Open Vehicle Monitoring System (OVMS) v3
This lab explores embedded automotive telemetry, vehicle diagnostics, and Internet of Things networking using the Open Vehicle Monitoring System (OVMS) v3 platform. Centered around an ESP32 microcontroller architecture paired with multi-band cellular and GNSS daughterboards, students deploy and configure a modular connected-vehicle gateway. Working with standard automotive OBD-II interfaces and DB9 connectors, students interface with vehicle Controller Area Network buses, calibrate resistive voltage divider circuits for 12 V auxiliary battery state-of-charge monitoring, and capture real-time diagnostic parameters. Through benchtop and in-vehicle exercises, students configure Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, and 4G LTE data links, stream diagnostic data and GPS coordinates over MQTT and WebSocket connections, and manage embedded firmware utilizing over-the-air updates and command-line interfaces.
Uploaded by demo on 2026-09-03 · ready · Electronics · Original source ↗
Files: README.md · userguide_components.rst · userguide_installation.rst · userguide_ota.rst
Readiness checks
-
complete 2026-09-04 00:04 🛡 Cybersecurity: Do not place on an open network · 4 findings 26 searches · 18 pagesview · PDF
Latest report — 2026-09-04 00:04
Readiness: Open Vehicle Monitoring System (OVMS) v3
Verdict: Ready with caveats · 2026-09-03 · est. parts cost £159.99–£195.99 ex VAT for a complete module, plus £9.94–£14.50 ex VAT for a vehicle cable and roughly $20–$45 for USD-priced accessories Cybersecurity — software & network: Do not place on an open network
This is the cold check for this lab — there is no previous report, so it establishes the baseline every future check will measure drift against. The lab is runnable today by the route instructors actually use: complete OVMS v3 modules, vehicle cables and antennas are in stock and priced at the project's European distributor, and every commodity accessory is plentiful at retail. Three caveats hold it back from a clean "Ready". Both legacy 3G modem options (SIM5360A and SIM5360E) are unobtainable from any authorized distributor and are functionally obsolete anyway, because the 2G/3G networks they depend on have been shut down — build only the 4G path. The North American distributor's website could not be reached during this check, so US availability and pricing are unverified. And board-level fabrication is not currently sourceable: the ESP32-WROVER variant the firmware mandates and the bare SIM7600G module have no authorized stock, so this lab must be bought assembled rather than built from the schematics.
Action required
| Part | Problem | Recommended action |
|---|---|---|
| SIMCom SIM5360A (v3.0–v3.2 US modem) | Obsolete — 0 products at DigiKey, and TrustedParts/ECIA reports no authorized distributor lists it. North American 3G networks are decommissioned, so the part is functionally dead even if found. | Build the v3.3 4G configuration instead. Buy the assembled OVMS 4G Modem (Upgrade) board, £69.81 ex VAT, in stock. |
| SIMCom SIM5360J / SIM5360E (v3.0–v3.2 EU modem) | Obsolete — 0 products at DigiKey, no authorized distributor per TrustedParts/ECIA. European 3G sunsets affect ongoing operation. | Same: use the 4G modem daughterboard. |
| SIMCom SIM7600G (bare module) | No exact match at DigiKey and no authorized distributor lists it. The only stocked SIM7600G parts are mini-PCIe card-edge modules — a footprint mismatch with the soldered daughterboard. | Do not source the bare module. Buy the assembled OVMS 4G Modem (Upgrade) daughterboard, £69.81 ex VAT. |
| Espressif ESP32-WROVER (16 MB flash + 4 MB PSRAM) | No stocked variant meets the mandated 16 MB flash + 4 MB PSRAM pairing. The one 16 MB-class exact match, ESP32-WROVER-IE-N16R8, has stock of 1. | Do not attempt to build a baseboard. Buy a complete module from Open Energy Monitor (£159.99–£195.99 ex VAT), where this part comes fitted. |
| Molex 105106-1001 (4FF nano SIM socket) | 0 products at DigiKey; no authorized distributor per TrustedParts/ECIA. No equivalent socket surfaced in evidence. | Only blocks self-fabrication — the socket is fitted on the purchased daughterboard. If fabricating, select a nano SIM socket against the daughterboard footprint and verify manually. |
| Kia Soul OBD2 OVMS Cable | Listed Out of stock at Open Energy Monitor. | If the target vehicle is a Kia Soul, order early or contact the distributor; other vehicle cables are in stock. |
| Documentation portal (docs.openvehicles.com/en/stable/) | Dead link — the page could not be downloaded this check. It is the snapshot's primary documentation reference. | Update lab handouts to point at docs.openvehicles.com/en/latest/, which is live. |
Cybersecurity — software & network
Do not place on an open network — The module carries documented default Wi-Fi and administrator credentials and exposes a network interface that can inject CAN frames into a real vehicle bus, so it must be isolated rather than placed on a shared network.
