Introduction to Microcontrollers (Lake Washington Tech OER)
This course laboratory manual introduces students to microprocessor architecture and embedded systems programming using assembly language on the 8-bit Microchip PIC16F18875 microcontroller and Curiosity High Pin Count development platform. Beginning with foundational instruction cycles and the Intel 8085 instruction set, students advance to writing and debugging firmware within the MPLAB X IDE. Practical projects guide learners through breadboard circuit assembly and low-level code implementation for software delay loops, synchronized LED sequencers, and switch debouncing routines. Students culminate their work by designing a multi-zone home security alarm system using finite state machines and building an analog temperature indicator that interfaces an MCP9701 linear active thermistor with the microcontroller on-chip 10-bit Analog-to-Digital Converter with Computation module. Through these exercises, students master register-level bit manipulation, hardware interfacing, peripheral configuration, and embedded system troubleshooting.
Uploaded by demo on 2026-07-19 · ready · Electronics · Original source ↗
Files: Introduction-to-Microcontrollers.pdf · NSF_ATE_provenance.txt
Readiness checks
-
complete 2026-09-02 23:55 🛡 Cybersecurity: Could not check · 1 finding 22 searches · 2 pagesview · PDF
-
complete 2026-07-19 16:51 🛡 Cybersecurity: not checked 22 searches · 0 pagesview · PDF
Latest report — 2026-09-02 23:55
Readiness: Introduction to Microcontrollers (Lake Washington Tech OER)
Verdict: Ready with caveats · 2026-09-02 · est. parts cost $70–$130 Cybersecurity — software & network: Could not check
Every part this lab needs is currently Active and in stock, most of it at authorized distributors, and the microcontroller problem that drove the previous report's caveats has gone away: that report priced the extended-temperature PIC16F18875-E/P, which is still at zero DigiKey stock, while the part this lab's bill of materials actually specifies — PIC16F18875-I/P — is held in quantity by five distributors at $2.27. The verdict stays "Ready with caveats" rather than moving to "Ready" for one reason: the Lab 9 glass-break detector cannot be sourced as described (a 5 V module with a logic output). Everything found under that description is a 12 V alarm-panel or smart-home product from $19.95 up, none of which the evidence shows to run at 5 V or expose a digital output pin. The lab's own materials allow simulating that sensor with a pushbutton already on the parts list, and the sensor is optional, so this is a caveat rather than a blocker.
Action required
| Part | Problem | Recommended action |
|---|---|---|
| Acoustic / vibration glass-break detector | No 5 V module with a logic output found; all listings are 12 V alarm-panel or smart-home units, $19.95–$59.99, none verified compatible. Carried over from the previous report, still unresolved. | Simulate the sensor with one of the 6 mm tactile pushbuttons already on the BOM, as the lab materials permit. The sensor is optional — Lab 9's five-opening requirement can be met with reed switches and the PIR module. |
| 5 V active piezo buzzer | Several listings in the same search are passive (externally driven) transducers, which will not work with the lab's code. New note this check. | Order only a listing that states "active" or "self-driving"; the $1.20 module below is labelled active. |
Cybersecurity — software & network
Could not check — All three components are Microchip vendor tools with no version stated anywhere in the lab materials and no advisory or support-status source covering them, so no check could run this session; the one thing that can be said comes from the materials themselves, namely that an unpinned MPLAB X install may no longer carry the MPASM toolchain the labs require.
