ZombieVerter EV Conversion VCU

This hands-on engineering lab focuses on the hardware design, embedded control, and vehicle-integration principles of an automotive Vehicle Control Unit (VCU) developed for electric vehicle (EV) conversions. Students explore the architecture of a custom electronic control unit built around an ARM Cortex-M3 microcontroller (STM32F107) and housed in an automotive-grade 56-way sealed enclosure. The curriculum walks through stepping down and filtering nominal 12 V automotive battery power, implementing robust multi-transceiver communication architectures across multiple Controller Area Network (CAN) buses including High-Speed, Single-Wire, and Fault-Tolerant standards, and interfacing with Local Interconnect Network (LIN) and inverter serial buses. Working through sensor acquisition, accelerator pedal emulation via digital potentiometers, and driving external contactors using self-protected power switches, learners gain practical proficiency in powertrain integration, EV inverter telemetry, and robust automotive embedded electronics.

electric vehicle EV conversion vehicle control unit VCU electronic control unit ECU automotive electronics STM32 ARM Cortex-M3 controller area network CAN bus single-wire CAN fault-tolerant CAN LIN bus powertrain control inverter control OpenInverter embedded systems gate drivers

Uploaded by demo on 2026-09-03 · ready · Electronics · Original source ↗

Files: Connector_BOM_Zom.pdf · README.md · ZombieVerter_V1_BOM_Rel.ods · ZombieVerter_V1_Schematic.pdf · gitmodules.txt

Readiness checks

  • complete 2026-09-04 00:09 🛡 Cybersecurity: Do not place on an open network · 3 findings 56 searches · 18 pages
    view · PDF

Latest report — 2026-09-04 00:09

Readiness: ZombieVerter EV Conversion VCU

Verdict: At risk · 2026-09-03 · est. parts cost $125–$160 for the board's components at single-unit prices (excludes PCB fabrication and the enclosure, whose price could not be verified) Cybersecurity — software & network: Do not place on an open network

This is the cold check for this lab — it establishes the baseline, so every part's current price, stock and lifecycle status is recorded here for the next check to measure against. Most of the board is cheap and plentiful, but four of the exact part numbers in the bill of materials cannot be bought today from an authorized distributor: the single-wire CAN transceiver NCV7356D1G is obsolete with zero stock at DigiKey, Mouser and RS; the common-mode choke DLP11SA900HL2L is obsolete with a 23-week lead; the buck regulator XL1509-5.0E1 is listed by no authorized distributor at all; and the 47 µH inductor's part number is listed by nobody. Two more parts, TJA1055T/3/C,518 and TJA1020T/CM,118, are on Last Time Buy with healthy stock — buy them now or lose them. Footprint-verified, in-stock replacements were found for the choke, the buck regulator, the 47 µH inductor, the 100 µF 1206 capacitor and the 3.3 V CAN transceivers, so a builder can populate almost the whole board today. What stops it being merely "Ready with caveats" is the enclosure: the board outline and its right-angle 56-pin header are designed around one AliExpress listing that could not be verified this run, and no equivalent housing turned up.

Action required

Part Problem Recommended action
NCV7356D1G (IC19) Obsolete; zero stock at DigiKey, Mouser and RS; ECIA lifecycle risk High Substitute TH8056KDC-AAA-008-RE ($1.78, stock 2357) after confirming SAE J2411 compatibility against its datasheet — or omit the single-wire CAN channel if the target vehicle is not GM/Opel
DLP11SA900HL2L (L4, L5) Obsolete; zero stock, 23-week factory lead; whole DLP11S family end-of-life Substitute EXC-24CE900U ($0.40, stock 57,332) — identical package, size, impedance and DCR
XL1509-5.0E1 (IC11) No ECIA-authorized distributor lists this part number; retail only Order XL1509-5.0-EV ($0.93, stock 3769; 4.5–40 V in, 5 V, 3 A, 8-SOIC) or buy the original from a retail seller at $0.28–$2.59
47 µH 0805 inductor (L6) The specified MLZ2012N470LT000 is listed by no distributor Substitute MLZ2012M470WT000 ($0.10, stock 34,900) — 47 µH, 0805, 170 mA
TJA1055T/3/C,518 (IC20) Last Time Buy; ECIA lifecycle risk High Buy now (11,100 in stock at DigiKey) and stock spares; TJA1055T/3/2Z is still Active
TJA1020T/CM,118 (IC14) Last Time Buy; ECIA lifecycle risk High Buy now — 18,715 at DigiKey, 21,086 at Rochester, 15,000 at Future
SN65HVD230QDR (IC9, IC13, IC15–IC18) Active but DigiKey stock 0, 16-week factory lead; six pieces needed Order at Mouser (3871 in stock, $3.97) or substitute TCAN330DR ($2.73, stock 3502)
100 µF 1206 MLCC (C17, C21) CL31A107MQHNNNE Active but DigiKey stock 0 Substitute CL31A107MQHNNWE ($0.52, stock 287,516) — identical parametrics
500 mA fuse (F1) The specified 0466.500NR is a 1206 part (3.18 × 1.52 mm); the board footprint is 2410 (6.1 × 2.5 mm) Use 0454.500MR ($2.71, 6.10 × 2.69 mm) and check the land pattern; confirm the slow-blow characteristic on the datasheet
56-way sealed enclosure AliExpress listing 32857771975 could not be fetched (site blocks automated requests); no equivalent 56-way housing found in a shopping search Verify the listing manually before ordering PCBs — the board outline depends on it
56-way harness pigtail AliExpress listing 4001213569338 could not be fetched; shopping alternatives unverified Confirm mating with the enclosure header before buying a generic 56-way ECU plug

Cybersecurity — software & network

Do not place on an open network — With the optional ESP8266 adapter fitted the board serves an unauthenticated web interface that both tunes drivetrain parameters and accepts firmware uploads, and the project offers no authentication to turn on.

