DPScope USB Oscilloscope
In this hands-on electronics instrumentation lab, students build, calibrate, and operate the DPScope, a two-channel PC-based digital storage oscilloscope and datalogger. Working from a bare printed circuit board, students identify component values and polarities, practice through-hole soldering techniques, and install precision passive networks, clamping protection diodes, DIP IC sockets, BNC probe receptacles, and an FTDI USB-to-UART bridge module. After assembly, students perform hardware calibration routines including analog DC offset nulling with trimmer potentiometers and probe frequency compensation using onboard square-wave test signals and trimmer capacitors. Using the host software interface, students explore digital sampling theory, comparing real-time sampling with equivalent-time sampling, analyzing trigger modes and pre-trigger buffers, identifying aliasing, performing automated voltage and timing measurements, and conducting Fast Fourier Transform spectral analysis and X-Y Lissajous phase measurements.
Uploaded by demo on 2026-07-09 · ready · Electronics · Original source ↗
Files: directions.md · assembly_guide.pdf · schematic_v1_3.pdf · components.html · user_manual.pdf
Readiness checks
-
complete 2026-09-02 23:57 🛡 Cybersecurity: Could not check · 3 findings 61 searches · 7 pagesview · PDF
-
complete 2026-09-02 18:54 🛡 Cybersecurity: not checked 35 searches · 1 pages · $0.29view · PDF
-
complete 2026-07-19 16:53 🛡 Cybersecurity: not checked 38 searches · 0 pagesview · PDF
Latest report — 2026-09-02 23:57
Readiness: DPScope USB Oscilloscope
Verdict: At risk · 2026-09-02 · est. parts cost $85–$115 (excluding the bare PCB, which has no verified source) Cybersecurity — software & network: Could not check
Every discrete electronic part on this BOM can be bought today from an authorized distributor, either as the part the snapshot names or as a substitute verified below. What fails is the one item nobody else makes: the custom DPScope PCB. Its only stated source, http://www.dpscope.com, no longer resolves — a page fetch this run returned nothing — no Gerber or CAD files were supplied with the lab, and a web search for a bare board or layout files turned up nothing about this project. An instructor who already holds boards can rebuild everything else from this report; an instructor starting from zero cannot currently get a board. The verdict moves from Ready with caveats to At risk for that reason alone: parts availability did not deteriorate since the previous report — prices and stock are effectively unchanged — but this run checked the vendor site and the board, which the previous report left as "not checked". Nine BOM lines name a part that is obsolete, out of stock everywhere, or the wrong package for this through-hole board; three of those are errors in the snapshot's own example part numbers rather than market drift, and all nine have in-stock substitutes.
Action required
| Part | Problem | Recommended action |
|---|---|---|
| Printed circuit board | New since the previous report (it was "not checked"). No source found: the vendor site www.dpscope.com does not resolve, no layout files shipped with the lab, and a web search found no bare board or Gerbers. |
Check the surviving mirror dpscope.freevar.com/downloads.html by hand for a layout file; otherwise the board must be reverse-engineered from the assembly manual's dimensioned drawings before a new section can be built. |
| ERA-6AEB912V (9.1 kΩ, R7/R10) | New since the previous report (it was "not checked"). The snapshot's example part is a surface-mount 0805 chip resistor rated 0.125 W — wrong package for an all-through-hole board and under the 0.25 W the lab asks for. | Order axial Yageo MFR-25FBF52-9K1 — 9.1 kΩ, 1%, 0.25 W, $0.10, 7,853 in stock. |
| RJ-6P504 (500 kΩ trimmers, VR1/VR2) | Out of stock at every authorized distributor (DigiKey 0 with a 12-week factory lead; Mouser 0; Avnet 0). | Substitute Bourns 3362P-1-504LF — $1.23, 869 in stock; confirm the pin pattern against the board. |
| TZC3P300A110 (trimmer caps, C18/C19) | Obsolete, zero stock, and the part DigiKey returns is surface-mount with a 6.5–30 pF range — twice wrong for this board. The equivalent problem appeared under a different part number in the previous report. | Substitute through-hole EW Electronics GKG50015 — 10–50 pF, $1.57, 2,459 in stock. Note its range stops at 50 pF, not 60 pF. |
| TE 1-390261-3 (14-pin DIP socket) | New since the previous report (it was "not checked"). Obsolete; zero stock at every distributor checked; ECIA lifecycle risk High. | Substitute On Shore ED14DT ($0.52, 14,227) or Adam Tech ICS-314-T ($0.60, 26,816). |
| 3M 4808-6004-CP (8-pin DIP sockets) | New since the previous report (it was "not checked"). Not in the DigiKey catalogue at all, and no ECIA-authorized distributor lists it. | Substitute On Shore ED08DT ($0.47, 11,853) or Adam Tech ICS-308-T ($0.69, 14,314). |
| K470J15C0GF5TH5 / K101J15C0GF5TH5 (47 pF, 100 pF) | New since the previous report (both were "not checked"). Both example parts have 5.00 mm lead spacing; the snapshot specifies 2.54 mm for these positions. | Order the 2.50 mm-pitch siblings K470J15C0GH53L2 and K101J15C0GH53L2 — $0.34 each, both in stock. |
| 68001-106HLF (6-pin header, J_USB) | New since the previous report (never checked). The named part is the vertical variant; the BOM calls for a right-angle header. | Order Amphenol ICC 68016-106HLF — right-angle, same $0.61, 16,566 in stock — if the board wants right-angle. |
| Keystone 1514-4 (CAL turret pins) | New since the previous report (never checked). No DigiKey listing; ECIA shows zero stock at all five distributors, with 5,000-piece minimums where it is orderable. | Use the assembly guide's 2-pin 0.1" header instead: Molex 0022284023 ($0.48, 3,485 in stock) or a breakaway strip, Sullins PRPC040SAAN-RC ($1.23, 48,820). |
| 3M PB4NT18-C (nylon cable tie) | New since the previous report (never checked). Discontinued at DigiKey, zero stock. | Substitute 3M CT4NT18-C ($0.0474, 5,100 in stock), or any miniature nylon tie — the snapshot allows it. |
| UVR1E101MDD (100 µF option for C9) | New since the previous report. The part number in the snapshot returns no products at DigiKey and no ECIA-authorized distributor lists it. | Use the 470 µF option Nichicon UVR1E471MPD1TD ($0.48, 22,737), or the 100 µF Panasonic ECA-1VHG101I ($0.44, 417) if C9's pads are on 2.5 mm centres. |
Cybersecurity — software & network
Could not check — Every software component in this lab is a proprietary vendor binary with no advisory database and no fetchable manifest, so no vulnerability or support check could run; the one thing that could be established is that their sole distribution site no longer resolves.