| Component | Version | How known | Support status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Microchip MPLAB X IDE | not determined | unpinned (the lab manual tells students to install the latest version; no release is named anywhere in the materials (snapshot)) | — |
| Microchip MPASM / pic-as assembler toolchain | not determined | unpinned (bundled with whichever MPLAB X release is installed; the materials name the toolchain (project language toolchain set to MPASM) but no version (snapshot)) | — |
| Microchip PICkit-On-Board (PKOB) programmer firmware | not determined | not determined (on-board firmware of the DM164136; version not stated in the materials and updated by the IDE over USB (snapshot)) | — |
| Component | Finding | Severity | Fix available? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Microchip MPASM / pic-as assembler toolchain | The lab's projects are configured for the legacy MPASM assembler while the materials tell students to install whatever MPLAB X release is current, so the toolchain the .asm source files are written for may not be present in the version an instructor installs today. | posture | Mitigation only — before the term, install MPLAB X and confirm the MPASM toolchain can still be selected in project properties; if it cannot, the lab's .asm sources have to be assembled with pic-as/XC8 instead, which needs syntax changes. |
What this means for your lab
Nothing in this lab's software talks to the network. MPLAB X and its assembler run on the student's or instructor's own computer, and the only link to the hardware is the USB cable to the Curiosity board, so no one else on the campus network can reach anything the lab sets up. That also means nothing was actually checked for known vulnerabilities: Microchip's IDE, its assembler, and the board's on-board programmer firmware are not listed in the public vulnerability databases used here, and the materials never name a version. That is a gap in what is known, not a clean bill of health. The practical risk here is availability rather than security: the manual says to install the newest MPLAB X, and the labs are written for the older MPASM assembler. Download the tools only from Microchip's own site, and before the term starts, install MPLAB X on one machine and check that the lab's .asm files still assemble with the MPASM toolchain the project settings call for.
Not checked
- Microchip MPLAB X IDE: no version is stated in the materials (they say to install the latest release), and MPLAB X is not covered by the vulnerability or end-of-life databases this check uses
- Microchip MPASM / pic-as assembler toolchain: vendor toolchain bundled with the IDE; no version stated in the materials and no advisory database covers it
- Microchip PICkit-On-Board (PKOB) programmer firmware: proprietary on-board programmer firmware; version not stated and managed automatically by the IDE, with no public advisory database
Parts
Microcontroller and Development Hardware
| Part | Spec/Package | Status | Stock | Price | Source | Drift |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DM164136 | Curiosity HPC development board | Active | 99 (DigiKey), 206 (Spirit), 46 (Newark) | $33.99 | DigiKey | Price unchanged; DigiKey stock 201 → 99 |
| PIC16F18875-I/P | 8-bit MCU, 40-DIP (0.600 inch, 15.24 mm), 2.3 V–5.5 V | Active | 620 (DigiKey), 1,134 (Mouser) | $2.27 | DigiKey | New baseline — the previous report priced the -E/P variant instead |
| USB 2.0 cable, Type-A to Micro-B | Standard 1 m data/power cable | Active | Retail | $2.37 | Grainger (Monoprice) | — |
Note on the MCU: this run also re-checked PIC16F18875-E/P, the part the previous report listed. It is Active at $2.40 but still shows no DigiKey stock; other authorized distributors hold it (Spirit Electronics 4,130; Mouser 549 at $2.46 — the same price and quantity as in July). The -I/P part the bill of materials specifies is the easier buy and is what the table above prices.