Component Version How known Support status
ZombieVerter VCU application firmware (stm32-vcu) not determined unpinned (GitHub repository damienmaguire/Stm32-vcu; CI-build.yml builds the master branch with no release tag or commit pin (fetched .github/workflows/CI-build.yml)) —
libopencm3 (git submodule) not determined unpinned (.gitmodules declares the submodule URL https://github.com/jsphuebner/libopencm3 with no branch, tag or commit (fetched .gitmodules)) —
libopeninv (git submodule) not determined unpinned (.gitmodules declares the submodule URL https://github.com/jsphuebner/libopeninv.git with no branch, tag or commit (fetched .gitmodules)) —
GNU Arm Embedded Toolchain (arm-none-eabi-gcc) not determined unpinned (installed with a bare 'apt-get install gcc-arm-none-eabi' in both fetched build files (.github/workflows/CI-build.yml and .gitpod.Dockerfile) - whatever version the OS repository currently ships) —
Build platform (Ubuntu Linux) not determined not determined (CI declares only 'runs-on: ubuntu-latest' and the Gitpod image is 'gitpod/workspace-full'; no release number appears in any fetched file) —
ESP8266 web interface firmware (optional Wi-Fi adapter) not determined unpinned (jsphuebner/esp8266-web-interface README (fetched) points builders at pre-compiled forum binaries or self-compilation; no release version is named) —
Code::Blocks IDE not determined not determined (the lab README names the IDE without a version (snapshot)) —
updater.py firmware flashing script not determined not determined (referenced by the lab README as part of the OpenInverter toolset; no package manifest or version (snapshot)) —
Component Finding Severity Fix available?
ESP8266 web interface firmware (optional Wi-Fi adapter) With the optional ESP8266 adapter fitted, the board serves its own open Wi-Fi access point (default name 'ESP-xxxxx', fixed address 192.168.4.1, also announced as inverter.local) whose web interface both tunes drivetrain parameters and accepts a firmware upload at http://inverter.local/update, and no login or password step appears anywhere in the project's own instructions. posture Mitigation only — fit the Wi-Fi adapter only while actively tuning, keep it on an isolated bench network or its own access point, rename the default access point, and never join the board to campus or home Wi-Fi.
Firmware build inputs (libopencm3, libopeninv, arm-none-eabi-gcc) Build inputs are unpinned: 2 of 2 submodules in .gitmodules declare no branch, tag or commit, and the ARM toolchain is installed unversioned, so two students building the same lab can end up with different firmware and no version exists that any advisory database could be asked about. posture Mitigation only — pin the two submodule commits and record the toolchain version that produced a known-good build, then rebuild from those pins.
In-vehicle networks (CAN, single-wire CAN, LIN) The VCU's CAN, single-wire CAN and LIN buses carry drivetrain telemetry and control commands with no authentication or encryption stated in the lab's sources, so anything attached to the bench harness can command inverter, charger and contactor functions. posture Mitigation only — treat the bus harness as a trusted-only connection, keep it physically separate from any general-purpose or wireless network, and supervise students whenever the drivetrain is energised.

What this means for your lab

Nothing in this lab was found to carry a known published vulnerability, but that is because none of its software can be checked, not because it was cleared. The part that matters for a classroom is the optional ESP8266 Wi-Fi adapter: with it fitted, the controller puts up its own Wi-Fi network with a predictable name and no password step in the instructions, and anyone who joins it can open the tuning page, change how the motor, charger and contactors behave, and upload replacement firmware to the board. Treat a running conversion as a machine that anyone within Wi-Fi range could take over: fit the adapter only while you are actively tuning, keep it on an isolated bench network rather than campus Wi-Fi, and rename the access point from its default. The CAN and LIN wiring has no authentication either, so anything plugged into the harness can issue drivetrain commands - keep that harness on the bench and off any general-purpose network. Finally, the firmware and its two libraries are built from whatever the repositories hold on the day, so record the exact commits and toolchain version you used, or you will not be able to rebuild the firmware a student actually ran.

Not checked

  • ZombieVerter VCU firmware (stm32-vcu): Custom open-source vehicle-control firmware: no advisory database covers it, and the project pins no release to check.
  • libopencm3: Embedded hardware-abstraction library with no vulnerability database, and the submodule declares no commit to check.
  • libopeninv: Embedded OpenInverter library with no vulnerability database, and the submodule declares no commit to check.
  • GNU Arm Embedded Toolchain (arm-none-eabi-gcc): Installed unversioned from the OS repository; there is no version to look up.
  • Build platform (Ubuntu Linux): Only 'ubuntu-latest' is declared, so no release could be bound to an endoflife.date cycle - support status unknown.
  • ESP8266 web interface firmware: No release version is pinned and no advisory database covers Arduino/ESP8266 project firmware.
  • Code::Blocks IDE: Version not stated in the lab's sources.
  • updater.py firmware flashing script: Standalone script with no package manifest and no version.

Parts

Microcontroller and power management

Part Spec/Package Status Stock Price Source
STM32F107VCT6 (IC8) LQFP-100, 2–3.6 V, 72 MHz Active — readily available 1482 (DigiKey), 23,310 (Newark) $12.68 DigiKey; Newark $10.85, Arrow $4.64
XL1509-5.0E1 (IC11) SOP-8, 40 V in, 5 V, 2 A Hard to obtain — no authorized distributor 0 authorized $0.28 retail (JAK Electronics) Retail only; see Substitutes
AMS1117-3.3 (IC4) SOT-223, 3.3 V, 1 A Active — readily available 26,946 / 16,860 $0.10 DigiKey (Slkormicro $0.10, UMW $0.30)

Vehicle bus transceivers and communications

Part Spec/Package Status Stock Price Source
MCP25625T-E/ML (IC10) QFN-28 6×6 mm, 4.5–5.5 V Active — readily available 3524 (DigiKey), 7943 (Mouser) $3.38 DigiKey
SN65HVD230QDR (IC9, IC13, IC15–IC18) ×6 SOIC-8, 3–3.6 V Active — out of stock at DigiKey (16-week lead) 0 (DigiKey), 3871 (Mouser) $3.81 DigiKey; $3.97 Mouser Mouser, or substitute
NCV7356D1G (IC19) SOIC-8, 5–27 V, SAE J2411 Obsolete — unobtainable 0 everywhere (DigiKey, Mouser, RS) — None; see Substitutes
TJA1055T/3/C,518 (IC20) SOIC-14, 4.75–5.25 V Last Time Buy 11,100 (DigiKey), 3037 (Newark) $3.25 DigiKey; Arrow $1.79
TJA1020T/CM,118 (IC14) SOIC-8, LIN 2.0 Last Time Buy 18,715 (DigiKey), 21,086 (Rochester) $2.40 DigiKey; Future $1.07
MAX3221ECPWR (IC30) TSSOP-16, 3–5.5 V Active — readily available 28,682 $2.31 DigiKey

Drivers, amplifiers, memory, and control ICs

Part Spec/Package Status Stock Price Source
NCV8402ASTT1G (IC1, IC3, IC5–IC7, IC24–IC26) ×8 SOT-223, 42 V clamp, 2 A Active — readily available 72,891 (DigiKey), 375,000 (Avnet) $0.84 DigiKey; Avnet $0.34
NCV8461DR2G (IC12) SOIC-8 high-side switch Active — readily available 1681 $1.67 DigiKey
FAN3122TMX (IC27–IC29) ×3 SOIC-8, 4.5–18 V, 10.6 A peak Active — readily available 593 (DigiKey), 5288 (Newark) $1.87 DigiKey
AD5160BRJZ10-RL7 (IC21, IC22) ×2 SOT-23-8, 10 kΩ, 2.7–5.5 V Active — readily available 28,279 $2.93 DigiKey; Newark $1.76
M24M02-DRMN6TP (IC2) SOIC-8, 2 Mbit I2C EEPROM Active — readily available 2699 $3.44 DigiKey
TDA2822D013TR (IC23) SOIC-8, 1.8–15 V Active — readily available 4141 (DigiKey), 15,322 (Newark) $1.88 DigiKey