| Component | Version | How known | Support status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Espressif ESP-IDF (build framework) | 3.3.4 | inferred (Cited in the lab's own documentation (snapshot) as v3.3.4 / v3.3.4-854-g9063c8662c and v3.1-dev-453-g0f978bcb; the upload carries no Makefile, CMake manifest or sdkconfig, so no fetched file pins the toolchain.) | — |
| OVMS v3 firmware (ovms3.bin) | not determined | unpinned (Delivered over rolling OTA channels (main / eap / edge) that pull the latest build; documentation cites 3.1.003, 3.2.006, 3.3.005 and 3.3.006 across branches, but nothing pins what a given module runs.) | — |
| OVMS Home Assistant integration (ovms-home-assistant) | not determined | not determined (No release version appears in any fetched file; requirements.txt and hacs.json declare dependencies and a platform floor only.) | — |
| Home Assistant (platform for the integration) | 2025.2.5 | inferred (Minimum version only: 'homeassistant': '2025.2.5' in fetched/03-hacs.json and 'homeassistant >=2025.2.5' in fetched/01-requirements.txt. Both are floors, not pins; the version actually installed is not determined.) | — |
| paho-mqtt (MQTT client used by the Home Assistant integration) | not determined | unpinned (fetched/01-requirements.txt declares 'paho-mqtt >=1.6.1' - a range, not a pin.) | — |
| voluptuous | not determined | unpinned (fetched/01-requirements.txt declares 'voluptuous >=0.13.1' - a range, not a pin.) | — |
| pylint (development only) | not determined | unpinned (fetched/01-requirements.txt declares 'pylint >=2.17.0' - a range, not a pin.) | — |
| Open Vehicles Android app (com.openvehicles.OVMS) | not determined | not determined (No version stated in the lab's sources and no manifest was fetched.) | — |
| Open Vehicles iOS app (App Store ID 490098531) | not determined | not determined (No version stated in the lab's sources and no manifest was fetched.) | — |
| Open-Vehicle-Server (OVMS v2 protocol backend) | not determined | not determined (Perl project; the only manifest-like file found, fetched/04-SETUP, contains install prose and a documentation link, no dependency list.) | — |
| Component | Finding | Severity | Fix available? |
|---|---|---|---|
| OVMS Home Assistant integration (ovms-home-assistant) | Dependencies unpinned: 4 of 4 in requirements.txt (homeassistant, paho-mqtt, pylint, voluptuous are all declared as minimum-version ranges), so the integration installs whatever versions are current and none could be checked for known vulnerabilities. | posture | Mitigation only - pin versions / use a lockfile so the installed set is reproducible and checkable. |
| OVMS v3 firmware (ovms3.bin) | The module ships with published default credentials - Wi-Fi access point SSID 'OVMS' with password 'OVMSinit', and a web administrator account named 'admin' - so anyone who has read the manual can join the module's own Wi-Fi network and reach its web interface. | posture | Mitigation only - change the Wi-Fi AP password and set a strong admin password on every module during first setup, before it is connected to anything. |
| OVMS v3 firmware (ovms3.bin) | The module exposes several network services on whatever network it joins - a web server on TCP port 80, SSH, WebSocket streaming, and a TCP interface that can stream and inject CAN frames - and injected CAN frames reach the vehicle's real bus. | posture | Mitigation only - keep the module on an isolated lab network segment, never on general campus Wi-Fi or a routable internet address, and raise it with campus IT before any shared-network use. |
| OVMS v3 firmware (ovms3.bin) | Firmware is delivered over rolling OTA channels (main, eap, edge) that fetch whatever build is current, so two modules updated on different days can run different code and no version has a checkable security state. | posture | Mitigation only - target an explicit version path when updating (for example .../firmware/ota/v3.3-5/main/ovms3.bin) and record the firmware version used by each class set. |
What this means for your lab
Treat this module as an untrusted device on your network, because it is a bridge between a network and a car's control bus. Out of the box it runs its own Wi-Fi hotspot whose name and password are printed in the public manual ('OVMS' / 'OVMSinit'), and its web login is the account 'admin'. Anyone within Wi-Fi range who has read that manual can join it, open its web interface, and - because the module also accepts CAN frames over a network connection - potentially send commands onto the vehicle's bus, which on many cars means locking, unlocking, or waking the vehicle. Before you put one in front of students: change the Wi-Fi password and the admin password on every unit, keep the modules on their own isolated network rather than campus Wi-Fi, and talk to campus IT before connecting them to anything shared. Also be aware that nothing here could actually be scanned for known vulnerabilities this run - the firmware is a vendor binary with no published parts list, and the Home Assistant add-on installs unpinned versions - so a clean result would have been meaningless. The absence of reported flaws below is not evidence that there are none.
Not checked
- Espressif ESP-IDF 3.3.4: endoflife.date has no product entry for ESP-IDF (both 'esp-idf' and 'espressif-esp-idf' returned product_not_found), so no support status could be computed; the upload also carries no build manifest to verify the toolchain version.
- OVMS v3 firmware (ovms3.bin): Community-maintained vendor firmware binary distributed over rolling OTA channels; no software bill of materials was available and no vulnerability database covers it.
- homeassistant, paho-mqtt, voluptuous, pylint: Declared only as minimum-version ranges in requirements.txt, so no exact version existed to match against OSV advisories.
- Home Assistant platform support status: endoflife.date has no 'home-assistant' product, so supported/unsupported could not be computed.
- OVMS Home Assistant integration release version: No release version is pinned in any fetched file.
- Open Vehicles Android app: No version stated in the lab's sources; app-store binaries carry no fetchable manifest.
- Open Vehicles iOS app: No version stated in the lab's sources; app-store binaries carry no fetchable manifest.
- Open-Vehicle-Server (OVMS v2 backend): Perl codebase with no dependency manifest (no cpanfile, composer.json or requirements.txt found under v3/server); version not determined.