Since the previous report: First software check for this lab — the previous report predates the snapshot's software section and recorded nothing, so every finding here is new.
| Component | Version | How known | Support status |
|---|---|---|---|
| DPScope PC Software (host GUI application) | 1.4.6 | inferred (version printed on the cover of the lab's user_manual.pdf per the snapshot section; no package manifest exists and the vendor download site could not be reached this run to confirm what it serves) | — |
| DPScope firmware (dsPIC30F2020) | V2.1 | inferred (version stated in the lab's user_manual.pdf (pages 2, 23-25) per the snapshot section; no source repository, commit or build artifact was supplied) | — |
| FTDI Virtual COM Port (VCP) USB driver | not determined | unpinned (the assembly guide (step 24) names only 'the FTDI USB driver'; whatever version the download site serves at install time is what students get) | — |
| FTDI MProg / FT_PROG EEPROM configuration utility | not determined | not determined (the assembly guide's screenshots (page 28) show MProg 3.5 or an FT_PROG equivalent, but no version is stated anywhere in the lab materials) | — |
| Microsoft Windows (host PC operating system) | 10 | inferred (the snapshot's system requirements record the host software as tested on Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8 and 10; the newest of those is taken as the reference version) | — |
| Component | Finding | Severity | Fix available? |
|---|---|---|---|
| DPScope firmware (dsPIC30F2020) | The firmware image for the microcontroller is distributed from the same dead domain, so a blank replacement dsPIC30F2020 bought from a distributor cannot be programmed from the source the manual names. (new) | posture | Mitigation only — read out and archive the firmware from a working board, or check the dpscope.freevar.com mirror for the hex file, before ordering blank microcontrollers. |
| DPScope PC Software (host GUI application) | The only download source the lab names for the host application, www.dpscope.com, no longer resolves in DNS, so the installer cannot be obtained or re-obtained from the vendor and any copy found elsewhere cannot be checked against an original. (new) | posture | Mitigation only — archive the working installer you already have, and treat a copy from the surviving mirror at dpscope.freevar.com or any third-party site as unverified software. |
| FTDI Virtual COM Port (VCP) USB driver | The USB serial driver is installed unpinned — no version is recorded anywhere in the lab materials — and one of the two sources the lab names for it is the dead vendor domain, so there is no version to check and no record of what students installed. (new) | posture | Mitigation only — install the driver from FTDI's own site, then record the version installed with the lab materials so it can be checked next time. |
What this means for your lab
The DPScope is a USB-only instrument. It has no network interfaces and no listening services, so there is nothing here for someone else on your campus network to connect to, and no student data leaves the PC it is plugged into. The fixed FTDI serial string 'FTE0ZZ3K' in the build instructions is a device-matching identifier that the PC program looks for when it hunts for the scope — it is not a password, and nothing is protected by it. The real problem is supply and provenance rather than attack: the vendor's website is gone, so the PC application, the firmware image and the FTDI configuration file can no longer be downloaded from the source the manual names, and a mirror site that still responds cannot be checked against an original. Practically: archive your working copies of the installer, the firmware hex and the DPScope.ept file with the rest of the lab materials now, while you still have them; treat any copy downloaded from a third-party site as unverified and install it on a lab PC that does not hold student records or saved credentials; and do not assume you will be able to re-download any of it next term.
Not checked
- DPScope PC Software 1.4.6: proprietary Windows desktop binary: no public vulnerability database covers it, and the vendor site does not resolve, so the shipped installer could not be retrieved or examined
- DPScope firmware V2.1: vendor firmware binary for a dsPIC digital signal controller: no advisory database covers it and no source was published
- FTDI Virtual COM Port (VCP) USB driver: unpinned vendor hardware driver: no version is stated in the lab materials, so there is nothing exact to look up
- FTDI MProg / FT_PROG EEPROM configuration utility: legacy vendor utility with no version stated and no advisory database
- windows 10: support status: version matches no release cycle on endoflife.date
Parts
Microcontroller and Clock
| Part | Spec/Package | Status | Stock | Price | Source | Drift |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Microcontroller (dsPIC): DSPIC30F2020-30I/SP | 28-DIP (0.300", 7.62 mm), 28-SPDIP | Active | 7 (DigiKey); Mouser 444, Spirit 1,275 | $7.85 | DigiKey | Previous report had an invalid MPN (dsPIC30F2020-E/P) and no price; now priced and Active |
| Ceramic Resonator (X1): CSTLS16M0X53-B0 | 16 MHz, Radial 3-lead, 2.50 mm pitch, 15 pF | Not For New Designs | 13,806 (DigiKey); Mouser 16,534 | $0.34 | DigiKey | Unchanged ($0.34, 13,806); still NFND |
Analog Front-End ICs
| Part | Spec/Package | Status | Stock | Price | Source | Drift |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Quad Op-Amp (OP1): MCP6024-I/P | 14-DIP (0.300"), supply 2.5–5.5 V | Active | 295 | $2.72 | DigiKey | Unchanged ($2.72, 295) |
| Programmable Gain Amp (PGA1, PGA2): MCP6S22-I/P | 8-DIP (0.300") | Active | 25 (DigiKey); Mouser 214, Spirit 4,980 | $1.97 | DigiKey | Unchanged ($1.97, 25) |
| Dual 12-Bit DAC (DAC1): MCP4822-E/P | 8-DIP (0.300"), supply 2.7–5.5 V | Active | 1,172 | $4.28 | DigiKey | Unchanged ($4.28, 1,172) |
Diodes and Optoelectronics
| Part | Spec/Package | Status | Stock | Price | Source | Drift |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clamping Diodes (D1–D4): 1N914ATR | DO-35 axial, Vr 100 V, Io 200 mA | Active | 50,665 | $0.30 | DigiKey | Unchanged ($0.30, 50,665) |
| Status Indicator (LED1): LTL-4221N | 5 mm T-1 red diffused, through hole | Active | 23,803 | $0.19 | DigiKey | Previous report priced a different LED (Kingbright WP7113ID, $0.21) — no baseline for this part |
Resistors
| Part | Spec/Package | Status | Stock | Price | Source | Drift |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 470 Ω (R19): CF14JT470R | Axial, 0.25 W, ±5% | Active | 160,964 | $0.10 | DigiKey | — |
| 1 kΩ (R5, R8, R11, R14–R18): CF14JT1K00 | Axial, 0.25 W, ±5% | Active | 527,518 | $0.10 | DigiKey | Stock 527,893 → 527,518; price unchanged |
| 9.1 kΩ 1% (R7, R10): ERA-6AEB912V | SMD 0805, 0.125 W, ±0.1% — wrong package | Active but unusable here | 9,900 | $0.10 | DigiKey | Was "not checked"; now a hard package mismatch — see Substitutes |
| 249 kΩ 1% (R2, R4): RNF14FTD249K | Axial 2.35 × 6.35 mm, 0.25 W, ±1% | Active | 21,094 | $0.11 | DigiKey | Replaces the previous report's out-of-stock RNMF14FTC249K; now in stock |
| 750 kΩ (R1, R3): CF14JT750K | Axial, 0.25 W, ±5% | Active | 33,521 | $0.10 | DigiKey | — |
| 500 kΩ Trimmers (VR1, VR2): RJ-6P504 | 500 kΩ, 0.5 W, through hole, round 7.00 mm | Active, out of stock everywhere | 0 (DigiKey, Mouser, Avnet all 0) | — | DigiKey / ECIA | Previous report priced Bourns 3362P-1-504LF instead; the snapshot's own part is unobtainable |
