barrel jack matching the pad spacing (e.g., CUI Devices PJ-102A).
    • User control: Power input plug insertion.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): PJ-102A
  • P1: AVR In-System Programming (ISP) Header

    • Identity: 2×3 pin, 0.100" (2.54 mm) pitch straight male unshrouded pin header
    • Quantity: 1
    • Footprint: Pin_Headers:Pin_Header_Straight_2x03
    • Electrical constraints: Carries MISO, 5V, SCK, MOSI, RESET, and GND for flashing the ATmega328P.
    • Substitution latitude: Standard 0.1" 2×3 male header strip.
    • User control: Programming interface.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): 67997-206HLF
  • P2: High-Voltage / Power Connector to Boost Board

    • Identity: 1×3 pin, 0.100" (2.54 mm) pitch straight male pin header
    • Quantity: 1
    • Footprint: Pin_Headers:Pin_Header_Straight_1x03
    • Electrical constraints: Pin 1 carries +12 V DC; Pin 2 carries GND; Pin 3 carries high voltage ~160 V to 170 V DC (HT).
    • Substitution latitude: Standard 0.1" (2.54 mm) 1×3 header. Clearance between Pin 2 (GND) and Pin 3 (HT ~170 V) is 0.1" (2.54 mm).
    • User control: Inter-board wiring interconnect.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): 68000-103HLF
  • SW1, SW2, SW3: Right-Angle Tactile Push Buttons

    • Identity: SPST Normally Open Right-Angle Through-Hole Tactile Pushbutton Switch
    • Quantity: 3
    • Footprint: Buttons_Switches_ThroughHole:SW_Tactile_SPST_Angled (side-actuated 6 mm tactile switch)
    • Electrical constraints: Switches logic signals to ground against ATmega328P internal pull-up resistors (5 V logic, < 1 mA).
    • Operational role: Student/user operated controls during normal clock operation. SW1 cycles clock modes (Time, Date, Temperature, Timer); SW2 acts as Increment/Right/Reset; SW3 acts as Start-Stop/Left/Hour adjustment. The right-angle actuator orientation is mandatory so buttons protrude through the clock enclosure wall.
    • Substitution latitude: Standard 6 mm × 6 mm right-angle PCB tactile pushbutton switch with matching pin layout.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): PTS645VL39-2 LFS
  • Mounting Holes (REF**): Mechanical Board Standoff Points

    • Identity: 4-40 clearance drill holes on PCB
    • Quantity: 4 (located on layout at positions [25.4, 100.6], [77.6, 70.7], [132.6, 70.6], [166.5, 91.3] mm)
    • Footprint: Connect:1pin (drill diameter ~0.120" / 3.05 mm)
    • Support hardware: Sized for 4× 4-40 machine screws and 4× 4-40 hex nuts.
    • Substitution latitude: Standard 4-40 or M3 mounting hardware.
    • User control: Mechanical chassis mount.
    • Sourcing plan: retail shopping search: 4-40 machine screws and nuts

Off-Board Hardware, External Modules, and Enclosure

  • NCH6100HV High-Voltage DC-DC Boost Power Supply Module

    • Identity: NCH6100HV Miniature High-Voltage DC Power Supply Module (or equivalent Nixie boost converter)
    • Quantity: 1
    • Electrical constraints: Accepts 12 V DC input; outputs regulated, potentiometer-adjustable 85 V to 235 V DC (adjusted to ~160 V to 170 V DC for IN-14 tubes); output current capability ≥ 20 mA.
    • Substitution latitude: Any compact DC-DC boost converter module accepting 12 V DC and outputting 160 V to 180 V DC with sufficient current capacity (≥ 20 mA) to power 6 IN-14 tubes simultaneously.
    • User control: On-module trim potentiometer set once during calibration.
    • Sourcing plan: retail shopping search: NCH6100HV high voltage nixie power supply module
  • Machine-Tooled Female Header Pins (Tube Sockets)