- esp-idf 3.3.4: support status: endoflife.date has no such product
- espressif-esp-idf 3.3.4: support status: endoflife.date has no such product
- home-assistant 2025.2.5: support status: endoflife.date has no such product
Parts
Core module and modem
| Part | Spec/Package | Status | Stock | Price | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Espressif ESP32-WROVER (16 MB flash, 4 MB PSRAM) | 38-SMD module, 3.0–3.6 V | Hard to obtain (bare module) | 1 (N16R8 variant) | $6.32 | DigiKey — no variant matches 16 MB + 4 MB; fitted on assembled modules |
| SIMCom SIM7600G (v3.3 World Edition modem) | SMT module on OVMS daughterboard, 3.4–4.2 V | Hard to obtain (bare module) | — | £69.81 ex VAT assembled | No authorized distributor for the bare module; sold assembled |
| SIMCom SIM5360A (v3.0–v3.2 US Edition modem) | SMT module on daughterboard, 3.4–4.2 V | Obsolete / discontinued | 0 | — | DigiKey 0 results; no ECIA distributor |
| SIMCom SIM5360J / SIM5360E (v3.0–v3.2 EU Edition modem) | SMT module on daughterboard, 3.4–4.2 V | Obsolete / discontinued | 0 | — | DigiKey 0 results; no ECIA distributor |
| Complete OVMS v3 module (WiFi/4G, SIM and antenna included) | Assembled unit in enclosure | Readily available | Available | £195.99 ex VAT | Open Energy Monitor |
| Complete OVMS v3 module (WiFi only) | Assembled unit in enclosure | Readily available | Available | £159.99 ex VAT | Open Energy Monitor |
SIM and sockets
| Part | Spec/Package | Status | Stock | Price | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hologram.io Global IoT Nano SIM | 4FF nano SIM, 1.8 V / 3.0 V | Readily available | Available | $3.00 per SIM | hologram.io — plus $1/month per SIM and $0.03/MB |
| 4FF nano SIM socket (rep. Molex 105106-1001) | SMT nano SIM socket | not checked | — | — | No DigiKey match, no ECIA distributor |
Connectors
| Part | Spec/Package | Status | Stock | Price | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amphenol ICC (FCI) 10118194-0001LF | Micro-USB Type-B SMT receptacle, 5 V, ≥ 500 mA | Readily available | 83,298 | $0.50 | DigiKey |
| Molex 0473092651 | MicroSD push-push SMT socket, 3.3 V | Readily available | 687 | $2.11 | DigiKey |
| NorComp 172-E09-203R001 | DB9 right-angle through-hole (VEHICLE) | Readily available | 3,874 | $3.79 | DigiKey |
| NorComp 180-026-203L001 | DA26/DB26HD 3-row right-angle (DIAG) | Readily available | 2,639 | $6.41 | DigiKey |
| Amphenol RF 132134 — GSM antenna connector | SMA female, through hole, 50 Ω, 18 GHz max | Readily available | 18,585 | $6.97 | DigiKey (also Mouser 16,338 @ $6.97; Powell 11,058 @ $6.08) |
| Amphenol RF 132134 — GPS antenna connector | SMA female, through hole, 50 Ω, passes 3.0–3.3 V bias | Readily available | 18,585 | $6.97 | DigiKey — same part, two required per module |
| Internal daughterboard stacking expansion header | Multi-pin stacking header, 0.1 in or 2.0 mm pitch | not checked | — | — | Pin count ≥ 21 confirmed from EGPIO docs; pitch and stacking height published only in schematic PDFs |
Board hardware and enclosure
| Part | Spec/Package | Status | Stock | Price | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lite-On LTST-C190TBKT | Blue SMD 0603 LED, 2.8–3.2 V Vf | Readily available | 413,507 | $0.26 | DigiKey |
| Keystone Electronics 24410 (daughterboard standoffs) | M2/M2.5 threaded standoff | Readily available | 603 (DigiKey), 43 (Mouser) | $0.62 | TrustedParts/ECIA — ECIA lifecycle risk Low-Med, supply risk Low |
| Main enclosure (custom injection-moulded) | Two-piece clamshell, ~99 × 73 × 29 mm | Available bundled only | Available | £159.99–£195.99 ex VAT | Not sold separately; included with complete modules |
| Enclosure screws (rep. McMaster-Carr 99461A510) | Small thread-forming screws for plastic, ×4 | not checked | — | — | McMaster-Carr sells direct and is not an ECIA distributor |
Antennas, cables and media
| Part | Spec/Package | Status | Stock | Price | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| External cellular GSM/LTE antenna | SMA male, 50 Ω, 700–2600 MHz | Readily available | Multiple sellers | $5.90–$16.99 | Google Shopping — adhesive/patch mount automotive antennas |
| External active GNSS/GPS antenna | SMA male, 50 Ω, 1575.42 MHz, 3.0–5.0 V bias | Readily available | Available | £5.95 ex VAT | Open Energy Monitor "OVMS GPS Antenna" |
| Vehicle interface cable (OBD-II to DB9) | Molded cable assembly, vehicle-specific pinout | Readily available | Available (Kia Soul variant out of stock) | £9.94–£14.50 ex VAT | Open Energy Monitor — generic, Tesla, Nissan LEAF and HUD variants |
| Micro-USB PC interface cable | USB 2.0 A to Micro-B, data-capable | Readily available | Multiple sellers | $1.95–$10.91 | Google Shopping |
| MicroSD memory card (≤ 32 GB, FAT32) | MicroSD, 3.3 V, class 10 | Readily available | Multiple sellers | $4.77–$17.99 | Google Shopping — optional part |
Bench equipment
| Part | Spec/Package | Status | Stock | Price | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bench 12 V DC supply (≥ 1.5 A) | 12 V nominal, bare wire leads to OBD pins 16/4 | Readily available | Multiple sellers | $5.95–$10.95 | Google Shopping — a 12 V/5 V bare-lead unit is listed at $10.95 |
Populated on the baseboard
| Part | Spec/Package | Status | Stock | Price | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 12 V battery sensing divider resistors | SMD 0603/0805 precision divider | not checked | — | — | Values and designators published only in the schematic PDF |
| CAN bus transceivers (×3) | SOIC-8 3.3 V ISO 11898-2 | not checked | — | — | SN65-family and MCP2515 controller corroborated; exact MPN in schematic PDF only |
Optional add-ons
| Part | Spec/Package | Status | Stock | Price | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OVMS prototyping PCB kit (pack of 3) | Custom PCB matching OVMS internal outline | Hard to obtain | — | — | No retail listing found; ECAD files in the project repository |
| Marko Juhanne OVMS-SWCAN daughterboard | SWCAN/GMLAN board, MCP2515 + TH8056 | Hard to obtain | — | — | Project repository — Gerbers and BOM published, no commercial seller |
Substitutes
| For part | Substitute | Differences | Verified | Judgment |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ESP32-WROVER (16 MB flash + 4 MB PSRAM) | ESP32-WROVER-IE-N16R8 — $6.32, stock 1 | Same 38-SMD module package, same surface-mount type, same 3.0–3.6 V supply range. If the suffix means what it appears to, 16 MB flash satisfies the partition table and 8 MB PSRAM exceeds the 4 MB requirement — exceeding a requirement is acceptable. Stock of 1 unit. | verified: package/case, mounting type and supply-voltage range (DigiKey parametrics on both). not verified: flash size, PSRAM size — no evidence states them, the reading is a suffix gloss only; firmware behaviour with 8 MB PSRAM also unverified | Electrically and mechanically equivalent, but the capacity claim is unproven and stock of 1 makes it unusable for a class. Buy assembled modules instead. |
| SIMCom SIM7600G (bare module) | OVMS 4G Modem (Upgrade) daughterboard — £69.81 ex VAT, in stock | Assembled board rather than a bare module. Product page states it requires an OVMS main board v3.1, v3.2 or v3.3, and lists LTE-FDD B1–B66, LTE-TDD B34–B41, UMTS B1–B19, GSM 850/900/1800/1900 and GPS/GNSS — consistent with the snapshot's multi-band plus embedded GNSS description. Sold as a hobbyist kit with no FCC certification on the assembled module. | verified: OVMS v3.1/v3.2/v3.3 board compatibility, band coverage, in-stock status and price (fetched product page). not verified: that the fitted chipset is specifically SIM7600G — the page names only "the SIMCOM modem" | Acceptable — this is how the modem is meant to be bought, and it is the only in-stock route to a working 4G build. |
| SIMCom SIM5360A / SIM5360E (3G modems) | OVMS 4G Modem (Upgrade) daughterboard — £69.81 ex VAT, in stock | A modem-edition change, not a drop-in: different chipset and firmware driver. The snapshot allows it as the v3.3 configuration, and it is the only option that will register on a live network now that 2G/3G has been retired. | verified: unavailability of both 3G parts at authorized distribution (DigiKey plus ECIA/TrustedParts); 4G board compatibility and stock (fetched product page). not verified: nothing is claimed about pin compatibility between the SIM5360 boards and the 4G board | Acceptable, and effectively mandatory — the 3G parts cannot be sourced and the networks they need no longer exist. |
Verify any substitute against its datasheet and against your own board revision before ordering.