Discrete semiconductors

Part Spec/Package Status Stock Price Source
MMBT3904 (TR1, TR2) ×2 SOT-23-3, 40 V, 200 mA Active — readily available 203,957 $0.12 DigiKey (Diotec); MCC $0.11
SS54 (D1, D5) ×2 SMA (DO-214AC), 5 A, 40 V Active — available, not at DigiKey 32,847 (Newark) $0.371 Newark (Multicomp SS54)
1N4148WS (D2–D4, D6–D11) ×9 SOD-323F, 75 V, 150 mA Active — readily available 1,405,405 $0.18 DigiKey
Red LED, 0805 (LED1, LED2) ×2 0805, VF 2 V @ 20 mA Active — readily available 111,501 $0.20 DigiKey (APT2012EC)

Passives: inductors, beads, crystals, and fuse

Part Spec/Package Status Stock Price Source
DLP11SA900HL2L (L4, L5) ×2 0504 (1210 metric) 4-lead, 90 Ω @ 100 MHz Obsolete — 23-week lead 0 (DigiKey and Mouser) $0.43 ref None; see Substitutes
MH2029-300Y (L1, L2) ×2 0805, 30 Ω @ 100 MHz, 3 A Active — readily available 76,529 $0.10 DigiKey
68 µH power inductor (L3) 12.5 × 12.5 mm, Isat ≥ 2 A Active — available, not at DigiKey 2747 (Mouser) $2.32 Mouser (MSS1278-683MLD)
47 µH inductor (L6) 0805, ≥ 50 mA Specified part not listed by any distributor 0 — See Substitutes
8.000 MHz crystal (X1) 5.0 × 3.2 mm, 2-pad Active — readily available 12,697 $0.25 DigiKey (ABLS-8.000MHZ-B4-T)
16.000 MHz crystal (X2) 3.2 × 2.5 mm, 4-pad Active — readily available 2667 $1.05 DigiKey (FA-238 16.0000MB-C3)
Fuse 500 mA slow blow (F1) Board footprint 2410 (6.1 × 2.5 mm) Active — but the specified part is 1206, not 2410 15,749 $1.25 DigiKey; see Substitutes for the 2410 part

Passives: capacitors

Part Spec/Package Status Stock Price Source
0805 MLCC group (66 pcs: 22 pF – 10 µF) 0805, X7R/X5R/C0G, ≥ 16–50 V Active — commodity, readily available 2,049,437 (representative) $0.14 DigiKey; representative part CC0805KRX7R9BB104 (0.1 µF 50 V X7R), individual values not each checked
100 µF 1206 MLCC (C17, C21) ×2 1206, 100 µF, 6.3 V, X5R Active — DigiKey stock 0 0 (DigiKey), 24,000 (Newark) $0.67 Newark $0.212, or substitute
Tantalum 100 µF 6.3 V (C13, C20, C23) ×3 EIA 3528 Case B Active — readily available 3232 $1.72 DigiKey (T491B107M006AT)
SMD electrolytic 470 µF 25 V (C29, C69) ×2 10 × 10 mm can Active — readily available 10,685 $1.28 DigiKey (EEE-FK1E471P)

Passives: resistors

Part Spec/Package Status Stock Price Source
0805 thick-film group (68 pcs, 4.7 Ω – 18 kΩ, 1%) 0805, 1%, ≥ 0.1 W Active — commodity, readily available 933,700 (representative) $0.10 DigiKey; representative part RC0805FR-071KL (1 kΩ 1%), individual values not each checked

Enclosure, connectors, and support hardware

Part Spec/Package Status Stock Price Source
Automotive sealed enclosure, 56-way header Right-angle 56-pin automotive ECU housing Not verified — listing could not be fetched — — AliExpress item 32857771975 (blocked)
56-way wiring harness pigtail Mating 56-pin plug with pigtails Not verified — listing could not be fetched — $12.80–$24.99 for generic 56-way plugs AliExpress item 4001213569338 (blocked); shopping alternatives unverified
ESP8266 Wi-Fi module (optional) ESP-01 / ESP-12, 3.3 V UART Readily available (retail) — $2.11–$9.99 Google Shopping listings; no product page fetched