Capacitors
| Part | Spec/Package | Status | Stock | Price | Source | Drift |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 22 pF C0G (C5, C8): K220J15C0GH53L2 | Radial, 100 V, lead spacing 2.50 mm | Active | 11,409 | $0.34 | DigiKey | Was "not checked"; correct pitch, no action needed |
| 47 pF C0G (C6, C11): K470J15C0GF5TH5 | Radial, 50 V, lead spacing 5.00 mm (spec asks 2.54 mm) | Active, wrong pitch | 16,391 | $0.27 | DigiKey | Was "not checked"; see Substitutes |
| 100 pF C0G (C14, C15): K101J15C0GF5TH5 | Radial, 50 V, lead spacing 5.00 mm (spec asks 2.54 mm) | Active, wrong pitch | 81,370 | $0.27 | DigiKey | Was "not checked"; see Substitutes |
| Trimmer Caps (C18, C19): TZC3P300A110R00 | Surface mount, 4.50 × 3.20 mm, 6.5–30 pF | Obsolete | 0; no ECIA distributor lists it | — | DigiKey | Same problem as the previous report's TZ03Z500E169B00, under a new part number |
| 0.1 µF X7R (C1–C4, C7, C10, C12, C13, C16, C17): K104K15X7RF5TH5 | Radial, 50 V, lead spacing 5.00 mm | Active | 345,661 | $0.29 | DigiKey | Previous report priced the 2.50 mm sibling K104K15X7RF53L2 at $0.27 (32,668 → 32,552 in stock today) |
| Electrolytic (C9), 470 µF option: UVR1E471MPD1TD | 470 µF, 25 V, radial can, lead spacing 5.00 mm, 10 mm dia | Active | 22,737 | $0.48 | DigiKey | Was "not checked" under this part number; previous report priced Panasonic ECA-1VHG101I ($0.44, 417 — unchanged today) |
| Electrolytic (C9), 100 µF option: UVR1E101MDD | 100 µF, 25 V radial (per assembly guide) | No such part | 0 products; no ECIA listing | — | DigiKey / ECIA | New finding — see Substitutes |
Sockets, Connectors, and Interconnects
| Part | Spec/Package | Status | Stock | Price | Source | Drift |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 28-Pin DIP Socket: 4828-6004-CP | 28-pos DIP, through hole, 0.100" mating and post pitch | Active | 2,147 (DigiKey); 5 distributors in stock | $1.61 | DigiKey | Replaces the previous report's obsolete 4828-3000-CP; now healthy |
| 14-Pin DIP Socket: 1-390261-3 | 14-pos DIP, through hole, 0.100" pitch | Obsolete | 0 at all five distributors checked | — | DigiKey / ECIA | Was "not checked"; see Substitutes |
| 8-Pin DIP Sockets (×3): 4808-6004-CP | 8-pos DIP, 300 mil | Not in catalogue | 0 products; no ECIA listing | — | DigiKey / ECIA | Was "not checked"; see Substitutes |
| BNC Connectors (J1, J2): 0731000105 | BNC receptacle, through hole, right angle, 50 Ω | Active | 7,801 | $2.25 | DigiKey | Previous report priced Amphenol 112408 ($5.45, 152) — this is the snapshot's named part and is cheaper |
| BNC Connectors — panel-mount option: 031-5540 | BNC receptacle, right angle, bulkhead front-side nut, 1 GHz | Active | 560 (DigiKey); 5 distributors in stock | $6.47 | DigiKey | — |
| 6-Pin Header (J_USB): 68001-106HLF | Vertical 1×6, 0.100" pitch (BOM asks right-angle) | Active, wrong orientation | 10,523 | $0.61 | DigiKey | Never checked before; see Substitutes |
| Calibration Header (JP_CAL): Keystone 1514-4 turret | Turret terminal pin | Not stocked | 0 at all five ECIA distributors | — | ECIA | Never checked before |
| Calibration Header (JP_CAL): Molex 0022284023 | 2-pos vertical header, 0.100" pitch | Discontinued at DigiKey (9 other distributors in stock) | 3,485 (DigiKey); TTI 459,488, Avnet 328,583 | $0.48 | DigiKey | Never checked before |
| 2-Pin Shunt: SPC02SYAN | 0.100" shorting jumper, gold flash | Active | 771,589 | $0.10 | DigiKey | Was "not checked" |
Modules, Accessories, and Enclosure Hardware
| Part | Spec/Package | Status | Stock | Price | Source | Drift |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FTDI Interface (FT1): TTL-232R-5V | USB-to-UART cable, 5 V, 0.1" 6-pin header | Active | 195 | $23.80 | DigiKey | Previous report used a $6.99 retail 2-pack; this is the authorized part |
| FTDI Interface — cheaper authorized option: SparkFun 09716 | USB 2.0 bridge module, 5 V supply | Active | 232 | $19.51 | DigiKey | — |
| FTDI Interface — retail options | FT232RL 6-pin adapters | Available (unverified listings) | In stock | $5.25 (ShillehTek), $7.95 (JemRF), $12.89 (Fermion/Mouser), $18.46 (SparkFun/Mouser) | Google Shopping | Previous report's ShillehTek 2-pack at $6.99 is comparable |
| USB Cable: A to Mini-B, data | USB 2.0, 5-pin Mini-B, fully wired data cable | Available (unverified listings) | In stock | $1.04 (Monoprice 28/28 AWG, OfficeCrave), $1.34 (Cable Leader), $2.99 (Micro Center), $8.28 (Monoprice via Target) | Google Shopping | Previous report priced Monoprice at $1.89 |
| Oscilloscope Probes (×2) | 1:1 / 1:10 switchable, BNC, ≥20 MHz required | Available (unverified listings) | In stock | $19.75 (Jameco), $21.88 (Newegg), $23.25 (Walmart pair), $27.00 (Mouser), $29.68 (Pico) | Google Shopping | Was "not checked" in the previous report |
| Enclosure: A21,BK | ABS black, 4.250" × 2.600" × 1.120" | Active | 288 | $12.79 | DigiKey | Stock 298 → 288; price unchanged |
| Rubber Feet (×4): 3M SJ5302 | Adhesive bumper, 0.312" (7.92 mm) dia | Active | 262,544 | $0.12 | DigiKey | Was "not checked" |
| Nylon Cable Tie: 3M PB4NT18-C (DigiKey 3M101C-ND) | 4" locking nylon tie, 18 lb | Discontinued at DigiKey | 0 | — | DigiKey | Never checked before; see Substitutes |
| Hookup Wire 22 AWG: Jameco 36881 | 22 AWG insulated hookup wire, 2 × 2" | not checked | — | — | — | Jameco catalogue number, not a distributor MPN — cannot be looked up at an authorized distributor |
| Printed Circuit Board | Custom 2-layer through-hole, ~100 × 50 mm, "DPScope V1.4" | No source found | — | — | — | Was "not checked"; the vendor site no longer resolves and no board or layout files were found |
Substitutes
| For part | Substitute | Differences | Verified | Judgment |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ERA-6AEB912V (9.1 kΩ, SMD 0805) | Yageo MFR-25FBF52-9K1 | Axial through-hole body 2.40 mm dia × 6.30 mm L instead of an 0805 chip; 0.25 W instead of 0.125 W (meets the requirement the original missed); ±1% instead of ±0.1% (still meets the lab's 1% spec). $0.10, 7,853 in stock. | Package (Axial), resistance 9.1 kΩ, tolerance ±1%, power 0.25 W — DigiKey parametrics on both parts | Acceptable — the axial part the lab actually needs. |
| RJ-6P504 (500 kΩ trimmer) | Bourns 3362P-1-504LF | Rectangular 6.99 × 6.60 mm face instead of round 7.00 mm dia; same 500 kΩ, 0.5 W, ±10%, through-hole top adjust. Cheaper at $1.23. | Resistance, power 0.5 W (exceeds the 0.25 W required), tolerance, through-hole mounting, top-adjust actuation, body size within the 6–7 mm envelope — DigiKey parametrics. Not verified: lead pitch (DigiKey publishes none) | Acceptable; confirm the three-pin pattern against the board before a class order. |
| RJ-6P504 (500 kΩ trimmer) | Bourns 3329P-1-504LF | Round 6.35 mm dia body rather than the snapshot's square description; same 500 kΩ, 0.5 W, ±10%, through-hole top adjust. $2.84 — more than double substitute 1. | Resistance, power (exceeds), tolerance, through-hole, top adjust, body diameter within the envelope — DigiKey parametrics. Not verified: lead pitch | Acceptable fallback; second choice on price. |
| RJ-6P504 (500 kΩ trimmer) | TT Electronics/BI 72PR500KLF | Square 9.53 × 9.53 mm face — far outside the snapshot's 6–7 mm body envelope. | Resistance, power, tolerance, through-hole — DigiKey parametrics | Rejected — body will not fit the trimmer footprint. |