Other dependencies
- Hardware schematics and PCB repository (github.com/openvehicles/Open-Vehicle-Monitoring-System-3/tree/master/vehicle/hardware) — reachable. The v3.3 directory holds
Mainboard_SCH_v3.3_20211213.pdf,Mainboard_PCB_top/bottom_v3.3_20211213.pdfand the matchingModem_*files. The PDF contents were not parsed this run. - Stable documentation portal (https://docs.openvehicles.com/en/stable/) — dead: the page could not be downloaded. This is the snapshot's primary documentation link and needs replacing in any handout.
- Edge/latest documentation portal (https://docs.openvehicles.com/en/latest/) — live; the EGPIO and user-guide pages were fetched successfully.
- Distributor directory (https://www.openvehicles.com/buy) — live. Names exactly two distributors: Open Energy Monitor for Europe and Medlock and Sons for North America.
- Medlock and Sons product page (North America) — not checked: the page could not be downloaded, so US pricing and availability are unverified.
- Hologram SIM dashboard and pricing (hologram.io) — live; pricing recorded above.
- Single-Wire CAN extension repository (github.com/mjuhanne/OVMS-SWCAN) — live. Publishes Gerbers and
ovms-swcan-BOM.csv; no commercial seller, and the repository is dormant. - PCB fabrication constraints — the board must fit the ~99 × 73 × 29 mm enclosure with cutouts for DB9, DA26, micro-USB, microSD and dual SMA, with 4 corner screw holes plus 4 internal pillar posts. Layer count and stackup are not specified in any available source — not checked.
- Developer guide (Google Doc), developer mailing list, and the public servers at openvehicles.com and dexters-web.de — not checked this run.
Watch list
- The 3G modem daughterboards (SIM5360A/E) — already unobtainable and network-obsolete. Expect any remaining v3.0–v3.2 hardware in a lab store cupboard to stop connecting entirely; plan the 4G migration now rather than at the next check.
- ESP32-WROVER-IE-N16R8 at stock 1 — the only 16 MB-class exact match will almost certainly be gone by the next check. If anyone is planning board fabrication, that plan needs to change.
- ESP32-WROVER-IE-N8R2 is already "Not For New Designs" with 49 units left — a signal that the whole WROVER-IE line is winding down. Watch for the rest of the family following it.
- Single-source distribution — the entire assembled-module supply runs through two small distributors, and one of them could not be reached this check. A single shop outage takes the lab's main component with it.
- The Kia Soul OBD2 cable is already out of stock, and vehicle-specific cables have no second source. Check the cable for your target vehicle well before the term starts.
- Ordering by keyword rather than part number — DigiKey's top hit for "132134" is the reverse-polarity
132134RP, which will not mate with a standard SMA antenna, and a search for "24410" surfaces Mill-Max DIP sockets rather than the Keystone standoff. Order both by exact manufacturer part number.
Snapshot What the lab depended on when it was uploaded — the baseline the readiness checks research against.
The Open Vehicle Monitoring System (OVMS) v3 is an open-source automotive telemetry, diagnostic, and remote-control platform that interfaces with electric vehicles and standard automobiles via their OBD-II ports. The hardware consists of a base motherboard built around an Espressif ESP32-WROVER system-on-chip module, paired with a swappable cellular and GNSS modem daughterboard (SIM5360 series for 2G/3G or SIM7600G for 4G LTE). Electrically, the base module operates from the vehicle nominal 12 V DC power system (typically 11.0 V to 14.5 V lead-acid or DC-DC auxiliary bus) supplied via a DB9 connector. An onboard ADC divider network continuously samples this 12 V rail for state-of-charge tracking and low-voltage shutdown alerts. Onboard digital electronics and the ESP32 operate on 3.3 V logic rails generated locally. For desk configuration, the system can be powered from a 5 V Micro-USB port (drawing ~500 mA), though cellular transmissions using the SIM7600G LTE modem require an external 12 V supply (or 3S LiPo battery) due to peak cellular transmission current spikes exceeding USB limits.