Prototyping and Passive Support Hardware
| Part | Spec/Package | Status | Stock | Price | Source | Drift |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Solderless breadboard | 830 tie-point, 2.54 mm grid | Active | Retail | $4.99 | Micro Center (Inland) | Previous report priced a $9.99 breadboard + jumper kit; not like-for-like |
| Jumper wire kit (M-M, M-F) | 22–24 AWG, 0.1 inch headers | Active | Retail | $4.99 | Love My Switches (140 pcs) | Same as above; sets with a stated M-F count run to $12.99 |
| CF14JT330R | 330 Ω, 1/4 W, axial through-hole | Active | 216,274 | $0.10 | DigiKey | Previous report priced a $9.95 resistor kit; no per-part baseline |
| CFR-25JB-52-10K | 10 kΩ, 1/4 W, axial through-hole | Active | 173,171 | $0.10 | DigiKey | As above |
Discrete Indicators and Sensors
| Part | Spec/Package | Status | Stock | Price | Source | Drift |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| WP7113ID | 5 mm red LED, T-1 3/4 through-hole | Active | 145,555 | $0.21 | DigiKey | — |
| WP7113GD | 5 mm green LED, T-1 3/4 through-hole | Active | 91,778 | $0.23 | DigiKey | — |
| WP7113QBC/D | 5 mm blue LED, T-1 3/4 through-hole | Active | 3,162 | $0.44 | DigiKey | — |
| Assorted 5 mm LEDs | 5 mm through-hole, mixed colours | Active | Retail | $2.70 | Parts Express (105 pcs) | Cheaper listings than the previous $8.49 pack — different products, not a price cut |
| MCP9701-E/TO | Linear active thermistor, TO-92-3, 3.1 V–5.5 V | Active | 6,413 | $0.53 | DigiKey | Price unchanged; stock 3,526 → 6,413 |
Security System Peripherals (Lab #9)
| Part | Spec/Package | Status | Stock | Price | Source | Drift |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Magnetic reed door/window sensor | Surface-mount contact pair, wired | Active | Retail | $1.51 | DigiKey (Tane) | Cheaper than the previous $4.75 listing |
| PIR motion detector (HC-SR501) | 3-pin module, 5 V | Active | Retail | $3.95 | PiShop USA | Unchanged at $3.95 |
| Glass-break detector | 5 V module with logic output | Hard to obtain as specified | — | — | — | Still unresolved since the previous report; see Substitutes |
| Numeric keypad matrix | 3x4 membrane, 7-pin header | Active | Retail | $2.95 | PiShop USA (Adafruit) | Unchanged at $2.95 |
| Character LCD 16x2 | HD44780 parallel or I2C backpack, 5 V | Active | Retail | $4.95 | PiShop USA | Previous report priced $11.90; comparable modules now list near $5 |
| 5 V active piezo buzzer | Through-hole or module, 3.5 V–5.5 V | Active | Retail | $1.20 | aretronics.com | Previous report priced $0.99; see Action required about active vs. passive |
| 5 V relay module, 1-channel | 3-pin input header, screw terminals, optocoupler per listing | Active | Retail | $5.59 | Kleen-Rite (HiLetgo) | Previous report priced $6.37; listings from $0.84 exist |
| SPST momentary pushbutton | 6x6 mm tactile, 4-pin through-hole | Active | Retail | $2.50 | DigiKey (Adafruit, 20 pack) | Unchanged at $2.50 |
An authorized-distributor alternative for the buzzer: PUI Audio AI-2429-TWT-5V-R, Active, $3.16, stock 1,937 at DigiKey. Whether it is self-driving (active) rather than externally driven is not stated in the evidence gathered here — confirm on the product page before ordering.
Substitutes
| For part | Substitute | Differences | Verified | Judgment |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Glass-break detector | 6 mm tactile pushbutton, 20 pack ($2.50, DigiKey) | A manual contact closure instead of an acoustic sensor: students trigger the "glass break" zone by pressing the button. Same 5 V logic input to the PIC, no sensor power and no sensitivity tuning; it loses the acoustic detection a commercial unit would provide. | Simulation route authorised by the lab's own substitution latitude; price and availability from this run's shopping evidence. Not verified: no commercial 5 V glass-break module was found or its product page fetched, so nothing is claimed about the alarm-panel units in the search results. | Acceptable for the lab exercise — Lab 9 grades the alarm logic, not the sensor's physics. |
Instructors must verify any substitute against its datasheet before ordering.
Other dependencies
- PCB fabrication: none required. All student circuits are breadboard-based on the commercial Curiosity HPC board; no Gerber or CAD files exist in the materials.
- OpenWA Pressbooks lecture videos (17 embedded links, e.g.
https://openwa.pressbooks.pub/nehakardam10/?p=5): not checked this run — the fetch was blocked or timed out, which does not distinguish a dead page from a bot block. The previous report recorded these as active on 2026-07-19. Open one link manually before the term. - Microchip product and datasheet portals (DM164136 page, PIC16F18875 product page and datasheet PDF, 8-bit mid-range reference manual): not checked — the fetch of the DM164136 product page was likewise blocked. Indirect signal only: DigiKey lists both the board and the MCU as Active with stock.