    • Identity: Individual machined female receptacle contact pins extracted from 0.1" (2.54 mm) machined IC socket strips
    • Quantity: 60 contact pins (10 to 11 pins per IN-14 tube across 6 tubes)
    • Mechanical constraints: Outer pin diameter must fit inside PCB tube footprint holes (drill ~0.033" / 0.84 mm); inner contact spring accepts 0.4 mm to 0.5 mm Nixie tube wire leads.
    • Substitution latitude: Standard round machined IC socket headers (e.g., Mill-Max or generic round-hole SIP strips) broken open to extract pins.
    • User control: Assembly socketing.
    • Sourcing plan: retail shopping search: 2.54mm round machined female pin header strip
  • 12 V DC Wall Adapter Power Supply

    • Identity: AC-to-DC Regulated Wall Adapter, 12 V DC output, minimum 1.0 A rating, terminated in a 2.1 mm ID × 5.5 mm OD center-positive barrel plug
    • Quantity: 1
    • Electrical constraints: Must provide stable 12 V DC under load (supplying both the 5 V logic regulator and the high-voltage boost module).
    • Substitution latitude: Any 12 V DC supply rated ≥ 1.0 A with a matching 2.1 mm center-positive plug.
    • User control: Wall plug.
    • Sourcing plan: retail shopping search: 12V 1A power supply 2.1mm center positive
  • Interconnect Wires

    • Identity: 3-conductor wire jumper harness with 0.1" female Dupont sockets on each end (to bridge header P2 to the NCH6100HV module)
    • Quantity: 1 harness (3 wires: +12V, GND, HT)
    • Electrical constraints: HT wire carries up to 170 V DC; insulation rating must be ≥ 300 V.
    • Substitution latitude: Standard 22–26 AWG hookup wire with 0.1" crimp connectors.
    • User control: Internal wiring.
    • Sourcing plan: retail shopping search: female to female dupont jumper wire
  • Custom Enclosure

    • Identity: Custom fabricated chassis (wood, 3D-printed, CNC-machined, or laser-cut acrylic/plywood) designed to enclose both the 148 mm × 37 mm main board and the NCH6100HV module with top cutouts for the 6 IN-14 tubes and 2 IN-3 lamps, plus side openings for 3 pushbuttons and the DC barrel jack.
    • Quantity: 1
    • Substitution latitude: Custom enclosure constructed per student preference based on the PCB outline dimensions.
    • User control: Physical housing.
    • Sourcing plan: retail shopping search: custom nixie clock enclosure materials

Software and network dependencies

This lab runs firmware compiled into C binary form for an Atmel ATmega328P microcontroller and uses no network connectivity. The clock operates entirely offline with no wireless, Ethernet, or USB gadget network interfaces.

  • Microcontroller Firmware:

    • Name: NixieCode (thernext123 / Jeffrey Ni)
    • Source: Included within lab archive as nixie-clock-code.zip and available at repository https://github.com/njeff/nixie-clock
    • Version: not stated
    • Version source: not stated in the sources
    • Toolchain / IDE: Atmel Studio 6.2 / 7.0 C project (NixieCode.atsln, NixieCode.cproj) targeting device ATmega328P with symbol F_CPU=1000000UL pinned in NixieCode.cproj
    • Manifest location: NixieCode/NixieCode/NixieCode.cproj
    • Check plan: not checkable: embedded AVR C source project with no package registry or security advisory tracking
  • Integrated Firmware Libraries (Vendored):

    • Zak Kemble AVR millis library (millis.c, millis.h): Timer 1 interrupt-driven tick provider. Upstream repository https://github.com/zkemble/millis. Version: not stated (vendored directly into project tree without git tag or manifest).
    • akafugu DS3231 RTC / TWI driver library (rtc.c, rtc.h, twi.c, twi-lowlevel.c): Hardware I2C/RTC communication driver. Upstream repository https://github.com/akafugu/ds_rtc_lib. Version: not stated (vendored directly into project tree).
    • Version pinning: Unpinned. Both third-party libraries are vendored as loose C source files in NixieCode/NixieCode/ with no version constraints or release tags specified.
    • Check plan: not checkable: vendored C libraries without external package manifests or advisory databases
  • Flashing Toolchain Utility:

    • Name: avrdude
    • Purpose: ISP programmer utility invoked via program_328p.bat using the command avrdude -p m328p -c usbasp -e -U flash:w:NixieCode.hex
    • Version: not stated
    • Programmer hardware: USBasp (or standard AVRISP mkII) connected to header P1
    • Check plan: not checkable: local binary utility with unpinned version
  • Network Exposure:

    • Network connectivity: None. The system has no Wi-Fi, Ethernet, Bluetooth, or cellular hardware. No network stack is implemented. The device listens on no network ports and uses no default credentials.

External URLs and Remote Resources

  • GitHub Firmware & KiCad Repository: https://github.com/njeff/nixie-clock (Primary repository hosting source code and design files).
  • OSHPark Shared PCB Project: https://oshpark.com/shared_projects/nlSfLdLr (Community board fabrication link).
  • Instructables Lab Documentation: https://www.instructables.com/id/SMD-Nixie-Clock/ (Author project build log and photos).
  • Upstream Library Repositories:
    • https://github.com/zkemble/millis (AVR millis library)
    • https://github.com/akafugu/ds_rtc_lib (Akafugu DS3231 RTC library)
  • Vintage Component eBay Listings referenced in documentation (historical URLs subject to link rot):
    • http://www.ebay.com/itm/Lot-of-6pcs-IN-14-NIXIE-TUBES-100-GARANTY-WORKING-IN14-/141770629073
    • http://www.ebay.com/itm/10pcs-IN-3-NOS-NIXIE-TUBES-100-GARANTY-WORKING-IN3-INS-1-IN-14-IN-18-/141804242605
    • http://www.ebay.com/itm/Authorized-Dealer-NCH6100HV-High-Voltage-DC-Power-Supply-for-Nixie-Tubes-/182031863746

Fabrication Specifications

  • CAD Suite: KiCad PCBNEW (v4.0.0-rc1-stable)
  • Board Outline Dimensions: 148.08 mm × 37.08 mm (5.83 in × 1.46 in)
  • Layer Count: 2 copper layers (F.Cu Front Copper, B.Cu Back Copper)
  • Substrate Material & Thickness: Standard FR4, 1.6 mm board thickness, 1 oz (35 µm) copper weight
  • Surface Finish: Lead-Free HASL or ENIG (recommended due to 0.8 mm pitch QFP ICs)
  • Solder Mask / Silkscreen: 2-sided solder mask (F.Mask, B.Mask) and 2-sided silkscreen (F.SilkS, B.SilkS)
  • Minimum Trace Width / Clearance: User trace widths 0.381 mm (signal) and 1.27 mm (power/HT); trace clearance 0.2 mm. Note: Designers reproducing this board should ensure high-voltage clearance (creepage and clearance) is maintained between the ~170 V HT traces/pads and adjacent 5 V / GND nets.
  • Drill / Hole Counts:
    • Vias: 0.6 mm diameter pad, 0.4 mm drill (0.016")
    • IN-14 / Machine Header Holes: 0.033" (0.84 mm) drill
    • Mounting Holes: 4× 0.120" (3.05 mm) unplated/plated mechanical drill holes sized for 4-40 screws
  • Fabrication File Outputs: 8 standard RS-274X Gerber files and 1 Excellon drill file contained in PCB/Gerber/ (nixie-F_Cu.gbr, nixie-B_Cu.gbr, nixie-F_Mask.gbr, nixie-B_Mask.gbr, nixie-F_SilkS.gbr, nixie-B_SilkS.gbr, nixie-Edge_Cuts.gbr, nixie.drl). Ready for direct submission to any standard commercial PCB manufacturer.