Bill of Materials
Microcontroller / Wireless SoC Module
- Identity: Espressif Systems ESP32-WROVER (dual-core Xtensa 32-bit LX6, 160/240 MHz, 16 MB SPI flash, 4 MB SPI PSRAM, 520 KB SRAM; integrated Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g/n and Bluetooth v4.2 BR/EDR and BLE)
- Quantity: 1
- Footprint/package: Surface-mount module with castellated/pad edge contacts (ESP32-WROVER SMD module)
- Electrical constraints: Supply voltage 3.0 V to 3.6 V (operates at 3.3 V rail); peak transient current up to 500 mA during RF transmission
- Substitution latitude: Must be an ESP32-WROVER variant equipped with 16 MB flash and 4 MB PSRAM. The firmware partition table explicitly mandates 16 MB flash (partitioned into 4 MB or 7 MB dual OTA partitions plus /store), and firmware memory allocation requires external 4 MB PSRAM. Standard ESP-WROOM-32 modules or variants with smaller flash (4 MB or 8 MB) will cause flash partition errors (e.g., ESP32 error #260) and runtime memory exhaustion.
- Operated control: No
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: ESP32-WROVER-IE
Cellular and GNSS Modem Module (v3.3 World Edition)
- Identity: SIMCom Wireless Solutions SIM7600G (Multi-band LTE-FDD, LTE-TDD, HSPA+, GSM/GPRS/EDGE, and embedded GNSS receiver)
- Quantity: 1 (standard modem for v3.3 hardware)
- Footprint/package: SMT module mounted on dedicated OVMS v3.3 daughterboard
- Electrical constraints: Operating voltage 3.4 V to 4.2 V (typically powered from 3.8 V switching regulator rail derived from 12 V input); peak current demand up to 2.0 A during LTE burst transmission
- Substitution latitude: Must be SIMCom SIM7600G or a pin-compatible daughterboard module supported by the OVMS v3 modem AT-command driver. Generic LTE modems from other manufacturers cannot be substituted without firmware driver rewrites.
- Operated control: No
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: SIM7600G
Cellular and GNSS Modem Module (v3.0–v3.2 US Edition)
- Identity: SIMCom Wireless Solutions SIM5360A (Dual-Band UMTS/HSPA+ 850/1900 MHz, Quad-Band GSM/GPRS/EDGE 850/900/1800/1900 MHz, and embedded GNSS)
- Quantity: 1 (alternative legacy modem option)
- Footprint/package: SMT module mounted on OVMS v3.0–v3.2 daughterboard
- Electrical constraints: 3.4 V to 4.2 V supply rail; burst currents up to 2 A
- Substitution latitude: Must be SIM5360A. Note that 3G networks in North America have been largely decommissioned; valid primarily for legacy testing.
- Operated control: No
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: SIM5360A
Cellular and GNSS Modem Module (v3.0–v3.2 EU Edition)
- Identity: SIMCom Wireless Solutions SIM5360J or SIM5360E (Dual-Band UMTS/HSPA+ 900/2100 MHz, Quad-Band GSM/GPRS/EDGE 850/900/1800/1900 MHz, and embedded GNSS)
- Quantity: 1 (alternative legacy modem option)
- Footprint/package: SMT module mounted on OVMS v3.0–v3.2 daughterboard
- Electrical constraints: 3.4 V to 4.2 V supply rail; burst currents up to 2 A
- Substitution latitude: Must be SIM5360J/E. Note regional European 3G sunsets affect ongoing operation.
- Operated control: No
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: SIM5360E
IoT Cellular SIM Card
- Identity: Hologram.io Global IoT Nano SIM card (4FF format)
- Quantity: 1
- Footprint/package: 4FF Nano SIM card (12.3 × 8.8 × 0.67 mm)
- Electrical constraints: 1.8 V / 3.0 V SIM interface
- Substitution latitude: Any standard 4FF Nano SIM card from any carrier providing active 2G/3G/4G cellular data service can be substituted. Larger Mini/Micro SIMs must not be hand-cut due to risk of damaging socket pins.
- Operated control: No
- Sourcing plan: retail shopping search: Hologram IoT Nano SIM card
SIM Card Socket
- Identity: 4FF Nano SIM push-push or push-pull socket (mounted on modem daughterboard)
- Quantity: 1
- Footprint/package: SMT Nano SIM socket
- Electrical constraints: Standard 6-pin/8-pin SIM interface at 1.8 V / 3.0 V
- Substitution latitude: Any surface-mount 4FF Nano SIM socket matching the daughterboard PCB footprint.
- Operated control: No
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): Molex 105106-1001
USB Diagnostic and Flashing Port
- Identity: Micro-USB Type-B female receptacle (unreinforced PCB surface mount)
- Quantity: 1
- Footprint/package: Standard Micro-USB Type-B SMT receptacle
- Electrical constraints: 5 V DC nominal (VBUS), rated for ≥ 500 mA, USB 2.0 full-speed data lines
- Substitution latitude: Any Micro-USB Type-B receptacle matching the PCB pad footprint. Documentation explicitly warns that this port lacks mechanical reinforcement and is prone to tearing off pads without strain relief (hot glue or case support).
- Operated control: No
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): Amphenol FCi 10118194-0001LF
MicroSD Card Slot
- Identity: MicroSD (TransFlash) memory card receptacle
- Quantity: 1
- Footprint/package: SMT push-push or push-pull MicroSD card socket
- Electrical constraints: 3.3 V power and logic levels; SPI / SDIO bus signaling
- Substitution latitude: Any MicroSD socket conforming to the PCB footprint.
- Operated control: No
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): Molex 0473092651
Vehicle Interface Connector (DB9)
- Identity: DB9 (D-Sub 9-pin) right-angle PCB connector labeled VEHICLE
- Quantity: 1
- Footprint/package: Through-hole right-angle DB9 connector
- Electrical constraints: Carries vehicle battery +12 V nominal (up to 16 V automotive transients), chassis ground, and high-speed CAN bus differential lines (CANH/CANL)
- Substitution latitude: Any right-angle DB9 connector with identical pin pitch, pin offset, and panel screw-lock threading compatible with enclosure opening.
- Operated control: No
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): NorComp 172-E09-203R001
Expansion Diagnostic Interface Connector (DA26 / DB26)
- Identity: 26-pin high-density D-sub (DA26/DB26HD) 3-row right-angle PCB connector labeled DIAG
- Quantity: 1
- Footprint/package: High-density 3-row 26-pin right-angle D-sub PCB mount
- Electrical constraints: Breaks out 3x CAN buses, 8x extended GPIOs, 2x direct GPIOs, ground, and extension lines
- Substitution latitude: Must physically match the 26-pin high-density footprint and case opening cutout.