| TZC3P300A110R00 (trimmer cap) | EW Electronics GKG50015 | Through-hole instead of surface-mount; 6.00 mm dia, 5.00 mm seated height; 100 V instead of 50 V (exceeds); range 10–50 pF against the specified 10–60 pF — falls short at the top end. | Mounting type (through hole), body diameter 6.00 mm, voltage 100 V, capacitance range 10–50 pF — DigiKey parametrics. Not verified: lead pitch | Acceptable with a caveat: it covers the 10–35 pF probe-compensation window the snapshot records, but not trim above 50 pF. No through-hole trimmer reaching 60 pF appeared in this run's evidence. |
| K470J15C0GF5TH5 (47 pF, 5.00 mm pitch) | Vishay BC K470J15C0GH53L2 | Lead spacing 2.50 mm instead of 5.00 mm — the difference that matters; 100 V instead of 50 V (exceeds); straight leads instead of formed. $0.34 vs $0.27. | Capacitance, tolerance ±5%, dielectric C0G/NP0, through-hole mounting, lead spacing 2.50 mm — DigiKey parametrics on both parts | Acceptable — order this variant instead. |
| K101J15C0GF5TH5 (100 pF, 5.00 mm pitch) | Vishay BC K101J15C0GH53L2 | Lead spacing 2.50 mm instead of 5.00 mm; 100 V instead of 50 V (exceeds); straight leads. $0.34 vs $0.27. | Capacitance, tolerance ±5%, dielectric C0G/NP0, through-hole, lead spacing 2.50 mm — DigiKey parametrics on both parts | Acceptable — order this variant instead. |
| K104K15X7RF5TH5 (0.1 µF, 5.00 mm pitch) | Vishay BC K104K15X7RF53L2 | Lead spacing 2.50 mm instead of 5.00 mm; identical 0.1 µF, ±10%, 50 V, X7R. Cheaper at $0.27. | Capacitance, tolerance, voltage, dielectric, through-hole, lead spacing 2.50 mm — DigiKey parametrics | Acceptable — only needed if the board's decoupling pads are on 2.54 mm centres; the 5.00 mm part is within the snapshot's allowance. |
| UVR1E101MDD (100 µF option, no such part) | Panasonic ECA-1VHG101I | 100 µF, 35 V instead of 25 V (exceeds the ≥16 V requirement); radial can 6.30 mm dia, lead spacing 2.50 mm. $0.44, 417 in stock. | Capacitance (within the 100–470 µF latitude), voltage, through-hole radial can, lead spacing 2.50 mm, body diameter — DigiKey parametrics | Acceptable — use where C9's pads are on 2.5 mm centres; use the Nichicon 470 µF for 5 mm centres. |
| TE 1-390261-3 (14-pin socket, obsolete) | On Shore ED14DT | Same construction (tin over phosphor bronze), same 0.100" mating and post pitch; $0.52 with 14,227 in stock. DigiKey classifies it a Direct substitute. | 14 positions, through-hole mounting, mating pitch 0.100", post pitch 0.100", contact material and finish — DigiKey parametrics on both parts. Not verified: row spacing (DigiKey publishes none for DIP sockets) | Acceptable. |
| TE 1-390261-3 (14-pin socket, obsolete) | Adam Tech ICS-314-T | 14-position DIP socket, 2.54 mm pitch; $0.60 with 26,816 in stock — the deepest stock of the options. | 14 positions, through-hole, mating pitch 0.100", post pitch 0.100" — DigiKey parametrics. Not verified: row spacing | Acceptable. |
| 3M 4808-6004-CP (8-pin socket, not catalogued) | On Shore ED08DT | 8-position DIP socket, tin over phosphor bronze, 0.100" mating and post pitch; $0.47 with 11,853 in stock. | 8 positions, through-hole, mating pitch 0.100", post pitch 0.100" — DigiKey parametrics. Not verified: row spacing | Acceptable — the snapshot allows any standard 8-pin 300 mil socket. |
| 3M 4808-6004-CP (8-pin socket, not catalogued) | Adam Tech ICS-308-T | 8-position DIP socket, 2.54 mm pitch; $0.69 with 14,314 in stock. | 8 positions, through-hole, mating and post pitch 0.100" — DigiKey parametrics. Not verified: row spacing | Acceptable. |
| 68001-106HLF (vertical 6-pin header) | Amphenol ICC 68016-106HLF | Right-angle instead of vertical — the only difference at issue; same series, same 0.100" pitch, same $0.61, 16,566 in stock. | Right-angle through-hole mounting, 6 positions, mating pitch 0.100", male pin contact type — DigiKey parametrics on both parts | Acceptable — order this if the board wants a right-angle header. |
| Keystone 1514-4 turret / Molex 0022284023 (discontinued at DigiKey) | Sullins PRPC040SAAN-RC | 40-position breakaway strip — snap off two pins for CAL and GND; vertical, 0.100" pitch, $1.23 with 48,820 in stock (one strip serves 20 boards). | Male pin contact type, mating pitch 0.100", vertical through-hole mounting — DigiKey parametrics | Acceptable — the snapshot explicitly allows a standard 0.1" breakaway header. |
| 3M PB4NT18-C (cable tie, discontinued) | 3M CT4NT18-C | 4.10" locking nylon tie, 18 lb, free hanging; $0.0474 with 5,100 in stock. Also flagged "Discontinued at DigiKey" — stocked today, not a long-term line. | Length 4.10" (the snapshot asks approx. 4"), 18 lb locking nylon tie, free-hanging mounting — DigiKey parametrics; DigiKey classifies it a Direct substitute | Acceptable — and any miniature nylon tie will do; do not let this line hold up an order. |
| CSTLS16M0X53-B0 (resonator, NFND) | Murata CSTLS16M0X54-B0 | Same radial 3-lead 2.50 mm pitch family, 22 pF internal load instead of 15 pF — but zero stock at every authorized distributor (DigiKey 19-week lead, Mouser 11-week, Avnet 0, Future 12-week). | Package and lead pitch (Radial 3-lead, 2.50 mm), frequency 16 MHz, through-hole — DigiKey parametrics on both parts. Not verified: whether the 22 pF load keeps the dsPIC oscillator in spec | Rejected on availability — no supply advantage over the NFND original, which two distributors still stock in quantity. |
| TTL-232R-5V (FTDI interface, $23.80) | SparkFun 09716 | USB 2.0 bridge module at $19.51 with 232 in stock, from an authorized distributor. | 5 V supply rail — DigiKey parametrics. Not verified: the 6-pin FTDI pinout order, the FT232RL chip, 500 kbaud support, and EEPROM reprogrammability — DigiKey's listing states none of these | Plausible, unverified — check the product page before ordering. |
| TTL-232R-5V (FTDI interface, $23.80) | Retail FT232RL modules (ShillehTek $5.25, JemRF $7.95, Fermion $12.89) | A quarter to a third of the authorized price; the Waveshare $6.99 listing uses an FT232RNL, not an FT232RL. | Nothing verified — these are Google Shopping aggregator listings and no merchant product page was fetched | Plausible, unverified. The lab needs FT232RL/FT232R, 5 V I/O, the standard 6-pin pinout, 500 kbaud and a writable EEPROM; buy the authorized cable if that must be guaranteed. |
Instructors should verify any substitute against its datasheet before ordering.
Other dependencies
- DPScope official website (
http://www.dpscope.com) — dead. A page fetch this run returned "Page could not be downloaded (blocked, timeout, or gone)". This is the snapshot's sole stated source for the board, the documentation and the vendor downloads, and the domain behind thesupport@dpscope.comcontact address. - Mirror site (
http://dpscope.freevar.com) — alive. A fetch ofhttps://dpscope.freevar.com/downloads.htmlreturned page text headed "DPScope - Software, Drivers, Documentation", whose copyright notice refers to "Circuit schematics, layout files, PC software etc. on this site". The individual download links were not readable from the extracted text, so what the mirror still serves is unverified — check it by hand. - PCB fabrication data (Gerbers for the 2-layer, ~100 × 50 mm board) — not available. None were supplied with the lab, and an organic web search for a DPScope bare board or layout files returned only generic articles about Gerber formats, nothing about this project.