Substitutes

For part Substitute Differences Verified Judgment
XL1509-5.0E1 (IC11) XL1509-5.0-EV (EVVO, $0.93, stock 3769) Input 4.5–40 V meets the 40 V requirement; 5.0 V fixed output matches; 3 A output exceeds the required ≥ 2 A; 150 kHz matches; 8-SOIC / 8-SOP matches SOP-8 verified: package/case, input voltage range, output voltage, output current, switching frequency (DigiKey parametrics on the substitute, compared against the snapshot's requirements — the original is carried by no distributor); not verified: pin-for-pin pinout, silicon equivalence to XLSEMI Acceptable — check the pinout against the datasheet before ordering
XL1509-5.0E1 (IC11) AP1509-50SG-13 (Diodes, $1.57, stock 34,906) Input maximum 22 V against the required ≥ 40 V — falls short; 5 V / 2 A / 150 kHz / 8-SOIC otherwise match verified: package/case, input voltage range, output current (DigiKey parametrics) Rejected — supply-range hard stop; a 12 V automotive rail with load dump exceeds 22 V
NCV7356D1G (IC19) TH8056KDC-AAA-008-RE (Melexis, $1.78, stock 2357) Package 8-SOIC matches; supply 6–18 V covers the 9–16 V battery window but is narrower than the original's 5–27 V, so it has less load-dump headroom; DigiKey lists it as a substitute for the original verified: package/case and supply-voltage range (DigiKey parametrics on both parts); not verified: SAE J2411 single-wire CAN protocol and pinout — the Melexis product page could not be fetched this run Plausible, unverified — confirm J2411 compatibility on the datasheet before committing
NCV7356D1G (IC19) MC33897CTEF (NXP, $4.21, stock 4141) 14-SOIC against the board's SOIC-8 footprint; part is itself Obsolete with ECIA lifecycle risk High verified: package/case (DigiKey parametrics on both parts) Rejected — footprint hard stop, and obsolete; the snapshot's pin-compatibility note is contradicted by the distributor data
SN65HVD230QDR (×6) TCAN330DR (TI, $2.73, stock 3502) Supply 3–3.6 V matches; 8-SOIC (3.90 mm) matches; −40 to +125 °C exceeds the original's −40 to +85 °C; named as acceptable latitude in the lab's own snapshot verified: package/case and supply-voltage range (DigiKey parametrics on both parts); not verified: pinout Acceptable — different device family, so check the pinout before ordering six
TJA1055T/3/C,518 (IC20) TJA1055T/3/2Z (NXP, $2.83, stock 2117) Same TJA1055T/3 device with a different ordering/packing code; Active rather than Last Time Buy; 14-SOIC and 4.75–5.25 V identical verified: package/case and supply-voltage range (DigiKey parametrics on both parts); not verified (assumed): that the "/3" code still denotes the 3.3 V-compatible VIO variant — no I/O-level field exists in the parametrics Acceptable — the safer order code once the ",518" stock runs out
TJA1020T/CM,118 (IC14) TJA1421AT/0Z (NXP, $0.80, stock 2443) 8-SOIC matches the board footprint; supply 5.4–28 V covers the 12 V rail; a newer LIN transceiver family verified: package/case and supply-voltage range (DigiKey parametrics on the substitute; the original's parametrics are blank at DigiKey, so no like-for-like comparison was possible); not verified: 3.3 V logic-interface compatibility and LIN pinout Plausible, unverified — only reach for it if TJA1020 stock dries up
DLP11SA900HL2L (L4, L5) EXC-24CE900U (Panasonic, $0.40, stock 57,332) Impedance 90 Ω @ 100 MHz, package 0504 (1210 metric) 4-lead, body 1.25 × 1.00 mm, DCR 1.75 Ω max and 5 V DC rating are all identical to the original; 160 mA exceeds the original's 150 mA; 0.60 mm height is lower verified: package/case, body size, impedance at frequency, DCR and voltage rating (DigiKey parametrics on both parts); not verified: land pattern, and the snapshot's 330 mA current figure, which no distributor data supports (DigiKey lists 150 mA for the original) Acceptable — the closest thing to a drop-in on this board
DLP11SA900HL2L (L4, L5) DLM0NSM900HY2D (Murata, $0.10, stock 242,613) 0302 (0806 metric), 0.85 × 0.65 mm against the original's 1.25 × 1.00 mm; 100 mA against 150 mA verified: package/case, body size and current rating (DigiKey parametrics on both parts) Rejected — footprint hard stop, despite being DigiKey's own suggestion
68 µH inductor (L3) 744771168 (Würth, $2.26, stock 5512) 68 µH ±20% matches; Isat 2.19 A exceeds the required ≥ 2.0 A; IRMS 1.91 A falls ~5% short of the required ≥ 2.0 A; DCR 120 mΩ better than the required ≤ 150 mΩ; body 12.0 × 12.0 mm fits the 12.5 mm envelope verified: inductance, saturation current, RMS current, DCR and body size (DigiKey parametrics); not verified: pad geometry against the board's 2.9 × 5.4 mm pads Acceptable with caveat — only if the 5 V rail's continuous draw stays under about 1.9 A; otherwise order the original from Mouser
47 µH inductor (L6) MLZ2012M470WT000 (TDK, $0.10, stock 34,900) 47 µH ±20% matches; 0805 (2012 metric), 2.00 × 1.25 mm matches the board footprint; Isat 50 mA meets the required ≥ 50 mA and the 170 mA rated current exceeds it verified: inductance, package/case, body size and current ratings (DigiKey parametrics); the specified original is carried by no distributor, so this is a spec match to the snapshot rather than a part-to-part comparison Acceptable
100 µF 1206 MLCC (C17, C21) CL31A107MQHNNWE (Samsung, $0.52, stock 287,516) 100 µF ±20%, 6.3 V, X5R, 1206 (3216 metric), 3.20 × 1.60 mm — identical on every parametric DigiKey publishes; differs only in packaging code. Both are 6.3 V, meeting the snapshot's minimum but not its "preferably ≥ 10 V" verified: capacitance, tolerance, voltage rating, dielectric, package/case and body size (DigiKey parametrics on both parts) Acceptable
Fuse 500 mA (F1) 0454.500MR (Littelfuse, $2.71, stock 3104) 500 mA matches; body 6.10 × 2.69 × 2.69 mm matches the board's 2410 footprint (6.1 × 2.5 mm) within 0.19 mm on width, where the specified 0466.500NR is a 1206 part; 125 V AC/DC exceeds the required ≥ 32 V verified: current rating, body dimensions and voltage rating (DigiKey parametrics on both parts); not verified: the time-lag / slow-blow characteristic and the exact pad geometry Acceptable with caveat — confirm the slow-blow rating and land pattern before ordering

Verify any substitute against its datasheet and against your board files before ordering — the checks above rest on distributor parametrics, which do not cover pinouts or land patterns.

Other dependencies

  • Development forum thread (https://openinverter.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=1277) — live. Fetched this run: "The ZombieVerter VCU Project" by Jack Bauer, still the project's canonical build and support thread.
  • External fast-charging library repository (https://github.com/uhi22/ccs32clara) — live. Fetched this run; the Clara/Foccci CCS project page is present and current.
  • Vimeo project and dyno logs (506480876, 802405172, 824494783, 1201141543) — not checked. All four fetches returned Vimeo's automated human-verification page instead of the video page, so neither their presence nor their removal can be asserted.
  • YouTube vehicle test videos (iwB3wxCEFo0, wjlucUWX_lc) — not checked. Both fetches returned only site boilerplate with no video metadata.
  • Patreon 10 EUR tier for the full KiCad 9 source files — not checked; the snapshot gives no URL. The public GitHub repository still hosts only compiled PDFs and Gerber archives, so anyone needing editable source depends on a paid tier this run could not verify.
  • PCB fabrication (4-layer board, contoured profile, right-angle 56-pin edge header) — not checked; no fabrication quote was gathered this run. The real constraint here is the enclosure above, which dictates the board outline.
  • Procurement links (AliExpress items 32857771975 and 4001213569338) — not verified; AliExpress bounced both fetches through a login redirect loop.

Watch list

  • NCV7356D1G — already obsolete with zero stock anywhere; by the next check the remaining brokered inventory will likely be gone. The single-wire CAN channel needs a decision: substitute or omit.
  • DLP11SA900HL2L and the whole Murata DLP11S family — obsolete; the sibling DLP11SN900HL2L is obsolete too. Move the board to EXC-24CE900U rather than chasing old stock.
  • TJA1055T/3/C,518 and TJA1020T/CM,118 — both Last Time Buy with ECIA lifecycle risk High. Deep stock today (11,100 and 18,715), but Last Time Buy inventory disappears without warning; these are the most likely new failures at the next check.
  • SN65HVD230QDR — six per board, DigiKey already at zero with a 16-week lead. Mouser's 3871 pieces are the buffer; if that drops, the build shifts to TCAN330DR.
  • TDA2822D013TR — Active and stocked, but Arrow quotes a 30-week factory lead and Avnet is out of stock; an old part worth watching.
  • The 56-way enclosure and harness — single-source AliExpress listings that cannot be verified automatically. If either disappears, the board outline and connector footprint have no fallback.
  • XL1509-5.0E1 — outside authorized distribution entirely, so its price and availability are set by retail sellers and can move sharply.
Snapshot What the lab depended on when it was uploaded — the baseline the readiness checks research against.

This project builds the ZombieVerter VCU (Vehicle Control Unit) V1, an open-source automotive electronic control unit based on the OpenInverter architecture. The board supervises electric vehicle conversions by interfacing with OEM vehicle drivetrains, inverters, battery management systems (BMS), DC-DC converters, and chargers (supporting CAN, LIN, and synchronous serial protocols). The system operates from a nominal 12 V automotive battery rail (typically 9 V to 16 V DC, with load-dump tolerance up to 40 V), with an on-board buck step-down converter providing an intermediate 5.0 V power rail, and a linear regulator delivering the regulated 3.3 V logic rail used by the microcontroller, transceivers, and digital potentiometers.