- Operated control: No
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): NorComp 180-026-203L001
Internal Daughterboard Stacking Expansion Header
- Identity: Multi-pin internal board-to-board expansion header and socket
- Quantity: 1 set
- Footprint/package: Multi-pin stacking header (0.1 inch or 2.0 mm pitch)
- Electrical constraints: Interconnects power rails (12 V, 3.8 V, 3.3 V, GND), UART, USB lines, and GPIOs between baseboard and modem/prototyping daughterboards
- Substitution latitude: Must match baseboard and daughterboard pin count, grid pitch, and stacking height.
- Operated control: No
- Sourcing plan: general web research: What is the exact pin count, pitch, and stacking height of the OVMS v3 internal daughterboard expansion header?
Cellular RF Antenna Connector (GSM)
- Identity: SMA female coaxial connector (labeled GSM)
- Quantity: 1
- Footprint/package: PCB edge-mount or right-angle through-hole SMA female connector
- Electrical constraints: 50 Ω RF characteristic impedance, rated DC to ≥ 3 GHz
- Substitution latitude: Standard 50 Ω SMA female connector matching PCB board thickness and enclosure cutout.
- Operated control: No
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): Amphenol RF 132134
GNSS RF Antenna Connector (GPS)
- Identity: SMA female coaxial connector (labeled GPS)
- Quantity: 1
- Footprint/package: PCB edge-mount or right-angle through-hole SMA female connector
- Electrical constraints: 50 Ω RF characteristic impedance; provides DC phantom bias voltage (typically 3.0 V to 3.3 V) to power active GNSS antenna LNA
- Substitution latitude: Standard 50 Ω SMA female connector matching PCB edge and enclosure opening.
- Operated control: No
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): Amphenol RF 132134
Modem Network Status Indicator LED
- Identity: Blue surface-mount LED (mounted on cellular modem daughterboard)
- Quantity: 1
- Footprint/package: SMD 0603 or 0805
- Electrical constraints: Typical forward voltage 2.8 V to 3.2 V, nominal forward current 5 mA to 20 mA, driven by modem GPIO
- Substitution latitude: Any blue SMD indicator LED in matching package.
- Operated control: No
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): Lite-On LTST-C190TBKT
Main Enclosure
- Identity: OVMS v3 custom black injection-molded plastic enclosure (~99 × 73 × 29 mm excluding plugs)
- Quantity: 1
- Footprint/package: Two-piece clamshell enclosure secured with four screws; custom cutouts for DB9, DA26, Micro-USB, MicroSD, and dual SMA connectors; non-waterproof
- Electrical constraints: Non-conductive plastic; automotive cabin temperature rating (-40 °C to +85 °C)
- Substitution latitude: Custom molded component. Alternatives require 3D printing an enclosure from published mechanical models or purchasing from official OVMS distributors (Medlock & Sons, OpenEnergyMonitor, smart-emotion).
- Operated control: No
- Sourcing plan: retail shopping search: OVMS v3 injection-molded plastic enclosure case
Enclosure Screws
- Identity: Small assembly screws for plastic enclosure
- Quantity: 4
- Footprint/package: Small Phillips or Torx self-tapping / thread-forming screws for plastic
- Electrical constraints: Mechanical fastening only
- Substitution latitude: Any small plastic thread-forming screws of matching thread size and length that secure the clamshell without stripping.
- Operated control: No
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): McMaster-Carr 99461A510
Internal Expansion Daughterboard Mounting Pillars
- Identity: Threaded pillar posts / standoffs with matching screws for daughterboard retention
- Quantity: 4 standoffs with 4 matching screws
- Footprint/package: Hex or round threaded standoffs (M2 or M2.5) matching internal board-to-board spacing
- Electrical constraints: Mechanical standoff; provides ground bonding between boards if pads are exposed
- Substitution latitude: Must match the standoff height dictated by the internal expansion stacking header.
- Operated control: No
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): Keystone Electronics 24410
External Cellular (GSM/LTE) Antenna
- Identity: External wideband cellular antenna with SMA male connector
- Quantity: 1
- Footprint/package: External adhesive patch or blade/puck antenna with flexible coaxial cable terminated in SMA male plug
- Electrical constraints: 50 Ω impedance; frequency coverage matching regional 2G, 3G, and 4G LTE bands (700/850/900/1800/1900/2100/2600 MHz)
- Substitution latitude: Any standard wideband automotive cellular antenna with SMA male termination.
- Operated control: No
- Sourcing plan: retail shopping search: automotive cellular GSM LTE antenna SMA male
External GNSS (GPS) Active Antenna
- Identity: External active GPS/GNSS antenna with SMA male connector
- Quantity: 1 (required for vehicles where GPS is not read from vehicle CAN)
- Footprint/package: External magnetic or adhesive mount puck antenna with coaxial cable terminated in SMA male plug
- Electrical constraints: 50 Ω impedance; 1575.42 MHz (L1 band); active LNA powered via 3.0 V to 5.0 V DC bias over coax
- Substitution latitude: Any standard automotive active GPS antenna with SMA male connector.
- Operated control: No
- Sourcing plan: retail shopping search: active GPS antenna SMA male automotive
Vehicle Interface Cable (OBD-II to DB9)
- Identity: Vehicle connection cable with standard OBD-II (J1962) male plug on one end and DB9 female connector on the other
- Quantity: 1
- Footprint/package: Molded cable assembly
- Electrical constraints: Supplies +12 V nominal (OBD Pin 16) and ground (OBD Pin 4) to DB9, and routes vehicle CAN differential lines (OBD Pins 6/14) to module CAN1
- Substitution latitude: Must match vehicle make/model pinout. Some vehicles (e.g. Nissan Leaf, Renault Twizy, Tesla Model S) use specialized wiring harnesses rather than standard OBD-II pinout.