- Tektronix reference application notes (
http://www.tektronix.com) — not checked; cited in the user manual as background reading only.
Watch list
- The custom PCB and the vendor's distribution channel. This is the single point of failure for the whole lab. If the
dpscope.freevar.commirror also disappears, the schematics, the assembly manual and any layout files go with it. Archive everything you have — manual, schematic, layout files, PC software, firmware image, theDPScope.eptconfiguration file — off that site now, while it still answers. - Murata CSTLS16M0X53-B0 resonator — Not For New Designs, and the obvious through-hole successor in the same family (CSTLS16M0X54-B0) has zero distributor stock with 11–19 week factory leads. Roughly 30,000 pieces sit at DigiKey and Mouser today; buy the resonators for future sections while they are there.
- Microchip MCP6S22-I/P — DigiKey holds 25 pieces and the board needs two, so DigiKey alone covers 12 boards. Mouser (214) and Spirit (4,980) carry the depth. The sibling MCP6S92-I/P was not looked up this run.
- DSPIC30F2020-30I/SP — DigiKey is down to 7 pieces at $7.85; Mouser has 444 at $7.62. Order the MCU from Mouser for a section, and remember distributor stock arrives blank.
- Through-hole trimmer capacitors — the category is shrinking: the snapshot's part is obsolete and surface-mount, DigiKey's suggested replacement is also surface-mount, and the one through-hole option found (GKG50015, 2,459 in stock) tops out at 50 pF rather than 60 pF.
- Through-hole DIP sockets and legacy connectors — the 14-pin socket went obsolete, the 8-pin part number left the catalogue, the CAL turret is unstocked and the Molex CAL header is "Discontinued at DigiKey". None is hard to replace today, but the specific part numbers in this BOM will keep rotting.
- Mini-B USB hardware — cables and 6-pin FTDI breakouts are legacy items as USB-C takes over. Keep spares, and check that any replacement module keeps 5 V logic, the same 6-pin order and a writable EEPROM.
Snapshot What the lab depended on when it was uploaded — the baseline the readiness checks research against.
Overview
The DPScope is a two-channel PC-based digital storage oscilloscope and datalogger kit featuring approximately 1.3 MHz analog bandwidth, real-time sampling up to 1 MSamples/sec per channel (up to 20 MSamples/sec in equivalent-time sampling mode), and an onboard acquisition buffer of 200–205 samples per channel. The instrument is controlled by a Microchip dsPIC30F2020 16-bit digital signal controller running at 30 MIPS from a 16 MHz ceramic resonator, which handles analog-to-digital conversion, comparator triggering, and buffer management. An analog front-end per channel provides a 1:4 resistive divider input network, input rail clamping protection, a high-speed quad operational amplifier buffer/preamp (MCP6024), an SPI-controlled programmable gain amplifier (MCP6S22 or MCP6S92), and an SPI dual 12-bit digital-to-analog converter (MCP4822) for DC offset adjustment. Host communication and primary power are supplied over a single USB port through an FTDI FT232RL USB-to-UART bridge running at 500 kbaud. The entire instrument logic, analog front-end, and USB interface operate from a single nominal +5 V supply rail derived directly from the host USB bus (current draw approximately 250 mA).
Bill of Materials
Microcontroller and Clock
Microchip dsPIC30F2020 16-bit Digital Signal Controller
- Reference designator: dsPIC
- Quantity: 1
- Package: 28-pin Skinny DIP (SPDIP-28, 300 mil row spacing)
- Electrical constraints: Supply voltage VDD = 5.0 V nominal (operating range 4.5 V to 5.5 V), 30 MIPS core execution speed with high-speed 10-bit SAR ADC and internal analog comparators.
- Substitution latitude: Must be dsPIC30F2020-30I/SP specifically. The design relies on this exact DSC pinout, register architecture, dual high-speed ADC pairs, and firmware machine code.
- Control type: Fixed IC; not a user control.
- Sourcing note: In the original kit, this part shipped pre-programmed with proprietary DPScope firmware from DPScope.com. Blank distributor stock requires programming via an external Microchip ICSP programmer (e.g., PICkit) before use.
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: dsPIC30F2020-30I/SP
Ceramic Resonator, 16.0 MHz (with built-in load capacitors)
- Reference designator: X1
- Quantity: 1
- Package: 3-pin SIP through-hole (2.54 mm or 2.5 mm pin pitch)
- Electrical constraints: 16.0 MHz fundamental frequency, integrated load capacitance (typically 15–30 pF), frequency tolerance ±0.5%.
- Substitution latitude: Any 16 MHz 3-pin ceramic resonator with internal load capacitors in SIP-3 package. Standard 2-pin crystals cannot be substituted directly without adding external load capacitors to ground.
- Control type: Fixed component; not a user control.
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: X908-ND (Murata CSTLS16M0X53-B0 or ECS ECS-SR1-16.00-B)
Analog Front-End ICs
Microchip MCP6024 Quad Rail-to-Rail Input/Output Operational Amplifier
- Reference designator: OP1
- Quantity: 1
- Package: DIP-14 (300 mil row spacing)
- Electrical constraints: Supply voltage VDD = 5.0 V (2.5 V to 5.5 V operating range), 10 MHz gain-bandwidth product, rail-to-rail input and output, input offset voltage ≤ 0.5 mV typical, slew rate 7 V/µs.
- Substitution latitude: Must be MCP6024-I/P or an exact pin-compatible quad rail-to-rail op-amp capable of 5 V single-supply operation with ≥ 10 MHz bandwidth.
- Control type: Fixed IC; not a user control.
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: MCP6024-I/P-ND (Microchip MCP6024-I/P)
Microchip MCP6S22 (or MCP6S92) 2-Channel SPI Programmable Gain Amplifier
- Reference designators: PGA1, PGA2
- Quantity: 2
- Package: DIP-8 (300 mil row spacing)
- Electrical constraints: Supply voltage VDD = 5.0 V (2.5 V to 5.5 V operating range), SPI bus communication up to 10 MHz, programmable gains of 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 10, 16, and 32, 2 to 12 MHz bandwidth depending on gain setting.
- Substitution latitude: Must be Microchip MCP6S22-I/P or MCP6S92-I/P. The firmware sends specific SPI command words formatted exclusively for the MCP6S2x PGA register set.
- Control type: Fixed IC; not a user control.
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: MCP6S22-I/P-ND (Microchip MCP6S22-I/P)
Microchip MCP4822 Dual 12-Bit Voltage Output Digital-to-Analog Converter
- Reference designator: DAC1
- Quantity: 1
- Package: DIP-8 (300 mil row spacing)
- Electrical constraints: Supply voltage VDD = 5.0 V (2.7 V to 5.5 V operating range), dual 12-bit output with internal 2.048 V bandgap reference and selectable 1x/2x gain, SPI bus interface.
- Substitution latitude: Must be Microchip MCP4822-E/P. The firmware generates 16-bit SPI control words formatted specifically for the MCP4822 internal registers to generate Channel 1 and Channel 2 DC offset voltages.
- Control type: Fixed IC; not a user control.
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: MCP4822-E/P-ND (Microchip MCP4822-E/P)
Diodes and Optoelectronics
Fast Small-Signal Clamping Diodes
- Reference designators: D1, D2, D3, D4
- Quantity: 4
- Package: DO-35 axial through-hole
- Electrical constraints: Vr ≥ 75 V, If ≥ 150 mA, trr ≤ 4 ns. Connected between analog input nodes and 0 V / +5 V rails to protect OP1 inputs from overvoltage spikes up to ±120 V (or ±200 V with 1:10 probes).