Bill of Materials

Microcontroller and Power Management

  • STM32F107VCT6 / GD32F107VCT6 (IC8)

    • Quantity: 1
    • Footprint/package: LQFP-100 (14.0 mm x 14.0 mm, 0.5 mm pin pitch)
    • Electrical constraints: 3.3 V logic supply (2.0 V to 3.6 V operating range); 72 MHz ARM Cortex-M3 Connectivity Line MCU with 256 KB Flash, dual CAN controllers, and advanced timers.
    • Substitution latitude: Must be pin-compatible and peripheral-compatible STM32F107VCT6 or GigaDevice GD32F107VCT6. The firmware relies directly on the hardware registers and pin multiplexing of the STM32F107 connectivity line (especially its dual internal bxCAN peripherals and timer mappings).
    • Operated control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: STM32F107VCT6
  • XL1509-5.0E1 (IC11)

    • Quantity: 1
    • Footprint/package: SOP-8 (SOIC-8, 3.9 mm x 4.9 mm, 1.27 mm pin pitch)
    • Electrical constraints: Input voltage up to 40 V DC (tolerating 12 V automotive system spikes); fixed 5.0 V DC output; 2 A internal switch current limit; 150 kHz buck switching regulator.
    • Substitution latitude: Must provide 5.0 V fixed output at ≥ 2 A from an input voltage ≥ 40 V with an identical SOP-8 pinout (Pin 1: VIN, Pin 2: Output, Pins 3/4: Feedback/ON/OFF, Pins 5–8: GND), or direct pin-compatible equivalents.
    • Operated control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: XL1509-5.0E1
  • AMS1117-3.3V (BOM: AMS117-3.3V) (IC4)

    • Quantity: 1
    • Footprint/package: SOT-223
    • Electrical constraints: 5.0 V input rail; 3.3 V fixed output; rated output current ≥ 800 mA / 1.0 A; low-dropout linear regulator.
    • Substitution latitude: Any standard positive 3.3 V fixed low-dropout linear regulator in SOT-223 with standard pinout (Pin 1: GND, Pin 2/Tab: VOUT, Pin 3: VIN) capable of delivering ≥ 800 mA.
    • Operated control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: AMS1117-3.3

Vehicle Bus Transceivers and Communications

  • MCP25625T-E/ML (BOM: MCP25625T-E_ML) (IC10)

    • Quantity: 1
    • Footprint/package: QFN-28_EP (6.0 mm x 6.0 mm, 0.65 mm pin pitch with exposed thermal pad)
    • Electrical constraints: Integrated Standalone CAN 2.0B Controller with high-speed CAN transceiver; 5.0 V transceiver supply (VDD), 3.3 V logic interface (VIO); communicates with MCU over SPI.
    • Substitution latitude: Exact part required. Integrates an MCP2515 CAN controller engine with a transceiver in a specialized QFN-28 pinout; firmware CAN bus 3 driver relies specifically on this device.
    • Operated control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: MCP25625T-E/ML
  • SN65HVD230QDR (IC9, IC13, IC15, IC16, IC17, IC18)

    • Quantity: 6
    • Footprint/package: SOIC-8 (3.9 mm x 4.9 mm, 1.27 mm pin pitch)
    • Electrical constraints: 3.3 V single-supply high-speed CAN transceiver; AEC-Q100 qualified; bus fault protection up to -16 V to +16 V; supports ISO 11898-2.
    • Substitution latitude: Must be a 3.3 V-compatible high-speed CAN transceiver in SOIC-8 (e.g. SN65HVD230, SN65HVD230Q, TCAN330). Standard 5 V CAN transceivers (such as MCP2551) cannot be substituted directly because the VDD rail and MCU I/O operate at 3.3 V.
    • Operated control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: SN65HVD230QDR
  • NCV7356D1G (IC19)

    • Quantity: 1
    • Footprint/package: SOIC-8 (3.9 mm x 4.9 mm, 1.27 mm pin pitch)
    • Electrical constraints: Single-Wire CAN (SW-CAN) transceiver compliant with SAE J2411; operates from 12 V automotive battery rail with 3.3 V/5.0 V logic compatibility.
    • Substitution latitude: Must be NCV7356D1G or equivalent pin-compatible SAE J2411 single-wire CAN transceiver in SOIC-8 (e.g. MC33897). Used for GM/Opel and specific OEM vehicle network interfaces.
    • Operated control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: NCV7356D1G
  • TJA1055T/3/C,518 (BOM: TJA1055T_3_C,518) (IC20)

    • Quantity: 1
    • Footprint/package: SOIC-14 (3.9 mm x 8.7 mm, 1.27 mm pin pitch)
    • Electrical constraints: Enhanced Fault-Tolerant Low-Speed CAN transceiver (ISO 11898-3); 3.3 V microcontroller interface (VIO pin compatible via the /3 variant); battery rail supply up to 27 V.
    • Substitution latitude: Must be TJA1055T/3/C (or /3 variant) specifically, as the /3 suffix denotes low logic level compatibility (3.3 V interface to the STM32). Standard TJA1055T without /3 requires 5 V I/O.
    • Operated control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: TJA1055T/3/C,518
  • TJA1020T/CM,118 (BOM: TJA1020T_CM,118) (IC14)

    • Quantity: 1
    • Footprint/package: SOIC-8 (3.9 mm x 4.9 mm, 1.27 mm pin pitch)
    • Electrical constraints: LIN 2.0 / SAE J2602 local interconnect network physical layer transceiver; operates from 12 V vehicle battery rail with 3.3 V logic interface to STM32 USART1.
    • Substitution latitude: Pin-compatible LIN transceivers in SOIC-8 (e.g. TJA1020, TJA1021, MCP2003) supporting baud rates up to 20 kBaud and 3.3 V logic levels.
    • Operated control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: TJA1020T/CM,118
  • MAX3221ECPWR (IC30)

    • Quantity: 1
    • Footprint/package: TSSOP-16 / HTSSOP-16 (4.4 mm x 5.0 mm, 0.65 mm pin pitch)
    • Electrical constraints: 3.0 V to 5.5 V single-channel RS-232 line driver/receiver with ±15 kV ESD protection and internal charge pump.
    • Substitution latitude: Any pin-compatible 3.3 V single-driver/single-receiver RS-232 transceiver in TSSOP-16 (e.g. MAX3221, ICL3221, SP3221E).
    • Operated control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: MAX3221ECPWR

Drivers, Amplifiers, Memory, and Control ICs

  • NCV8402 (IC1, IC3, IC5, IC6, IC7, IC24, IC25, IC26)