- YouTube lecture links (3 in the bibliography): not checked — no lookup was dispatched for them.
Watch list
- DM164136 board: DigiKey stock halved since July (201 → 99) at an unchanged $33.99. Five other authorized distributors still hold stock, but this is the lab's single-source, non-substitutable item — worth watching every check.
- PIC16F18875-E/P: if a future revision of these materials calls for the extended-temperature part, note that it remains at zero DigiKey stock, carried only by Mouser and Spirit Electronics.
- Glass-break detector: the specified 5 V module has now failed to surface in two consecutive checks. If the lab is to keep a real sensor, the materials need a specific part number.
- Retail-sourced peripherals (LCD, relay, buzzer, keypad, jumper kits): priced from single marketplace listings that change week to week. Treat the ranges rather than individual figures as the baseline.
- 5 mm blue LED (WP7113QBC/D): stock 3,162 is an order of magnitude below the red and green parts; any 5 mm blue LED substitutes, so this is a convenience risk only.
Snapshot What the lab depended on when it was uploaded — the baseline the readiness checks research against.
This lab curriculum guides students through introductory embedded systems, beginning with theoretical 8085 microprocessor concepts and progressing to practical 8-bit assembly language programming on the Microchip PIC16F18875 microcontroller. Practical exercises utilize the Microchip Curiosity High Pin Count (HPC) development platform, moving from on-board LED and pushbutton control to external solderless breadboard circuits, including discrete LED sequencers, a multi-zone home security alarm system, and an analog temperature indicator. The entire physical system operates at a nominal 5.0 V logic level supplied by the development board's USB-derived power bus, which also powers external breadboard peripherals (sensors, relays, LCD, and discrete logic).
Bill of Materials
Microcontroller and Development Hardware
Identity: Microchip Technology DM164136 (Curiosity High Pin Count / HPC Development Board)
- Quantity: 1
- Footprint/package: Assembled development board with 40-pin and 28-pin DIP sockets, mikroBUS interface, on-board PICkit-On-Board (PKOB) programmer/debugger, micro-USB connector, and dual-row female I/O breakout headers.
- Electrical constraints: Powered via 5.0 V USB bus; onboard regulator provides selectable 3.3 V or 5.0 V VDD supply to the target MCU socket (configured for 5.0 V operation to support 5 V sensors and relays).
- Substitution latitude: Must be the Microchip Curiosity HPC (DM164136) or an exact functional equivalent. The lab exercises and pin assignments (LEDs hardwired to RA4–RA7, pushbutton on RB0, onboard PKOB programmer) directly map to this board's routing.
- Control status: Includes onboard user pushbutton and reset switch operated by students during execution.
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: DM164136
Identity: Microchip PIC16F18875 8-bit microcontroller (PIC16F18875-I/P)
- Quantity: 1
- Footprint/package: 40-pin PDIP (0.600 inch wide, 0.100 inch pin pitch).
- Electrical constraints: Supply voltage 1.8 V to 5.5 V (run at 5.0 V). Features 14-bit instruction core, 56 KB Flash, 4 KB RAM, 256 bytes EEPROM, 10-bit ADC² with Computation, and 36 I/O pins.
- Substitution latitude: Must be PIC16F18875 in PDIP-40 to seat in the DM164136 development socket and match register architecture (specifically the ADC² module registers ADCON0, ADPCH, ADREF, and memory-bank layout used in lab code). PIC16LF18875 (low-voltage variant max 3.6 V) cannot be substituted if running at 5.0 V.
- Control status: Fixed IC; not a user-operated control.
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: PIC16F18875-I/P
Identity: USB 2.0 Cable (Type-A to Micro-B)
- Quantity: 1
- Footprint/package: Standard USB cable assembly (approx. 1 m length).
- Electrical constraints: 5.0 V VBUS, 500 mA rated.