- Discrepancy note: Schematic v1.3 specifies BAT85 small-signal Schottky diodes (DO-35, Vf ≈ 0.38 V, Vr = 30 V). However, the vendor BOM (
components.html), assembly guide component list (Step 5, page 6), and build instructions (Step 13, page 14) specify 1N914A fast silicon switching diodes (DO-35, 1N914ACT-ND). The 1N914A is preferred per the board documentation. - Substitution latitude: Any fast switching diode (1N914, 1N914A, 1N4148) in DO-35, or low-leakage Schottky diodes (BAT85) in DO-35.
- Control type: Fixed component; not a user control.
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: 1N914ACT-ND (onsemi / Fairchild 1N914ATR)
Red Status Indicator LED, 5 mm
- Reference designator: LED1
- Quantity: 1
- Package: Radial through-hole 5 mm (T-1 3/4)
- Electrical constraints: Forward current If ≤ 20 mA, forward voltage Vf ≈ 2.0 V, luminous intensity typical 10–30 mcd. Driven from dsPIC pin via R19 (470 Ω) from the +5 V rail.
- Substitution latitude: Any standard 5 mm or 3 mm through-hole red LED.
- Control type: Visual status indicator; not a user control.
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: 160-1087-ND (Lite-On LTL-4221N)
Resistors
470 Ω Resistor, 0.25 W, 5%
- Reference designator: R19
- Quantity: 1
- Package: Axial through-hole (approx. 7.5 mm to 10 mm pitch)
- Electrical constraints: 470 Ω, 0.25 W power dissipation, 5% tolerance. Current-limiting resistor for status LED1.
- Substitution latitude: Any standard 0.25 W through-hole carbon or metal film resistor.
- Control type: Fixed component; not a user control.
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: 470QBK-ND (Stackpole CF14JT470R)
1 kΩ Resistors, 0.25 W, 5% (or 1%)
- Reference designators: R5, R8, R11, R14, R15, R16, R17, R18
- Quantity: 8
- Package: Axial through-hole (approx. 7.5 mm to 10 mm pitch)
- Electrical constraints: 1 kΩ, 0.25 W, 5% (or 1%) tolerance. Used as MCLR pullup (R18), probe CAL output series protection (R5), op-amp feedback loop components (R8, R11), and PGA output voltage divider networks (R14/R15 and R16/R17).
- Discrepancy note: The BOM spreadsheet (
components.html) lists "R5, R6, R11, R14, R15, R16, R17, R18". However, reference designator R6 does not exist anywhere on the PCB silkscreen, layout, or schematic. The assembly guide component list (page 6) and PCB placement diagram (page 7) correctly designate this component as R8 (the feedback resistor for Channel 1). Total quantity remains 8 pieces. - Substitution latitude: Standard commodity 0.25 W axial resistors.
- Control type: Fixed component; not a user control.
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: CF1/41KJRCT-ND (Stackpole CF14JT1K00)
9.1 kΩ Resistors, 0.25 W, 1%
- Reference designators: R7, R10
- Quantity: 2
- Package: Axial through-hole (approx. 7.5 mm to 10 mm pitch)
- Electrical constraints: 9.1 kΩ, 0.25 W, 1% tolerance (Panasonic metal film in BOM). Used in OP1 feedback and offset summing amplifier network. 1% tolerance required for channel gain accuracy.
- Substitution latitude: Any 9.1 kΩ 0.25 W metal film axial resistor with 1% or better tolerance.
- Control type: Fixed component; not a user control.
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: P9.10KCACT-ND (Panasonic ERA-6AEB912V or standard axial 9.1 kΩ 1% 1/4 W)
249 kΩ Resistors, 0.25 W, 1%
- Reference designators: R2, R4
- Quantity: 2
- Package: Axial through-hole (approx. 7.5 mm to 10 mm pitch)
- Electrical constraints: 249 kΩ, 0.25 W, 1% precision tolerance. Forms the lower branch of the 1:4 input attenuator. Precision tolerance is essential to ensure 1 MΩ nominal input impedance and accurate vertical voltage scaling.
- Substitution latitude: Any 249 kΩ 0.25 W metal film axial resistor with 1% or better tolerance.
- Control type: Fixed component; not a user control.
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: RNF1/4T1249KFRCT-ND (Stackpole RNF14FTD249K)
750 kΩ Resistors, 0.25 W, 5% (or 1%)
- Reference designators: R1, R3
- Quantity: 2
- Package: Axial through-hole (approx. 7.5 mm to 10 mm pitch)
- Electrical constraints: 750 kΩ, 0.25 W, 5% (or 1%) tolerance, working voltage ≥ 100 V. Forms the upper branch of the 1:4 input attenuator and sets input impedance with R2/R4.
- Substitution latitude: Any standard 750 kΩ 0.25 W axial through-hole resistor rated for ≥ 100 V.
- Control type: Fixed component; not a user control.
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: CF1/4750KJRCT-ND (Stackpole CF14JT750K)
500 kΩ Trimmer Potentiometers
- Reference designators: VR1, VR2
- Quantity: 2
- Package: 3-pin through-hole miniature square top-adjust trimmer (approx. 6 mm to 7 mm body, 0.1" lead pitch)
- Electrical constraints: 500 kΩ resistance, 0.25 W, linear taper. Used to trim hardware analog channel zero offset for CH1 and CH2.
- Substitution latitude: Any 500 kΩ top-adjust miniature single-turn or multi-turn trimmer potentiometer matching the board footprint.
- Control type: Set-once screwdriver adjustment trimmer (operated by the user during calibration, Step 26).
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: DJA55CT-ND (Nidec Copal RJ-6P504 or equivalent 500 kΩ top-adjust trimmer)
Capacitors
22 pF Ceramic Capacitors
- Reference designators: C5, C8
- Quantity: 2
- Package: Radial ceramic disc / multilayer through-hole, 2.54 mm (0.1") lead spacing
- Electrical constraints: 22 pF, rated ≥ 50 V, C0G/NP0 dielectric. Placed in OP1 feedback loops to maintain op-amp stability and frequency response.
- Discrepancy note: Omitted completely from the
components.htmlspreadsheet, but explicitly detailed in the assembly guide (Step 4, page 5; Step 5, page 6; Step 6, page 7) and schematic v1.3. - Substitution latitude: Any standard 22 pF 50 V C0G/NP0 ceramic capacitor with 2.54 mm lead pitch.
- Control type: Fixed component; not a user control.
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): K220J15C0GH53L2 (Vishay 22 pF 50 V C0G radial)
47 pF Ceramic Capacitors
- Reference designators: C6, C11
- Quantity: 2
- Package: Radial ceramic through-hole, 2.54 mm (0.1") lead spacing
- Electrical constraints: 47 pF, rated ≥ 50 V, C0G/NP0 dielectric. Marked "47". Used in input compensation network.
- Substitution latitude: Any 47 pF 50 V C0G/NP0 ceramic capacitor with 2.54 mm lead spacing.
- Control type: Fixed component; not a user control.
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: BC1009CT-ND (Vishay BC K470J15C0GF5TH5)
100 pF Ceramic Capacitors
- Reference designators: C14, C15
- Quantity: 2
- Package: Radial ceramic through-hole, 2.54 mm (0.1") lead spacing
- Electrical constraints: 100 pF, rated ≥ 50 V, C0G/NP0 dielectric. Marked "101". Used in input filter/attenuator network.
- Substitution latitude: Any 100 pF 50 V C0G/NP0 ceramic capacitor with 2.54 mm lead spacing.
- Control type: Fixed component; not a user control.
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: BC1013CT-ND (Vishay BC K101J15C0GF5TH5)
10 to 60 pF Trimmer Capacitors
- Reference designators: C18, C19
- Quantity: 2
- Package: 2-pin or 3-pin radial through-hole miniature trimmer capacitor (round green plastic body, approx. 6 mm diameter, top screwdriver slot)
- Electrical constraints: Capacitance range 10 pF to 60 pF (or 9.8 pF to 60 pF), rated voltage ≥ 50 V. Used for probe frequency compensation adjustment on CH1 and CH2.