    • Quantity: 8
    • Footprint/package: SOT-223
    • Electrical constraints: Self-protected low-side Smart Discrete N-channel MOSFET; internal drain-to-gate clamping at 42 V; continuous current ≥ 2.0 A; RDS(on) ≤ 200 mΩ; logic-level gate drive directly driven by STM32 3.3 V outputs to switch 12 V vehicle contactors and relays.
    • Substitution latitude: Must be self-protected low-side power switches in SOT-223 with integrated over-temperature, over-current, and over-voltage clamp protection capable of turning on at 3.3 V VGS (e.g. NCV8402ASTT1G, NCV8402STT1G, VNP10N07FI, BSP75N).
    • Operated control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: NCV8402ASTT1G
  • NCV8461DR2G (IC12)

    • Quantity: 1
    • Footprint/package: SOIC-8 (3.9 mm x 4.9 mm, 1.27 mm pin pitch)
    • Electrical constraints: Self-protected high-side power switch with internal charge pump; operates from 12 V automotive battery rail; drives positive 12 V outputs.
    • Substitution latitude: NCV8461 or pin-compatible automotive high-side driver in SOIC-8 with internal clamping, thermal shutdown, and current limiting.
    • Operated control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: NCV8461DR2G
  • FAN3122TMX (IC27, IC28, IC29)

    • Quantity: 3
    • Footprint/package: SOIC-8 (3.9 mm x 4.9 mm, 1.27 mm pin pitch)
    • Electrical constraints: Single 9 A high-speed low-side gate driver; non-inverting CMOS inputs compatible with 3.3 V logic; supply rail up to 18 V. Used for high-current PWM low-side drive.
    • Substitution latitude: Pin-compatible high-current (≥ 9 A) low-side gate drivers in SOIC-8 with non-inverting input logic (e.g. FAN3122, MCP1407, UCC27511).
    • Operated control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: FAN3122TMX
  • AD5160BRJZ10-RL7 (IC21, IC22)

    • Quantity: 2
    • Footprint/package: SOT-23-8
    • Electrical constraints: 256-position SPI-compatible digital potentiometer; 10 kΩ end-to-end resistance; operates on 3.3 V rail. Used to synthesize analog throttle/accelerator pedal signals to OEM inverters.
    • Substitution latitude: Must be the 10 kΩ variant in SOT-23-8 (AD5160BRJZ10). Suffix indicates 10 kΩ resistance; substituting 5 kΩ, 50 kΩ, or 100 kΩ models will invalidate pedal calibration.
    • Operated control: No (digitally controlled by MCU firmware).
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: AD5160BRJZ10-RL7
  • M24M02 / M2401 (IC2)

    • Quantity: 1
    • Footprint/package: SOIC-8 (3.9 mm x 4.9 mm, 1.27 mm pin pitch)
    • Electrical constraints: 2-Mbit (M24M02) or 1-Mbit (M24M01) I2C serial EEPROM; 3.3 V supply; used for storing vehicle configuration parameters and calibrations.
    • Substitution latitude: M24M02-DRMN6TP (2 Mbit) or M24M01-RMN6TP (1 Mbit) I2C EEPROM in SOIC-8. Note: The BOM designates "M24M02/M2401"; the firmware memory allocation requires ≥ 1 Mbit capacity.
    • Operated control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): M24M02-DRMN6TP
  • TDA2822D013TR (IC23)

    • Quantity: 1
    • Footprint/package: SOP-8 / SOIC-8 (3.9 mm x 4.9 mm, 1.27 mm pin pitch)
    • Electrical constraints: Dual low-voltage audio power amplifier; operates from 1.8 V to 15 V; drives audio tones / sound transducers or low-impedance analog outputs.
    • Substitution latitude: TDA2822D, TDA2822M (surface mount variant), or pin-compatible dual audio amplifier in SOIC-8.
    • Operated control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: TDA2822D013TR

Discrete Semiconductors

  • MMBT3904 (TR1, TR2)

    • Quantity: 2
    • Footprint/package: SOT-23-3
    • Electrical constraints: General-purpose NPN bipolar junction transistor; VCEO ≥ 40 V, IC ≥ 200 mA, hFE ≥ 100; switching small-signal levels.
    • Substitution latitude: Any commodity NPN small-signal transistor in SOT-23 (e.g. MMBT3904, 2N3904, BC847).
    • Operated control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: MMBT3904
  • SS54 (D1, D5)

    • Quantity: 2
    • Footprint/package: SMA (DO-214AC)
    • Electrical constraints: Surface-mount Schottky barrier rectifier; continuous forward current IF = 5.0 A; peak repetitive reverse voltage VRRM = 40 V; used as reverse-polarity protection and freewheeling catch diode for the XL1509 buck converter.
    • Substitution latitude: Any 5.0 A, ≥ 40 V Schottky diode with low forward voltage drop in SMA or SMB footprint (e.g. SS54, SK54, B540A).
    • Operated control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: SS54
  • 1N4148WS (D2, D3, D4, D6, D7, D8, D9, D10, D11)

    • Quantity: 9
    • Footprint/package: SOD-323F
    • Electrical constraints: Fast switching diode; VRRM ≥ 75 V / 100 V; IF ≥ 150 mA; trr ≤ 4 ns; used for signal steering and input clamping.
    • Substitution latitude: Any standard 1N4148WS fast switching diode in SOD-323 or SOD-323F package.
    • Operated control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: 1N4148WS
  • Red LED (LED1, LED2)

    • Quantity: 2
    • Footprint/package: 0805 SMD
    • Electrical constraints: Forward voltage VF ~ 1.8 V to 2.2 V; IF nominal = 10 mA to 20 mA; visual board status/heartbeat indicators.
    • Substitution latitude: Any standard red indicator LED in 0805 SMD package.
    • Operated control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): APT2012EC

Passive Components: Inductors, Beads, Crystals, and Fuse

  • DLP11SA900HL2L (L4, L5)

    • Quantity: 2
    • Footprint/package: SMD-4 (0403 inch / 1005 metric, 1.0 mm x 1.3 mm x 0.55 mm pitch)
    • Electrical constraints: Common-mode choke; common-mode impedance 90 Ω at 100 MHz; rated current 330 mA; DC resistance ≤ 0.8 Ω; used on high-speed differential CAN / serial lines.
    • Substitution latitude: Murata DLP11SA900HL2L or equivalent ultra-compact common mode choke in 0403/1005 metric with ~90 Ω impedance at 100 MHz.
    • Operated control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: DLP11SA900HL2L
  • MH2029-300Y (L1, L2)

    • Quantity: 2
    • Footprint/package: 0805 SMD
    • Electrical constraints: Surface-mount ferrite chip bead; impedance 30 Ω at 100 MHz; rated DC current ≥ 500 mA.
    • Substitution latitude: Any 0805 ferrite bead with impedance 30 Ω to 60 Ω at 100 MHz and current rating ≥ 500 mA.
    • Operated control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: MH2029-300Y
  • 68 µH Power Inductor (L3)

    • Quantity: 1
    • Footprint/package: SMD-PIND (12.5 mm x 12.5 mm x 8.0 mm max height, 2.9 mm x 5.4 mm pad footprint)
    • Electrical constraints: Inductance 68 µH ±20%; saturation current ISAT ≥ 2.0 A; RMS current IRMS ≥ 2.0 A; DC resistance ≤ 150 mΩ. Main buck inductor for XL1509-5.0.
    • Substitution latitude: Any shielded or unshielded power inductor in ~12.5 mm x 12.5 mm SMD footprint with inductance 68 µH and rated current ≥ 2.0 A.
    • Operated control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): MSS1278-683MLD
  • 47 µH Inductor (L6)