- Operated control: No
- Sourcing plan: retail shopping search: OVMS OBD-II to DB9 vehicle cable
Micro-USB PC Interface Cable
- Identity: Standard USB 2.0 Type-A to Micro-USB Type-B cable
- Quantity: 1
- Footprint/package: Molded USB cable assembly
- Electrical constraints: 5 V power conductors rated for ≥ 500 mA; shielded differential D+/D- data lines
- Substitution latitude: Any standard Micro-USB data cable (charge-only cables lack data wires and cannot be used for flashing or console access).
- Operated control: No
- Sourcing plan: retail shopping search: Micro-USB data cable 3ft
MicroSD Memory Card
- Identity: MicroSD (TransFlash) memory card, capacity 1 GB to 32 GB, formatted as FAT/FAT32
- Quantity: 1 (optional, for local firmware updates via ovms3.bin and data logging)
- Footprint/package: MicroSD card form factor
- Electrical constraints: 3.3 V operating voltage; FAT or FAT32 file system format
- Substitution latitude: Any standard MicroSD card (≤ 32 GB recommended for native FAT32 compatibility).
- Operated control: No
- Sourcing plan: retail shopping search: 16GB MicroSD card class 10
12V Battery Voltage Sensing Divider Circuit
- Identity: Precision resistive voltage divider on vehicle 12 V input rail feeding ESP32 ADC
- Quantity: 1 circuit (discrete resistors)
- Footprint/package: Surface-mount discrete resistors (0603 or 0805 on baseboard PCB)
- Electrical constraints: Scales nominal 12 V (and transients up to ~16 V) down to the ESP32 ADC input range (≤ 3.3 V). Governed in firmware by default calibration multiplier factor12v = 195.7 (configured via system.adc factor12v).
- Substitution latitude: Populated on baseboard; software allows user recalibration via config set system.adc factor12v.
- Operated control: No
- Sourcing plan: general web research: What are the exact resistor values and schematic designators for the OVMS v3 12V ADC sensing divider?
Integrated CAN Bus Transceivers
- Identity: 3.3 V High-Speed CAN Transceiver ICs (e.g., SN65HVD230 or equivalent ISO 11898-2 transceivers)
- Quantity: 3 (for onboard CAN1, CAN2, and CAN3 buses)
- Footprint/package: SOIC-8 or equivalent SMT footprint
- Electrical constraints: Operates from 3.3 V supply rail; ISO 11898-2 compliant up to 1 Mbps; differential CANH/CANL lines protected against automotive transients
- Substitution latitude: Must be electrically compatible with the ESP32 CAN/TWAI controller and external SPI CAN controllers populated on baseboard.
- Operated control: No
- Sourcing plan: general web research: What exact CAN transceiver IC part numbers are populated on the OVMS v3 baseboard?
Bench External 12V Power Source (Desk Configuration Equipment)
- Identity: Regulated 12 V DC power supply (≥ 1.5 A) or 3S RC LiPo battery pack (~11.1 V to 12.6 V)
- Quantity: 1 (required for desk operation when using SIM7600G LTE modem)
- Footprint/package: External bench equipment with leads connecting to OBD Pin 16 (+12V) and Pin 4 (GND)
- Electrical constraints: 12 V DC nominal, capable of supplying ≥ 1.5 A peak current during cellular modem network registration bursts
- Substitution latitude: Any clean 12 V DC power source capable of delivering 1.5 A to 2.0 A peak pulses.
- Operated control: No
- Sourcing plan: retail shopping search: 12V 2A DC power supply adapter bare wire leads
OVMS-Tailored Prototyping PCB Kit (Optional Add-on)
- Identity: Custom OVMS expansion prototyping PCB kit (pack of 3 PCBs with stacking headers and mounting hardware)
- Quantity: 1 kit (optional accessory)
- Footprint/package: Custom PCB matching OVMS v3 internal outline, mounting standoff holes, and expansion header
- Electrical constraints: Passive perfboard prototyping grid with power and signal breakout
- Substitution latitude: Required only for developers building custom add-on boards.
- Operated control: No
- Sourcing plan: retail shopping search: OVMS v3 prototyping PCB kit
Single-Wire CAN (SWCAN) Daughterboard (Optional Add-on)
- Identity: Marko Juhanne OVMS-SWCAN daughterboard module
- Quantity: 1 (optional accessory for 4th CAN bus)
- Footprint/package: Daughterboard matching internal expansion headers and pillar posts
- Electrical constraints: GMLAN / Single-Wire CAN physical layer transceiver interface
- Substitution latitude: Required only for vehicles utilizing SWCAN protocols on a fourth CAN channel.
- Operated control: No
- Sourcing plan: general web research: Where can the Marko Juhanne OVMS-SWCAN expansion board be sourced or fabricated?
Software and network dependencies
Espressif IoT Development Framework (ESP-IDF)
- Name: Espressif ESP-IDF
- Source: GitHub repository: https://github.com/espressif/esp-idf
- Version: Stated in documentation across multiple build references: v3.1-dev (specifically commit build idf v3.1-dev-453-g0f978bcb), v3.3.4, and v3.3.4-854-g9063c8662c
- Where the version came from: stated in documentation
- Version pinning: Build commits are noted in documentation runtime output, but the upload lacks Makefile/CMake build manifests or sdkconfig files to verify compiler lockfiles.
- Manifest location: Not stated in the sources (build manifests reside in the external repository build tree).
- Network exposure: Development toolchain / framework; not directly network exposed.
- Check plan: support-status lookup: Espressif ESP-IDF v3.3.4
OVMS v3 Firmware Image
- Name: Open Vehicle Monitoring System v3 Firmware (binary filename: ovms3.bin)
- Source: Official firmware update repository at https://api.openvehicles.com/firmware/ota/ and source code repository at https://github.com/openvehicles/Open-Vehicle-Monitoring-System-3
- Version: Stated in documentation across release branches: 3.1.003, 3.2.006, 3.3.005 (specifically 3.3.005-925-g3e67d4e6d-dirty, 3.3.005-922-g1a3378f1b, and 3.3.005-928-g7f8b5d676), and 3.3.006. Released along three OTA channels: main (stable release, 1–2 per year), eap (Early Access Program beta), and edge (daily/nightly builds).