- Substitution latitude: Any standard USB Type-A to Micro-B data and power cable.
- Control status: Passive connection cable.
- Sourcing plan: retail shopping search: USB Type A to Micro B cable 3ft
Prototyping and Passive Support Hardware
Identity: Solderless Breadboard
- Quantity: 1
- Footprint/package: Full-size or half-size solderless breadboard (830 or 400 tie-points, standard 0.1 inch / 2.54 mm grid).
- Electrical constraints: Insulation rating ≥ 50 V, current carrying capacity ≥ 500 mA per tie point.
- Substitution latitude: Any standard breadboard accommodating DIP components and jumper wires.
- Control status: Prototyping base; not an operated control.
- Sourcing plan: retail shopping search: 830 tie-point solderless breadboard
Identity: Breadboard Jumper Wire Kit (Male-to-Male and Male-to-Female)
- Quantity: 1 kit (approx. 40 to 65 pieces)
- Footprint/package: 22–24 AWG solid or stranded wire with standard 0.1-inch header male/female Dupont pins.
- Electrical constraints: Insulation rating ≥ 30 V, current rating ≥ 500 mA.
- Substitution latitude: Any 22–24 AWG breadboard jumper wires.
- Control status: Interconnect; not an operated control.
- Sourcing plan: retail shopping search: breadboard jumper wire kit male to male and male to female
Identity: Current-Limiting Resistors, 330 Ω (for discrete LEDs)
- Quantity: 6 to 8 (Lab 8: 3; Lab 9: 2; Lab 10: 3)
- Footprint/package: Axial leaded through-hole (axial 0207, 2.54 mm pitch or breadboard-compatible).
- Electrical constraints: Resistance 330 Ω (220 Ω to 470 Ω acceptable), power rating ≥ 1/4 W (0.25 W), tolerance 5% or 1%. At 5 V supply with 2 V LED drop, dissipates approx. 18 mW, limiting forward current to ~9 mA.
- Substitution latitude: Any through-hole 1/4 W carbon film or metal film resistor between 220 Ω and 470 Ω.
- Control status: Fixed passive component.
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): CF14JT330R
Identity: Pull-Up / Pull-Down Resistors, 10 kΩ (for sensors, switches, keypad lines)
- Quantity: 5 to 8 (Lab 9 security sensors and discrete switches)
- Footprint/package: Axial leaded through-hole (axial 0207).
- Electrical constraints: Resistance 10 kΩ, power rating ≥ 1/8 W or 1/4 W, tolerance 5% or 1%.
- Substitution latitude: Any 4.7 kΩ to 10 kΩ 1/4 W through-hole resistor.
- Control status: Fixed passive component.
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): CFR-25JB-52-10K
Discrete Indicators and Sensors
Identity: Discrete 5mm Red Indicator LED
- Quantity: 2 (Lab 9 alarm output indicator; Lab 10 high-temperature indicator for >75°F)
- Footprint/package: 5mm (T-1 3/4) through-hole radial LED.
- Electrical constraints: Forward voltage 1.8 V to 2.2 V, forward current rating ≥ 20 mA, dominant wavelength ~625 nm.
- Substitution latitude: Any standard 5mm or 3mm red through-hole LED.
- Control status: Visual indicator.
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): WP7113ID
Identity: Discrete 5mm Green Indicator LED
- Quantity: 2 (Lab 8 sequencer; Lab 10 on-target temperature indicator for =75°F)
- Footprint/package: 5mm (T-1 3/4) through-hole radial LED.
- Electrical constraints: Forward voltage 2.0 V to 2.4 V, forward current rating ≥ 20 mA, dominant wavelength ~565 nm.
- Substitution latitude: Any standard 5mm or 3mm green through-hole LED.
- Control status: Visual indicator.
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): WP7113GD
Identity: Discrete 5mm Blue Indicator LED
- Quantity: 1 (Lab 10 low-temperature indicator for <75°F)
- Footprint/package: 5mm (T-1 3/4) through-hole radial LED.