    • Quantity: 1
    • Footprint/package: 0805 SMD
    • Electrical constraints: Inductance 47 µH; rated current ≥ 50 mA; filtering/choke application.
    • Substitution latitude: Any 0805 multilayer or wirewound SMD inductor of 47 µH.
    • Operated control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): MLZ2012N470LT000
  • 8 MHz Crystal Resonator (X1)

    • Quantity: 1
    • Footprint/package: SMD-5032_2P (5.0 mm x 3.2 mm, 2-pad SMD)
    • Electrical constraints: Fundamental frequency 8.000 MHz; load capacitance ~18 pF to 20 pF; frequency tolerance ±30 ppm. Main system oscillator for STM32F107 HSE clock.
    • Substitution latitude: Any 8.000 MHz fundamental-mode crystal in 5.0 mm x 3.2 mm 2-pin package matching ~18 pF load capacitance.
    • Operated control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): ABLS-8.000MHZ-B4-T
  • 16 MHz Crystal Resonator (X2)

    • Quantity: 1
    • Footprint/package: SMD-CRY-3225_4P (3.2 mm x 2.5 mm, 4-pad SMD)
    • Electrical constraints: Fundamental frequency 16.000 MHz; load capacitance ~10 pF to 18 pF. Clock source for MCP25625 CAN controller.
    • Substitution latitude: Any 16.000 MHz crystal in 3.2 mm x 2.5 mm 4-pad package.
    • Operated control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): FA-238 16.0000MB-C3
  • Fuse 500 mA Slow Blow (F1)

    • Quantity: 1
    • Footprint/package: 2410 SMD (6.1 mm x 2.5 mm, EIA 2410 / metric 6125)
    • Electrical constraints: Current rating 500 mA (0.5 A); time-lag / slow-blow characteristic; automotive rated DC voltage ≥ 32 V DC (preferably ≥ 63 V DC).
    • Substitution latitude: Any 2410/6125 SMD slow-blow fuse rated 500 mA and ≥ 32 V DC (e.g. Littelfuse 0466 series or 0468 series).
    • Operated control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): 0466.500NR

Passive Components: Capacitors

  • 0805 SMD Ceramic Capacitors

    • Quantity: 66 total
    • Footprint/package: 0805 SMD
    • Electrical constraints: Voltage rating ≥ 50 V for components on 12 V rail; ≥ 16 V or ≥ 25 V for components on 5 V / 3.3 V rails; dielectric X7R or X5R (C0G/NP0 for values ≤ 1 nF); ±10% or ±5% tolerance.
    • Values and designators:
      • 22 pF (C10, C11) — 2 pcs (C0G, crystal load)
      • 100 pF (C64, C65) — 2 pcs (C0G)
      • 3.3 nF / 3n3 (C45) — 1 pc
      • 10 nF (C68) — 1 pc
      • 0.1 µF (C4, C9, C12, C16, C18, C19, C24, C26, C27, C28, C32, C34, C36, C37, C40, C41, C42, C43, C50, C51, C53, C55, C56, C62, C73, C74) — 26 pcs (Decoupling)
      • 0.47 µF (C57, C58, C59) — 3 pcs
      • 1.0 µF (C2, C3, C5, C6, C7, C8, C14, C15, C22, C30, C31, C33, C38, C39, C44, C46, C47, C48, C54, C60, C61, C63, C66, C67, C70, C71, C72) — 27 pcs (Decoupling)
      • 10 µF (C1, C25, C35, C49, C52) — 5 pcs (X7R/X5R, rated ≥ 16 V)
    • Substitution latitude: Standard commodity SMD MLCCs matching or exceeding voltage ratings and dielectric stability.
    • Operated control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): generic 0805 MLCC capacitors
  • 1206 SMD Ceramic Capacitors: 100 µF (C17, C21)

    • Quantity: 2
    • Footprint/package: 1206 SMD
    • Electrical constraints: Capacitance 100 µF; voltage rating ≥ 6.3 V (preferably ≥ 10 V); dielectric X5R or X7R.
    • Substitution latitude: Any 100 µF, ≥ 10 V X5R/X7R ceramic capacitor in 1206 footprint.
    • Operated control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): CL31A107MQHNNNE
  • Tantalum / Molded Capacitors: 100 µF 6.3 V (C13, C20, C23)

    • Quantity: 3
    • Footprint/package: CASE-B_3528 (EIA 3528-21, 3.5 mm x 2.8 mm)
    • Electrical constraints: Capacitance 100 µF; rated voltage 6.3 V DC; polarized tantalum or molded aluminum polymer.
    • Substitution latitude: Any 100 µF, ≥ 6.3 V polarized capacitor in standard EIA 3528 (Case B) footprint with low ESR.
    • Operated control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): T491B107M006AT
  • SMD Aluminum Electrolytic Capacitors: 470 µF 25 V (C29, C69)

    • Quantity: 2
    • Footprint/package: SMD-ECAP-10x10 (Cylindrical SMD, 10.0 mm diameter x 10.0 mm height)
    • Electrical constraints: Capacitance 470 µF; voltage rating ≥ 25 V DC (handles 12 V vehicle battery spikes and buck input filtering); low ESR.
    • Substitution latitude: Any 470 µF, ≥ 25 V (or 35 V) SMD electrolytic capacitor with 10 mm x 10 mm can footprint.
    • Operated control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): EEE-FK1E471P

Passive Components: Resistors

  • 0805 SMD Thick Film Resistors (1% tolerance, 0.125 W)
    • Quantity: 68 total (Designators R1–R18, R20–R69; note R19 is omitted in the sequence)
    • Footprint/package: 0805 SMD
    • Electrical constraints: 1% tolerance; power rating ≥ 0.1 W (1/10 W or 1/8 W); working voltage ≥ 50 V.
    • Values and designators:
      • 4.7 Ω (R67, R68) — 2 pcs
      • 120 Ω (R20, R24, R31, R32, R36, R40, R44) — 7 pcs (CAN bus termination and damping)
      • 680 Ω (R16, R22) — 2 pcs
      • 1.0 kΩ (R7, R8, R9, R10, R12, R13, R14, R17, R23, R25, R26, R30, R34, R37, R38, R39, R41, R42, R49, R55, R56, R57, R59, R60, R61, R65, R66) — 27 pcs
      • 1.5 kΩ (R2, R6, R11, R27, R29, R51, R53) — 7 pcs
      • 1.8 kΩ (R35, R43, R69) — 3 pcs
      • 2.7 kΩ (R45, R46, R58, R62) — 4 pcs
      • 3.0 kΩ (R48) — 1 pc
      • 4.7 kΩ (R1, R3, R4, R5, R15, R28, R33, R52, R54) — 9 pcs
      • 8.2 kΩ (R21) — 1 pc
      • 10 kΩ (R18, R47, R63, R64) — 4 pcs
      • 18 kΩ (R50) — 1 pc
    • Substitution latitude: Standard commodity 0805 thick-film resistors, 1% tolerance, ≥ 0.1 W.
    • Operated control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): generic 0805 thick-film resistors