- Substitution latitude: Any 10–60 pF miniature ceramic trimmer capacitor matching the board lead pitch.
- Control type: Set-once adjustment trimmer (adjusted with a non-metallic trimmer tool during probe calibration, Step 27).
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: 490-1955-ND (Murata TZC3P300A110 or equivalent 10–60 pF trimmer capacitor)
0.1 µF (100 nF) Ceramic Decoupling Capacitors
- Reference designators: C1, C2, C3, C4, C7, C10, C12, C13, C16, C17
- Quantity: 10
- Package: Radial ceramic through-hole, 2.54 mm (0.1") or 5.08 mm lead spacing
- Electrical constraints: 0.1 µF (100 nF), rated ≥ 25 V (50 V typical), X7R dielectric. Marked "104". Used for power supply rail decoupling across all ICs.
- Substitution latitude: Any standard 0.1 µF 50 V X7R multilayer ceramic through-hole capacitor.
- Control type: Fixed component; not a user control.
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: BC1160CT-ND (Vishay BC K104K15X7RF5TH5)
Aluminum Electrolytic Capacitor
- Reference designator: C9
- Quantity: 1
- Package: Radial leaded aluminum electrolytic (approx. 6.3 mm to 10 mm diameter, 2.5 mm or 5.0 mm lead spacing)
- Electrical constraints: Bulk filtering on the primary +5 V rail. Rated voltage ≥ 16 V (25 V typical).
- Discrepancy note: The BOM (
components.html) specifies 470 µF (DigiKey 493-1024-ND, Nichicon 470 µF 25 V). However, the assembly guide component list (Step 5, page 6) and Step 15 photograph (page 16) specify and show a 100 µF, 25 V capacitor. Either 100 µF or 470 µF is electrically acceptable as bulk rail decoupling. - Substitution latitude: Any standard polarized radial aluminum electrolytic capacitor from 100 µF to 470 µF rated for ≥ 16 V.
- Control type: Fixed component; not a user control.
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: 493-1024-ND (Nichicon UVR1E471MPD 470 µF 25 V) or distributor lookup (assembly guide specification): UVR1E101MDD (Nichicon 100 µF 25 V)
Sockets, Connectors, and Interconnects
28-Pin DIP IC Socket
- Quantity: 1
- Package: 28-pin DIP, 300 mil row spacing, through-hole
- Electrical constraints: Standard 0.1" (2.54 mm) pin pitch, contacts rated for 1 A / 5 V. Holds the dsPIC30F2020.
- Substitution latitude: Any 28-pin 300 mil open-frame or machine-tooled DIP socket.
- Control type: Hardware support; not a user control.
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: 3M5480-ND (3M 4828-6004-CP)
14-Pin DIP IC Socket
- Quantity: 1
- Package: 14-pin DIP, 300 mil row spacing, through-hole
- Electrical constraints: Standard 0.1" (2.54 mm) pin pitch. Holds OP1 (MCP6024).
- Substitution latitude: Any 14-pin 300 mil DIP socket.
- Control type: Hardware support; not a user control.
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: A100205-ND (TE Connectivity 1-390261-3)
8-Pin DIP IC Sockets
- Quantity: 3
- Package: 8-pin DIP, 300 mil row spacing, through-hole
- Electrical constraints: Standard 0.1" (2.54 mm) pin pitch. Holds PGA1, PGA2, and DAC1.
- Substitution latitude: Any standard 8-pin 300 mil DIP socket.
- Control type: Hardware support; not a user control.
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: 3M5473-ND (3M 4808-6004-CP)
Right-Angle BNC Connectors, PCB Mount
- Reference designators: J1, J2
- Quantity: 2
- Package: Female BNC right-angle through-hole PCB mount with ground retention legs and threaded front bulkhead shank (including front panel mounting washer and 14 mm nut).
- Electrical constraints: 50 Ω / 75 Ω impedance nominal, working voltage ≥ 250 V.
- Substitution latitude: Must match the PCB footprint (signal center pin, two chassis/ground board tabs, and front panel offset).
- Control type: Connector receptacle; not a user control.
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: WM5514-ND (Molex 0731000105 or Amphenol RF 31-5540)
6-Pin Right-Angle Male Header
- Reference designator: J_USB
- Quantity: 1
- Package: 1x6 single-row 0.100" (2.54 mm) pitch right-angle male pin header
- Electrical constraints: 5 V logic and power distribution (GND, CTS, VCC, RX, TX, DTR).
- Substitution latitude: Any standard 1x6 0.1" right-angle pin header.
- Control type: Interconnect header; not a user control.
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: 609-3461-ND (Amphenol FCI 68001-106HLF)
Calibration Output Header (JP_CAL / J_CAL)
- Reference designator: JP_CAL (labeled JP_CAL1 on PCB)
- Quantity: 1
- Package: 1x2 (or 1x3 snap-off) single-row 0.100" (2.54 mm) straight male pin header
- Electrical constraints: 5 V square-wave calibration signal and signal ground.
- Discrepancy note: The BOM spreadsheet (
components.html) specifies both "0.100" Male Headers, 3 pins (DigiKey 609-3461-ND)" and "Terminal turret for Cal & Gnd, qty 2 (DigiKey 1514-4K-ND)". The assembly guide (Step 14, page 15) uses a standard 2-pin 0.1" male header soldered directly into the two holes labeled CAL and GND. - Substitution latitude: Standard 0.1" breakaway pin header or turret terminal pins.
- Control type: Test interface; not a user control.
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: 1514-4K-ND (Keystone 1514-4 turret pin) or distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): Molex 0022284023 (2-pin 0.1" header)
2-Pin Shunt Shorting Block
- Quantity: 1
- Package: 0.100" (2.54 mm) female shorting jumper block / shunt
- Electrical constraints: Connects probe tip or signal pin to ground during offset nulling.
- Substitution latitude: Any standard 2.54 mm jumper shunt.
- Control type: Moveable test jumper; not an operated continuous control.
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: S9001-ND (Sullins SPC02SYAN)
Modules, Accessories, and Enclosure Hardware
FTDI USB-to-Serial UART Interface Board / Cable
- Reference designator: FT1 (module connecting to J_USB)
- Quantity: 1
- Package: 6-pin female/male socket/header breakout module or cable (FTDI TTL-232R-5V compatible pinout: GND, CTS, VCC, RX, TX, DTR).
- Electrical constraints: FTDI FT232RL (or compatible FT232R) USB-to-UART bridge, +5 V I/O levels, 500 mA bus-power rating. Operates at 500,000 baud (500 kbaud, 8, N, 1). Configured with vendor PID/VID 0403/6001 and programmed with unique fixed serial number "FTE0ZZ3K".
- Substitution latitude: Any FT232RL breakout board with standard 6-pin FTDI pinout, provided it supports 500 kbaud and EEPROM reprogramming via FTDI MProg/FT_PROG.
- Control type: Communication interface; not a user control.
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: 768-1029-ND (FTDI TTL-232R-5V) or retail shopping search: "FT232RL FTDI Basic breakout 5V 6-pin"
USB Data Cable (Type A Male to Mini-B Male)
- Quantity: 1
- Package: Standard USB 2.0 cable, Type A to Mini-B (5-pin)
- Electrical constraints: Must be a fully wired 4-conductor DATA cable (not charge-only), low conductor resistance to support 250 mA current draw without excessive voltage drop below 4.5 V.
- Substitution latitude: Any standard USB A to Mini-B data cable.
- Control type: External cable; not a user control.