- Where the version came from: stated in documentation
- Version pinning: Releases are distributed via rolling OTA tags (main, eap, edge) which pull unpinned floating latest builds unless an explicit version binary path is targeted (e.g., .../firmware/ota/v3.3-5/main/ovms3.bin). Releases up to 3.3.005 use a 4 MB OTA partition layout; releases beginning with 3.3.006 mandate an upgraded 7 MB partition layout.
- Manifest location: Flash partition table at offset 0x8000 (documented in userguide_ota.rst).
- Network exposure:
- Wi-Fi AP Mode: Operates an 802.11 b/g/n Access Point. Default SSID is OVMS, default IP address is 192.168.4.1, allocating client DHCP addresses in 192.168.4.x (cited in userguide_installation.rst).
- Wi-Fi Client Mode: Connects to pre-configured 802.11 b/g/n WLAN SSIDs.
- Cellular Connectivity: 2G/3G/4G packet data interface via modem PPP/MUX link.
- Bluetooth: Bluetooth v4.2 BR/EDR and BLE.
- Embedded Web Server: Listens on TCP port 80 (http://192.168.4.1/), serving the web user interface and setup wizard.
- SSH Server: Documentation explicitly states "The module provides SSH access" (standard TCP port 22 implied; port number not explicitly stated).
- WebSocket Streaming: Module provides WebSocket streaming endpoints (typically HTTP/WS port 80).
- TCP CAN Streaming: Module can "stream and inject CAN frames via TCP" (listening port numbers not stated in sources).
- Outbound Telemetry (OVMS Server v2): Outbound binary stream protocol connecting to public servers (api.openvehicles.com or ovms.dexters-web.de).
- Outbound Telemetry (OVMS Server v3 / MQTT): Outbound MQTT over TLS to user-configured brokers (supports mutual TLS X.509 client certificate authentication; supports AWS IoT Core with keepalive ≤ 1200 s and topic retain depth limits ≤ 8 levels).
- Documented Default Credentials:
- Wi-Fi Access Point default SSID: OVMS (userguide_installation.rst)
- Wi-Fi Access Point default Password: OVMSinit (userguide_installation.rst)
- Web UI administrator username: admin (userguide_installation.rst: "The login username needs to be admin")
- Check plan: not checkable: community-maintained firmware binary; inspect GitHub repository directly at https://github.com/openvehicles/Open-Vehicle-Monitoring-System-3/releases
Open Vehicles Mobile Application (Android)
- Name: Open Vehicles Android App (package com.openvehicles.OVMS)
- Source: Google Play Store (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.openvehicles.OVMS) and GitHub APK releases (https://github.com/openvehicles/Open-Vehicle-Android/tree/master/release)
- Version: not stated
- Where the version came from: not stated
- Version pinning: Unpinned in documentation.
- Manifest location: Not stated in the sources.
- Network exposure: Outbound connection to OVMS Server v2/v3 backends.
- Check plan: not checkable: Android mobile application without version specified in documentation
Open Vehicles Mobile Application (iOS)
- Name: Open Vehicles iOS App (App Store ID 490098531)
- Source: Apple App Store (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/open-vehicles/id490098531) and GitHub repository (https://github.com/openvehicles/Open-Vehicle-iOS)
- Version: not stated
- Where the version came from: not stated
- Version pinning: Unpinned in documentation.
- Manifest location: Not stated in the sources.
- Network exposure: Outbound connection to OVMS Server v2/v3 backends.
- Check plan: not checkable: iOS mobile application without version specified in documentation
Home Assistant Integration
- Name: OVMS Home Assistant integration (ovms-home-assistant)
- Source: GitHub repository: https://github.com/enoch85/ovms-home-assistant
- Version: not stated
- Where the version came from: not stated
- Version pinning: Unpinned in documentation.
- Manifest location: Not stated in the sources.
- Network exposure: Connects to local or remote MQTT broker / OVMS server.
- Check plan: not checkable: third-party Home Assistant integration without version specified in documentation
OVMS Server Backend (v2 Server)
- Name: Open-Vehicle-Server (proprietary OVMS v2 protocol server)
- Source: GitHub repository: https://github.com/openvehicles/Open-Vehicle-Server; public instances hosted at api.openvehicles.com and dexters-web.de
- Version: not stated
- Where the version came from: not stated
- Version pinning: Unpinned in documentation.
- Manifest location: Not stated in the sources.
- Network exposure: Cloud/server backend listening for module telemetry connections and app clients.
- Check plan: not checkable: backend telemetry server without version specified in documentation
Remaining Temporal Dependencies
External URLs and Repositories
- Main Project Source Repository: https://github.com/openvehicles/Open-Vehicle-Monitoring-System-3
- Hardware Schematics and PCB Layout Repository: https://github.com/openvehicles/Open-Vehicle-Monitoring-System-3/tree/master/vehicle/hardware
- Stable Documentation Portal: https://docs.openvehicles.com/en/stable/
- Edge / Nightly Documentation Portal: https://docs.openvehicles.com/en/latest/
- Developer Guide: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1q5M9Lb5jzQhJzPMnkMKwy4Es5YK12ACQejX_NWEixr0
- Developer Mailing List: http://lists.openvehicles.com/mailman/listinfo/ovmsdev
- Public Server (Asia-Pacific): https://www.openvehicles.com/ (API: api.openvehicles.com)
- Public Server (Europe): https://dexters-web.de/ (API: ovms.dexters-web.de)
- Hologram SIM Dashboard: https://dashboard.hologram.io/
- Single-Wire CAN Extension Repository: https://github.com/mjuhanne/OVMS-SWCAN
Hardware Fabrication Constraints
- PCB Outline and Dimensions: Sized to fit inside the custom injection-molded enclosure (~99 × 73 × 29 mm exterior boundary), featuring precision cutouts for DB9, DA26, Micro-USB, MicroSD, and dual SMA bulkhead connectors.
- Mechanical Mounting: 4 corner mounting holes for clamshell enclosure screws, plus 4 internal threaded pillar posts for securing daughterboards.
- Board Layer Count and Stackup: Not specified in documentation; ECAD files reside in the external GitHub repository (vehicle/hardware). Fabricators must obtain Gerbers or Altium/KiCad source files from that location.