Enclosure, Connectors, and Support Hardware

  • Automotive Sealed Enclosure with Integrated 56-Way PCB Header

    • Quantity: 1
    • Footprint/package: Right-angle 56-pin automotive through-hole header footprint matching the enclosure faceplate (Delphi / Tyco AMP style 56-pin automotive ECU housing).
    • Electrical constraints: Rated for automotive under-hood / cabin environments; 56 contact positions rated ≥ 5 A per power pin, ≥ 2 A per signal pin.
    • Substitution latitude: Must match the PCB outline and 56-pin header pitch of the ZombieVerter V1 board layout. Sourced from automotive ECU enclosure vendors.
    • Operated control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: retail shopping search: AliExpress item 32857771975 56 pin automotive ecu enclosure
  • 56-Way Wiring Harness Pigtail Cable

    • Quantity: 1
    • Footprint/package: Mating 56-pin automotive plug with pre-crimped wire pigtails.
    • Electrical constraints: Automotive grade copper wire, color-coded, mating latch mechanism.
    • Substitution latitude: Must mate with the 56-way header of the enclosure.
    • Operated control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: retail shopping search: AliExpress item 4001213569338 56 pin ecu wiring harness
  • ESP8266 Wi-Fi Module (Optional Adapter)

    • Quantity: 1 (optional add-on)
    • Footprint/package: Header pins for external Wi-Fi module (as shown in schematic section "ESP WIFI MODULE").
    • Electrical constraints: 3.3 V logic and supply; serial UART interface (TX/RX) to STM32.
    • Substitution latitude: Standard ESP-01, ESP-12, or custom OpenInverter ESP8266 Wi-Fi adapter board loaded with OpenInverter web interface firmware.
    • Operated control: No.
    • Sourcing plan: retail shopping search: ESP8266 ESP-01 serial Wi-Fi module

Software and network dependencies

  • GNU Arm Embedded Toolchain (arm-none-eabi-gcc)

    • Repository / Source: Ubuntu / Debian packages (sudo apt install gcc-arm-none-eabi) or Arm developer website (https://developer.arm.com/open-source/gnu-toolchain/gnu-rm/downloads).
    • Version: not stated.
    • Where the version came from: not stated.
    • Pinning: Unpinned. README.md (line 62) instructs users to run bare sudo apt install gcc-arm-none-eabi.
    • Manifest location: README.md
    • Check plan: support-status lookup: Ubuntu gcc-arm-none-eabi
  • libopencm3

    • Repository / Source: https://github.com/jsphuebner/libopencm3
    • Version: not stated.
    • Where the version came from: not stated.
    • Pinning: Defined as a Git submodule in gitmodules.txt without an explicit branch, tag, or pinned commit hash specified in plain text files. Fetched via make get-deps.
    • Manifest location: gitmodules.txt lines 1–3
    • Check plan: not checkable: version not stated and no security advisory database tracks embedded hardware support libraries
  • libopeninv

    • Repository / Source: https://github.com/jsphuebner/libopeninv.git
    • Version: not stated.
    • Where the version came from: not stated.
    • Pinning: Defined as a Git submodule in gitmodules.txt without a pinned commit hash or release tag. Fetched via make get-deps.
    • Manifest location: gitmodules.txt lines 4–6
    • Check plan: not checkable: version not stated and no security advisory database tracks embedded OpenInverter libraries
  • ZombieVerter VCU Application Firmware (stm32-vcu)

    • Repository / Source: OpenInverter / Damien Maguire stm32-vcu repository on GitHub.
    • Version: not stated (README references firmware progression versions "V2.00a", "V2.05A", "V2.15a", "V2.20A", "V2.40A", but the firmware base release version is unpinned).
    • Where the version came from: not stated.
    • Pinning: Unpinned.
    • Manifest location: Makefile / README.md
    • Check plan: not checkable: custom open-source vehicle control firmware with no centralized advisory database
  • updater.py (Firmware Flashing Script)

    • Repository / Source: Included within OpenInverter toolsets.
    • Version: not stated.
    • Where the version came from: not stated.
    • Pinning: Unpinned.
    • Manifest location: README.md line 78
    • Check plan: not checkable: standalone Python script with no package manifest
  • Code::Blocks IDE

    • Repository / Source: https://www.codeblocks.org/
    • Version: not stated ("I use CodeBlocks IDE : https://www.codeblocks.org/" in README.md line 80).
    • Where the version came from: not stated.
    • Pinning: Unpinned.
    • Manifest location: README.md line 80
    • Check plan: not checkable: version not stated
  • Network exposure:

    • Wi-Fi: The board provides an interface for an optional ESP8266 Wi-Fi adapter ("esp8266 web interface" cited in README.md line 78 and schematic block "ESP WIFI MODULE"). When fitted, the module serves an HTTP web interface allowing users to tune motor/inverter parameters and flash updated firmware over the air. The sources do not state the SSID, default credentials, or listening port numbers.
    • In-Vehicle Networks: Operates across multiple controller area network buses: standard CAN (ISO 11898-2), Single-Wire CAN (SAE J2411), Fault-Tolerant Low-Speed CAN (ISO 11898-3), and LIN (USART1). These networks transmit automotive telemetry and control commands; no network authentication or encryption is stated in the sources.
    • Instructions to enable SSH or open web interfaces: Documentation notes uploading firmware via "the esp8266 web interface". No SSH services or default credentials are documented in the sources.

Remaining Temporal Dependencies

  • Online Repositories and Video Documentation:

    • Development forum thread: https://openinverter.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=1277
    • External fast-charging Clara library dependency: https://github.com/uhi22/ccs32clara
    • Vimeo project and dyno test logs: https://vimeo.com/506480876, https://vimeo.com/802405172, https://vimeo.com/824494783, https://vimeo.com/1201141543
    • YouTube vehicle test video logs: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iwB3wxCEFo0, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wjlucUWX_lc
    • Patreon subscription reference: Full KiCad 9 source files require an active 10 Euro tier Patreon membership; GitHub repository hosts only compiled PDFs and Gerber archives.
  • Procurement Links:

    • Enclosure/Header procurement link: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32857771975.html (AliExpress item 32857771975)
    • Wiring harness procurement link: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/4001213569338.html (AliExpress item 4001213569338)
  • Fabrication Specifications:

    • PCB Layer Count: Design requires a multi-layer board (typically 4 layers to route high-density LQFP-100 MCU signals and multiple isolated CAN/LIN ground/power planes).
    • Board Dimensions: Contoured PCB profile custom-dimensioned to slide into the internal guide rails of the 56-way waterproof automotive ECU enclosure specified in the BOM.
    • Connector Interface: Right-angle 56-pin through-hole footprint positioned at the front board edge to mate with the housing seal.