- Sourcing plan: retail shopping search: "USB A to Mini-B data cable"
Oscilloscope Probes (CH1 and CH2)
- Quantity: 2
- Package: Standard 1:1 / 1:10 switchable passive oscilloscope probes with male BNC termination, ground leads, grabber clips, and compensation trimmers (or BNC-to-microhook cables).
- Electrical constraints: Bandwidth ≥ 20 MHz, input impedance 10 MΩ (in 1:10 mode) with adjustable compensation range covering 10–35 pF.
- Substitution latitude: Any standard passive oscilloscope probes with BNC connectors. The BOM lists Jameco part 11422 (BNC to microhook cables), but the user manual strongly recommends 1:1 / 1:10 switchable probes.
- Control type: External test leads; switchable 1:1/1:10 slider switch operated by user.
- Sourcing plan: retail shopping search: "100MHz 1:1 1:10 oscilloscope probe BNC pair" or distributor lookup (BOM entry): Jameco 11422
Enclosure (Plastic Project Case)
- Quantity: 1
- Package: Serpac A-21 Black ABS plastic enclosure with front and rear end panels
- Dimensions: Exterior approximately 4.25" L x 2.60" W x 1.20" H (108 mm x 66 mm x 30 mm)
- Electrical constraints: Non-conductive housing.
- Substitution latitude: Serpac A-21 black or almond. Required only if housing the bare board; the scope can operate as a bare board on rubber feet.
- Control type: Chassis housing; not a user control.
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: SRA21B-ND (Serpac A21, BK)
Rubber Feet / Standoffs
- Quantity: 4
- Package: Self-adhesive hemispherical or cylindrical rubber bumpers, 5 mm diameter
- Mechanical constraints: Placed at corners on the solder side of the bare PCB to prevent tabletop shorts.
- Substitution latitude: Any 5 mm to 10 mm adhesive rubber or silicone bumper feet.
- Control type: Mechanical support; not a user control.
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): SJ-5302 (3M SJ5302-ND) or retail shopping search: "5mm self-adhesive rubber bumper feet"
Nylon Cable Ties
- Quantity: 1
- Package: Standard miniature nylon zip tie (approx. 4" long)
- Electrical/Mechanical constraints: Used for internal cable strain relief.
- Substitution latitude: Any standard miniature zip tie.
- Control type: Hardware; not a user control.
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: 3M101C-ND
Hookup Wire, 22 AWG
- Quantity: 2 pieces (approx. 2 inches each)
- Package: 22 AWG insulated solid or stranded copper hookup wire
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (BOM entry): Jameco 36881
Printed Circuit Board
- Quantity: 1
- Package: Custom 2-layer rigid through-hole PCB, labeled "DPScope V1.4 Dec. 2014" (or V1.3). Dimensions approximately 100 mm x 50 mm.
- Sourcing note: Proprietary board produced by DPScope.com. No raw Gerber/ODB++ files or CAD layout sources were supplied in the project upload.
- Sourcing plan: general web research: "DPScope bare PCB or Gerber layout files"
Software and Network Dependencies
DPScope Host GUI Application
- Component name: DPScope PC Software
- Source: Downloaded from http://www.dpscope.com (Setup.exe installer distribution)
- Version: "1.4.6"
- Where the version came from: stated in documentation (
user_manual.pdfcover: "For DPScope Software Version 1.4.6 Dec. 26, 2012"). An earlier build is also noted as "Version 1.3.0 (Build 2010-06-03)". - Pinned status: Pinned by installer filename/executable on the vendor site; no package manager manifest exists.
- Manifest location: None (Windows binary setup distribution, unpacks and runs
Setup.exe). - System requirements: Microsoft Windows OS (tested on Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8, 10). Requires virtual COM port support and minimum screen display resolution of 800x600 pixels (auto-scales at 1024x768 or higher).
- Check plan: not checkable: proprietary Windows desktop binary with no public CVE/vulnerability database ecosystem.
dsPIC Microcontroller Firmware
- Component name: DPScope Firmware (burned into dsPIC30F2020)
- Source: Pre-flashed on kit MCU from DPScope.com; hex binary downloadable from http://www.dpscope.com
- Version: "V2.1"
- Where the version came from: stated in documentation (
user_manual.pdfpage 2, 23, 24, 25: "Starting with firmware version V2.1 the scope automatically measures the actual supply voltage..."). - Pinned status: Stated in documentation; no firmware source repository or commit hash provided.
- Manifest location: None (pre-flashed microcontroller binary).
- Check plan: not checkable: embedded vendor firmware binary for dsPIC DSC with no public advisory database.
FTDI Virtual COM Port (VCP) USB Driver
- Component name: FTDI VCP Driver
- Source: FTDI Chip website (http://www.ftdichip.com) or mirrored on http://www.dpscope.com
- Version: not stated
- Where the version came from: not stated (referenced generically as "The FTDI USB driver" in
assembly_guide.pdfStep 24, page 26). - Pinned status: Unpinned. Installs two sequential drivers (USB serial converter and virtual COM port).
- Manifest location: None (Windows INF / executable driver installer).
- Check plan: not checkable: unpinned vendor hardware device driver.
FTDI EEPROM Configuration Utility
- Component name: FTDI MProg (Multi Device EEPROM Programmer)
- Source: FTDI Chip website (http://www.ftdichip.com) or http://www.dpscope.com
- Version: not stated (MProg 3.5 or FT_PROG equivalent shown in screenshots in
assembly_guide.pdfpage 28). - Where the version came from: not stated.
- Configuration template:
DPScope.eptUSB configuration file. Required only if using an unconfigured third-party FT232R breakout board. Sets FTDI USB parameters:- USB VID/PID: 0403 / 6001 (FTDI Default)
- Device Type: FT232R
- USB Power Options: Bus Powered, Max Bus Power: 500 mA
- Fixed Serial Number: "FTE0ZZ3K" (mandatory; the host GUI verifies this exact serial string to detect the instrument)
- Manufacturer: "DPScope"
- Product Description: "DPScope"
- Check plan: not checkable: legacy vendor utility with unpinned version.
Network Exposure
- The DPScope is entirely a local USB-connected hardware device. It does not join any local area network, Wi-Fi, Ethernet, or Bluetooth network.
- Network interfaces: None.
- Listening ports and services: None. The device communicates strictly as a point-to-point serial link over a virtual COM port (RS-232 over USB) at 500,000 baud (500 kbaud, 8 data bits, no parity, 1 stop bit).
- Default credentials: None.
- Network instruction: The documentation does not instruct users to configure SSH, web servers, or network sockets.
Downloads and External URLs
- DPScope Official Website: http://www.dpscope.com (software installers, firmware binaries, MProg configuration files, and driver guides).
- Alternate / Mirror Project Site: http://dpscope.freevar.com (project overview and assembly notes).
- FTDI Chip Driver Downloads: http://www.ftdichip.com (FTDI VCP drivers and FT_PROG/MProg programming tools).
- Tektronix Reference Application Notes: http://www.tektronix.com ("The XYZs of Oscilloscopes" and "The ABCs of Probes", cited as introductory background in
user_manual.pdf). - Support Contact: support@dpscope.com
Fabrication and PCB Specifications
- Board Layer Count: 2 layers (double-sided FR4 with plated through-holes, solder mask, and top silkscreen).
- Dimensions: Approximately 100 mm x 50 mm (fits within Serpac A-21 enclosure interior footprint).
- Form Factor: Through-hole design throughout (DIP sockets, axial passives, radial capacitors, through-hole right-angle BNCs, and 0.1" headers). The single surface-mount component (FTDI FT232RL SSOP/TSSOP) is isolated on the detachable pre-assembled USB breakout daughterboard.
- Availability of Layout Files: No Gerber, ODB++, Eagle, KiCad, or CAD board files were provided in the release files. Sourcing a replacement PCB requires obtaining physical stock from DPScope.com or reverse-engineering Gerbers from the schematic and dimensioned board placement illustrations in the assembly manual.