- Electrical constraints: Forward voltage 2.8 V to 3.4 V, forward current rating ≥ 20 mA, dominant wavelength ~465 nm.
- Substitution latitude: Any standard 5mm or 3mm blue through-hole LED. Lab 10 notes LEDs can be identical colors if necessary, but distinct colors (Red/Green/Blue) are specified.
- Control status: Visual indicator.
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup (representative example — sources give spec only): WP7113QBC/D
Identity: Additional Discrete 5mm LEDs (Assorted Colors)
- Quantity: 2 to 3 (Lab 8 requires 3 external LEDs; Lab 9 requires 2 monitoring indicators)
- Footprint/package: 5mm through-hole radial.
- Electrical constraints: Forward voltage 1.8 V to 3.2 V, forward current 20 mA.
- Substitution latitude: Any standard 5mm indicator LEDs.
- Control status: Visual indicator.
- Sourcing plan: retail shopping search: 5mm LED through hole assorted pack
Identity: Microchip MCP9701 Linear Active Thermistor IC (MCP9701-E/TO or MCP9701A-E/TO)
- Quantity: 1
- Footprint/package: TO-92-3 (through-hole, 3-pin).
- Electrical constraints: Supply voltage 2.7 V to 5.5 V (powered at 5.0 V). Output voltage scale factor: 19.5 mV/°C. Voltage output at 0°C: 500 mV. Operating temperature range -40°C to +125°C.
- Substitution latitude: Must be MCP9701 or MCP9701A. An MCP9700 cannot be directly dropped in without rewriting the temperature conversion assembly math, because MCP9700 has a 10.0 mV/°C transfer function versus MCP9701's 19.5 mV/°C.
- Control status: Fixed analog sensor.
- Sourcing plan: distributor lookup: MCP9701-E/TO
Security System Peripherals (Lab #9)
Identity: Magnetic Reed Switch Door/Window Sensor
- Quantity: 2 to 5 (Lab 9 specifies minimum 5 openings, requiring at least one door and one window)
- Footprint/package: Surface-mount or flange-mount magnetic reed switch pair with screw terminals or wire leads.
- Electrical constraints: Form A (Normally Closed when magnet is adjacent, opens upon perimeter breach) or Normally Open; rated for ≥ 30 V DC, ≥ 100 mA switching current.
- Substitution latitude: Any standard magnetic alarm reed switch contact or breadboard-mounted SPST tactile switch used to simulate window/door opening.
- Control status: Physical sensor/switch operated during testing.
- Sourcing plan: retail shopping search: magnetic reed switch door window sensor alarm surface mount
Identity: Passive Infrared (PIR) Motion Detector Module
- Quantity: 1 (optional to fulfill the 5-opening sensor requirement in Lab 9)
- Footprint/package: 3-pin header module (e.g. HC-SR501 or Panasonic AMN/EKMC series).
- Electrical constraints: Supply voltage 5.0 V DC; active-high 3.3 V or 5 V digital output pulse.
- Substitution latitude: Any standard 5 V PIR sensor module with digital output, or a manual push switch simulating motion.
- Control status: Active sensor.
- Sourcing plan: retail shopping search: HC-SR501 PIR motion sensor module
Identity: Acoustic / Vibration Glass Break Detector Module
- Quantity: 1 (optional to fulfill the 5-opening sensor requirement in Lab 9)
- Footprint/package: Sensor module with digital logic output pin or discrete piezo vibration transducer.
- Electrical constraints: Supply voltage 5.0 V DC; active logic low/high trigger output.
- Substitution latitude: Can be simulated using a momentary push-button or tilt/vibration vibration switch module.
- Control status: Active sensor.
- Sourcing plan: retail shopping search: glass break sensor module digital output 5V
Identity: Numeric Keypad Matrix (3x4 or 4x4)
- Quantity: 1
- Footprint/package: Membrane or mechanical 3x4 / 4x4 keypad with female/male header breakout (7 or 8 pins).
- Electrical constraints: Passive switch contact matrix; contact rating ≥ 12 V DC, 20 mA. Interfaced to PIC16F18875 I/O with software scanning.
- Substitution latitude: Any standard 12-key (3x4) or 16-key (4x4) matrix telephone-style keypad.
- Control status: Student/user operated control (used to enter 3-digit access codes).
- Sourcing plan: retail shopping search: 3x4 matrix membrane keypad 7 pin
Identity: Character LCD Display Module, 16x2
- Quantity: 1
- Footprint/package: 16-pin single-row header (HD44780 standard parallel interface, 0.1 inch pitch) or 4-pin I2C backback.
- Electrical constraints: Supply voltage 5.0 V DC; standard alphanumeric character display with LED backlight.
- Substitution latitude: Any standard HD44780-compatible 16-character by 2-row LCD module operating at 5.0 V.
- Control status: Output status display.
- Sourcing plan: retail shopping search: 1602 LCD display module 5V HD44780
Identity: 5 V Active Piezo Buzzer / Mini Siren
- Quantity: 1
- Footprint/package: Radial leaded through-hole cylinder (12 mm diameter, 7.6 mm pin spacing) or breadboard module.
- Electrical constraints: Operating voltage 3.5 V to 5.5 V DC; operating current ≤ 30 mA; sound pressure level ≥ 85 dB at 10 cm; resonant frequency ~2.3 kHz to 4 kHz.
- Substitution latitude: Any active 5 V DC piezo buzzer.
- Control status: Audible acoustic actuator.
- Sourcing plan: retail shopping search: 5V active piezo buzzer through hole
Identity: 5 V Relay Module (1-Channel with Optocoupler/Transistor Driver)
- Quantity: 1
- Footprint/package: Pre-assembled PCB module with 3-pin input header (VCC, GND, IN) and 3-pole screw terminal block (NO, COM, NC).
- Electrical constraints: Coil voltage 5.0 V DC; input trigger current 5 mA (logic high or low compatible); contact rating ≥ 10 A at 125/250 V AC or 30 V DC.
- Substitution latitude: Any 5 V single-channel relay module or discrete 5 V coil relay driven by a 2N2222/2N3904 transistor and 1N4001 flyback diode.
- Control status: Actuator output.
- Sourcing plan: retail shopping search: 5V 1 channel relay module with optocoupler
Identity: SPST Momentary Pushbutton Switches (Breadboard mount)
- Quantity: 2 (for "Silent Feature" toggle and "Reset Signal" inputs in Lab 9)
- Footprint/package: 6x6 mm tactile momentary switch, 4-pin through-hole.
- Electrical constraints: Contact rating 12 V DC, 50 mA.
- Substitution latitude: Any standard 6mm tactile pushbutton.
- Control status: User-operated push control.
- Sourcing plan: retail shopping search: 6x6mm breadboard tactile pushbutton switch
Software and network dependencies
Microchip MPLAB X IDE
- Purpose: Integrated Development Environment used for code authoring, assembling, simulating, debugging, and programming PIC16F18875 target devices.
- Source: Microchip Technology official download portal (
https://www.microchip.com/mplab/mplab-x-ide). - Version: "Latest version" stated in documentation (specifically instructed on page 49, Lab 1: "Download and install MPLAB IDE (Latest version)"); legacy MPASM toolchain reference indicates versions up to v5.35 natively supported MPASM, whereas v5.40+ transitioned to MPLAB XC8 / pic-as.
- Version origin: stated in documentation.
- Pinned: No. Instructed to install "Latest version".
- Manifest location: None provided in course materials.
- Network exposure: Not stated in the sources. The IDE operates offline once installed, communicating with the target board over local USB CDC/HID interface.
- Check plan: support-status lookup: Microchip MPLAB X IDE
Microchip MPASM / pic-as Assembler Toolchain
- Purpose: Native 8-bit PIC assembler converting
.asmsource files to.HEXbinaries. - Source: Bundled with MPLAB X IDE or standalone Microchip XC8 compiler package.
- Version: Not stated (text explicitly instructs setting the language toolchain to "MPASM" and toolchain to "MPLAB X ASM" in project properties).
- Version origin: stated in documentation.
- Pinned: No.
- Manifest location: None.
- Network exposure: Not stated in the sources (local build toolchain).
- Check plan: not checkable: bundled vendor development toolchain without version constraint.
- Purpose: Native 8-bit PIC assembler converting
Microchip PICkit-On-Board (PKOB) / PICkit Firmware
- Purpose: Programmer and hardware debugger firmware embedded on the DM164136 board.
- Source: Automatically managed and flashed via MPLAB X IDE upon USB enumeration.
- Version: Not stated.
- Version origin: not stated.
- Pinned: No.
- Manifest location: None.
- Network exposure: Not stated in the sources (USB HID/CDC interface only).
- Check plan: not checkable: proprietary embedded programmer firmware.
Fabrication and Hardware Documentation
- Printed Circuit Board (PCB) Fabrication:
- The lab relies on the commercial off-the-shelf development platform Microchip DM164136 and generic solderless breadboards for student circuits.
- No custom Gerber or CAD layout files are provided or required for fabrication; all prototyping is breadboard-based.
External URLs and Remote Assets
The PDF documents embed dependencies on external links for data sheets, development board specifications, and instructional lecture videos:
- Microchip DM164136 Product Portal:
https://www.microchip.com/Developmenttools/ProductDetails/DM164136(referenced p. 49) - Microchip PIC16F18875 Product & Datasheet Portal:
https://www.microchip.com/en-us/product/pic16f18875andhttps://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/DeviceDoc/PIC16(L)F18855_75%20Data%20Sheet_DS40001802E.pdf(referenced p. 49, 83) - Microchip 8-bit Mid-Range Reference Manual:
https://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/DeviceDoc/31029a.pdf(referenced p. 83) - OpenWA Pressbooks Interactive Video Lectures (hosted on OpenWA Pressbooks, referenced as embedded oEmbed iframes throughout the manual):
https://openwa.pressbooks.pub/nehakardam10/?p=5#oembed-1(p. 19)https://openwa.pressbooks.pub/nehakardam10/?p=23#oembed-1(p. 22)https://openwa.pressbooks.pub/nehakardam10/?p=40#oembed-1(p. 27)https://openwa.pressbooks.pub/nehakardam10/?p=58#oembed-1(p. 38)https://openwa.pressbooks.pub/nehakardam10/?p=69#oembed-1(p. 43)https://openwa.pressbooks.pub/nehakardam10/?p=84#oembed-1and#oembed-2(p. 48)https://openwa.pressbooks.pub/nehakardam10/?p=104#oembed-1(p. 55)https://openwa.pressbooks.pub/nehakardam10/?p=132#oembed-1and#oembed-2(p. 64)https://openwa.pressbooks.pub/nehakardam10/?p=134#oembed-1and#oembed-2(p. 69)https://openwa.pressbooks.pub/nehakardam10/?p=140#oembed-1and#oembed-2(p. 78, 79)https://openwa.pressbooks.pub/nehakardam10/?p=147#oembed-1,#oembed-2,#oembed-3(p. 82, 83)https://openwa.pressbooks.pub/nehakardam10/?p=155#oembed-1(p. 88)https://openwa.pressbooks.pub/nehakardam10/?p=158#oembed-1(p. 95)https://openwa.pressbooks.pub/nehakardam10/?p=160#oembed-1(p. 106)https://openwa.pressbooks.pub/nehakardam10/?p=162#oembed-1(p. 113)https://openwa.pressbooks.pub/nehakardam10/?p=164#oembed-1(p. 118)
- YouTube Video Lectures referenced in bibliography:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fCqq9OQmztY(p. 88)https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8kA9t4Wv2Tk(p. 89)https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7bZg_GzUbHI(p. 89)